Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
108
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 January 2013
Written by Michael Bright with a foreward by David Attenborough this is a beautifully designed and organised book to accompany the superb TV series. The images are astonishingly stunning and cover the world's greatest wilderness with its incredible array of wildlife. The sharpness of the animal life is captured from close-up, almost touchable, photographs, to aerial shots including the astounding scenery. I bought this book to complement the BBC series as I have become so engrossed by the magnificent pictorial content and lulled by the narrator's voice that I felt the need to find out more of the five regions that will be covered (Kalahari, Savannah, Congo, Cape and Sahara). This is where the text by Michael Bright is so forthright and explanatory in elaborating the characteristics of each installment. His descriptions are rich in factual information.

Ideal for reading before or after each of the televised episodes but also a book that can stand alone as a guide to the mysteries of this great continent. Also included are chapters on the future, behind the scenes technical difficulties and how shots were achieved and a discover Africa addition. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the 'Africa' series or, indeed, Africa itself.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
excellent service wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
We all have an image of what we expect from another book about African wildlife - sweeping savannahs, aerial shots of trains of wildebeest running into trouble with lions and crocodiles and tales of cute lion cubs. But while the broad sweep is certainly covered in a nicely-paced narrative, this book also offers an intimate and unexpected perspective that reveals how much of this vast continent we have never taken the trouble to get to know.

The text is supported by some truly beautiful photography throughout, capturing some incredible detail, which makes this weighty tome very hard to put down.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
It had been packed too loosely and the spine was bruised - not ideal for a gift or a keepsake
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
An absolutely brilliant book. A recommended read for Anthropologists interested in the African Region. I got mine from a firned but still felt I had to give this book a review as it really opened my eyes to a lot.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the TV series and the book lives up to expectations. Brilliant photography and well presented as always
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I love the series to date & decided to buy the book for more details. I expected stunning photos & wasn't disappointed in any way. The text is just about right without it becoming "heavy". So, as a book, it is well worth buying, especially at half the RRP. But the real surprise was the ability to use a free downloaded App called QuercusEye. This allows you to hold your iphone, ipod or android device above a selection of photos in the book & hey presto, your device will launch a short video of the animal(s) in the photo.
It's worth buying this as a fabulous, colouful & informative book alone, but add in the inter- activity from the App & you have a delightful product that you'll return to time & again.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 September 2013
Years ago I was quite green when it came to the world outside my own country almost to the point of ignorance. I used to think Africa was just some big hot place with lots of sand, no water, lions, zebras, giraffes and elephants. Over the years my knowledge has expanded and so to has my thirst for knowledge of these far away countries, that I am unlikely to ever visit and it is books such as these that help in that hunger to learn more.

BBC Africa is a wonderful companion book to the TV series of the same name and it can act as a great source of reference to this great continent. My knowledge of Africa has expanded over the years, but there was still a lot that this book had to offer me. You are taken on a tour of the desserts, plains, lush rain forests, snow covered mountains and even the surrounding seas. The book is filled with high quality full page images with side notes. A narrative that is both informative and captivating will have you marveling at how some of the African species survive.

There is a foreword by Sir David Attenborough and each chapter has a small map to show you the region being covered. Additionally there is a chapter that takes you behind the scenes. The final chapter shows you sections of a map of Africa with help on where to go and what to see, should you be fortunate enough to visit.

As I usually advise on these kind of books; don't overlook the market place. Books like these tend to be only read once and some real bargains can be picked up for good quality second hand books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
A tie in to the Africa series that has been on our screen recently.

It has been another magnificent series by the BBC and the accompanying book for the series is a worthy tome. And a weighty tome, perfect for coffee tables.

There is a mix of 50% text and 50% pictures. And as you would expect the pictures are magnificent and breathtaking. The text plays second fiddle to the images, but is still worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Absolutely beautiful book, stunning photography, a really good read and one to be looked at again and again.
Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)