Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2011
This book covers similar ground to John Curran's earlier Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making, including fascinating extracts from Agatha Christie's notebooks and other sources, biographical information and two previously unpublished stories.

Like the stories in the earlier book, both of the "new" stories in this book were rewritten by Christie and subsequently published. In this book, "The Man Who Knew" is an earlier version of "The Red Signal", dating from very early in Christie's career. "The Case of the Caretaker's Wife" became "The Case of the Caretaker". The version in this book is superior to the rewritten story, having Miss Marple out and about and solving the mystery rather than recovering from flu as in the rewrite.

This is a book for Agatha Christie fans. The unpublished stories are close to previously published ones. The chapters on her notes and life are fascinating, but a casual reader might not find them so. To get the best from this book you need to be familiar with her work, and have read a lot of it, as solutions are revealed to many of her novels - these are clearly stated however so these bits can be skipped. The book is arranged by decade, with interesting sections on unused ideas. These are jottings for books that were never written. The most interesting is the last one, which would have been a new direction for Christie.

Although not an essential book, fans of Agatha Christie and her work will find much to enjoy.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This is a follow-up to the first book detailing Agatha Christie's secret notebooks. The author, Jon Curran, has obviously spent a great deal of time analysing the notebooks. It's an absolute must for Christie fans and gives an intriguing look into the plotting process of Agatha Christie.

If you haven't read all of Agatha Christie's books, I wouldn't recommend reading this as it is absolutely full of spoilers. Having said that, it's a fascinating read for those of us who have read most of Agatha Christie's work and want to know more about how she plotted so many entertaining mysteries.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
I bought this book to read alongside the Agatha Christie books, which I am reading from the beginning, however this book contains ' spoilers ' and I have decided to read this book after I have finished all of AC's books. The parts of the book I have read were informative and interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
Agatha Christie's remaining plotting notebooks have been meticulously deciphered and presented for our delectation accompanied by interesting and stimulating commentary. In addition, John Curran has unearthed some fascinating new material: an extended and superior version of a published Miss Marple short story, more intriguing 'Unused Ideas, etc. The book will afford particular pleasure to readers well-acquainted with Agatha Christie's oeuvre.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
As a writer and a reader, I find both Curran's books fascinating. The peek into Christie's notebooks is intriguing as is the realisation that she probably did most of the plotting in her head, just writing stuff down when she needed to "see" it. The notebooks are in no particular order, she rarely dated anything. That makes it difficult for Curran to put together a flowing, cohesive piece of work, but hat's off to him he does a good job. Great for aspiring writers and for those who love Christie's work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
As an avid Agatha Christie fan,most of my life, I was excited about this book, and bought the two, including Agatha Christie's Notebooks. I was very disappointed, as it is just the same things and not worth buying them both. Very disappointed indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
A good read if you are interested in how Agatha Christie compiled the plots to her books. I found it a little wordy but it is well researched and presented. Dare I say only for her fans and admirers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
This title is really a follow-on from John Curran's 'Secret Notebook' volume, covering more of the information he unearthed from Christie's archive. (At first glance, I thought it WAS the same book that had been reprinted with a different title & cover!) As before, he gives away a lot of plot detail, but I don't see this as a problem, as you really need a good knowledge of Christie's writings to gain anything from reading this book, otherwise, his references to plots, characters etc will be fairly meaningless. This book covers different material to the first one, but is very similar in style & level of detail so if you loved or hated the first book, you will probably have the same opinion of this one! I enjoyed reading both volumes and gained some interesting insights into Christie's work, but I did feel overloaded with information and felt it would have been better condensed into one smaller book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Arrived very fast. I love it. A+++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
allways loved her books she has surpased any other writer in the crime stories writting .no one will match her
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse