Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2000
Excellent view of Aikido from both a beginner's and more advanced Aikidoka's point of view with aspects of how to start, showing the equipment and weapons that are used in training, through Dojo etiquette and principles of Ki. Then moves on to warming up exercises the principles behind each technique. Each technique is then described and points out what you should be looking for during your practice, and how varying the technique can change the effort required. Weapons are introduced to show student each basically describing the names and uses and how simple practice techniques can be adopted. Overall I found this book enhanced my own knowledge and allowed me to look further into the techniques that I have been practicing and gave me some hints on how I could enhance my training through some of the suggested training tools and adaptions to my everyday life.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2000
This Book has an anecdotal manner and encourages an interactive approach to learning suggesting loads of experiments that can be attempted.It is unlike the usual "Monkey See, Monkey Do" approach of most such books. Its many digressions are informative and entertaining causing one to view aikido in a new light. They keep this book at my bedside when my other aikido volumes gather dust on a shelves somwhere. Highly reccommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
I have mixed feelings over this book. All in all I am pleased to have it but not excited. The diagrams are reasomable if not upto Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere standard. There are no photos. It covers all the basics like techniques, breakfalls, etiquette, warming-up and the exercise used in the Ki Society. Indeed, while there is a definate bias towards the teachings of Tohei sensei the author never looks down on other teaches styles. This is one of the strengths of this book, the author comes over a really nice guy who is has done a lot of teaching. Some of his ideas of putting things across are very good,some are differant and some are a bit strange. Bet he is good with kids.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
I am not an aikidoka, though I respect the art and its practitioners. If anything was going to convince me to change style and take up a new art (aikido) - this book would be it.
Much of the essence of the book has been drawn from e-mails sent to one of the aikido lists. In it various people give suggestions on what aikido is, what it isn't, how to do basic movements, the use of weapons, etc. etc. etc. all in a spirit of friendship and co-operation. Co-operation between different 'styles' of aikido - indeed even co-operation between different martial arts. The author has organised, refined and reflected upon these e-mails in a way that enhances their 'message'.
You couldn't learn how to do aikido from this book - but you can get a good feel for the active living spirit of the art - as demonstrated by its practitioners.
Even those martial artists who don't practice aikido would gain much from reading it (for instance there are good examples of how to teach); I would have thought that an active student (or teacher) of aikido would be very well advised to read this.
I enjoy it, and re-read it frequently - one of the 'best' martial arts books ever. (I would give it 6 stars, if that was available!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
This is a fatalistic book. I am only a few months into wandering the Aikido path and already so many questions have been answered.

Buy it now, even if there is a hint of Aikido curiosity in your bones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2003
This book covers practicaly every aspect of Aikido, from common
questions, exercises ,ki development,tools and toys for training,
locks and throws,grabs and strikes,weapons,dojo and life etiquette ( how to avoid trouble). plus loads more , excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Exciting information and principles, but it would need more flowing on the writing, like a good aikido technic. Sometimes it looks like a collection of diferent texts on the same topic, just put together on the same chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I've found this pretty hard work as a novice to Aikido. Lots of fun anecdotes​ but maybe more suitable for instructors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
Excellent book with good illustrations and usefull exercises a must for any serious martial artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Excellent book, very easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)