Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2002
5 stars to the writers, less of them to the publisher (you don't get to see graphics that bad these days). I read 'Extreme Programming Explained' almost two years ago, enjoyed it, and changed some of my views on the development process; I adopted some practices, but the XP Planning Game did not fit in our process. I the read 'Agile Software Development Ecosystems', enjoyed it, and learned that XP was not the only alternative to the conventional software development process. Now, Scrum, and its well thought simplicity, has shown me a proven and understandable way to manage software projects, and deepened the changes that the XP book stared on me.
The discussion on the "defined process control model" vs the "empirical process control model", in Chapter 2 and available on line, should be mandatory reading for any one involved with IT. Chapter 5 extends this discussion and is also outstanding.
Chapter 6 provides several models/views to explain Scrum; having several models of the same thing is something that you do very often when doing software design and deepens your understanding of the system; I liked the use of this technique in prose and the very interesting models covered.
Read it. You may not want to become a Scrum practitioner, but the book will probably change the way that you think about software development.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2003
This book explains some very useful methods for delivering customer-focused solutions. Aside from a new set of terminology to get used to, the book cites the usefulness of: fast daily status meetings ("Scrums"), 'locked' 30-day iterations ("Sprints") that deliver working code at the end, small teams of 6-8 multi-skilled people, a prioritised book of work that is re-appraised every 30 days ("Backlog"), regular assessment of the work effort in the backlog rather than using a project plan, collective responsibility for delivery. I have seen people use these methods in successful projects within my company but they didn't know they were using Scrum, they were just doing things that they felt were right, have worked for them in the past and enabled them to focus on driving out a solution that would meet the real needs of the users.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
This book has been disappointing and boring. You can find the most interesting parts also in Ken Schwaber's speech at Google Tech Talks (Scrum Et Al, September 5, 2006). Throughout the book, the authors try to sell Scrum. I wanted to learn how to use this methodology, but they kept focusing just on how cool it is for the company.

Scrum is great (i suppose!) but this book is definitely NOT worth buying.

Note: I didn't consider in the vote the poor quality of the figures. The resolution sometimes is so low that you can't even read what is written on the diagrams.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
I'm disappointed with this book. I hoped to find much more depth about Scrum than can be gleaned from the Web. What it has to say, it says well, and the general point (that Scrum is better) is competently argued and substantiated. The reasons I can only give three stars are: firstly, the quality of graphics is appalling (could be bettered by a six year old with a Mac Plus); secondly, the price: this book would be fine for £[...].
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
I liked that book as I borrowed a copy from my library. Decided to buy one for myself. The quality of the book was very disappointing. While copy from the library was on thick white paper, the one I got from Amazon was on a very transparent and dark one. Reading page 1 I can see page 2 and 3. Have never seen a book like this. Very, very disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
This was one of the first books published on Agile software techniques, and is in some ways showing its age. The quality of the diagrams is poor (although they are still perfectly understandable), and Scrum in its original form has been superseded by a variety of other techniques.

But these other techniques might never have existed had it not been for Scrum, and the software development principles embodied in this book are still core to the whole ethos of Agile processes. For those reasons, this is still a key book that should be read and understood by anyone working in software development today, particularly anyone with people or project management responsibilities.

Schwaber and Beedle's book is quite short and easy to read: both of which are to its benefit. That Scrum is simple enough to be described so succinctly is one of the main reasons why it works as a process, and achieved rapid widespread adoption. This is the book that introduced Scrum to the world, and more than ten years later is probably still the best introduction to the topic.

Note that Scrum focuses on the project management aspects of software development. If you're looking for information on the more technical development activities, other books will serve you better; for example Kent Beck's "Extreme Programming Explained" (which again is a few years old, but still excellent).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
This text is readable and appears well written. It is informative and a helpful introduction to the subject.

BUT the Agile development methodology is a new and fast moving one so I was keen to buy a recently published volume. Amazon list this book as published in 2008, but the book itself has a copyright date of 2002.

It does in fact appear very dated and the production values are very low. The diagrams are very poor quality, appearing to be screen prints from a 1980s PC - frankly unacceptable for a book published in the last decade.

Perhaps the biggest shock was the fact that this book cost £30 when it is less than one centimetre thick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
We decided to look at Scrum after deciding agile was the way forward but failed to implement a decent framework around it. Scrum is a very straightforward and lightweight project management framework and this book gets the principles across succinctly. I was able to pass this book over to our COO (a non-technie) and he read it and has embraced it too - between us we've been practising Scrum since, so far with good success. Following this I highly recommend you read Agile Estimating and Planning by Mike Cohn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
I really enjoyed this book. It book is perfect for people who don't know how SCRUM works, and want to learn more about it. It is very simple, easy to understand, and explains in a clear manner all concepts behind SCRUM. It may not be the right book for advanced SCRUM users, however: people who already know SCRUM should know all the information provided by this book, so they may find it boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
A well thought out reference to a subject that many believe they understand, but few seem to really 'get'. I enjoyed the flow of the book, the well considered examples, and felt that the depths it reached were adequate for those who need to understand quickly the basics of the subject. All in all, worth the money if you need to get to grips with Agile in developing software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)