Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
202
4.7 out of 5 stars
An Affair to Remember [DVD] [1957]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2014
Excellent video quality. Deborah Kerr is a wonderful actress and in my humble opinion one of the most beautiful ever. And I guess Cary Grant isn't too bad.

But I must say that i like the old one with Irene Dunne and Charles Boyer better, even though it's in black and white and only available in very poor video quality. Dunne sings a lot better than Kerr for one thing and acts very well too, and Boyer is SO much better than Grant, especially in the last scene. And I absolutely love the old woman.

Not the most interesting or believable story which is the main reason they're not great films, but some good humour, some comicly embarrassing scenes and also some very touching moments.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Teasing romance, for the viewer and the couple. Deborah Kerr is at her best, Cary Grant quite slick by comparison. But it's a portrayal of love at its best, transforming a playboy into a hardworking artist and a B list singer into a teacher of deprived children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Best. Film. Ever. If you fancy a little "head holiday" away from ordinary life. Fantastic rainy afternoon (or Valentine's Day evening) viewing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
A happy, romantic feel good film, it has a good story line and Gary Grant was always lovable, Richard Denning who played the Governor in original Hawaii five 0 was just so handsome. Deborah Kerr was always a favourite and one of the best actresses of the era. I'm glad I found this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Timeless story. Enjoyed the scenes on the ship. Bitter/Sweet story. Beautiful scenery when offshore. Very well acted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
I was watching the film (Sleepless in Seattle) I was reminded of the old film with Cary Grant, this is the epitomy of a love story.
A girls night in with snacks wine and plenty of tissues, its a wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2017
Not as good as other films with these actors, must admit to being a bit disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Prompt delivery. One of my favourite films for a rainy day on the sofa with a cup of tea. Bliss 😁
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Was bought as a gift for someone i loved and they seem to enjoy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
cant beat the old ones fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)