Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
Adoption Conversations
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 20 August 2012
I ordered this after reading its successor "More adoption conversations", aimed at helping an adopter talk to an older child/teenager which I was really impressed with . This book dealing with children upto say 8 or 9 is just as I hoped- practical , intuitive but evidence based- cannot recommend highly enough.Worth buying and keeping as I know I will come back to the techniques and strategies at different times .
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
Lots of good advice, is focused a bit more on overseas adoption rather than within UK adoption, but still a good place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Excellent book. Wish I had read it sooner as my son is now nearly seven. Very practical and useful in helping to understand what may be going on in his head. A recommend read for anyone with adopted children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is a well written book. The author is clear and offers up solid advice and shares a great insight.
Found book to be really helpful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2016
Aimed at adopted parents with lots of practical advice, but very much based on theory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2015
Wonderful, informative and full of good advice, very happy, thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2016
LOVELY TO READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
Awesome
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2017
One of the most helpful books I've ever read on this subject - More Adoption Conversations, for older children, is just as helpful. I can't recommend this enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2011
I am an adoption pratitioner, and have ploughed through many books that are well intentioned but impossible to recommend to parents. This book is brilliant and a breath of fresh air - I always recommend it to parents, and probably ought to be on commission. It takes a developmental approach to thinking about the types of conversations that might arise at different ages, and helps carers to think about appropriate ways to deal with very tricky issues according to the age and understanding of the child. Different narratives for different ages. An obvious point perhaps but one that is hard to manage in practice. It is a very sensible book that keeps its sound scientific basis to itself, for the sake of clarity, rather than flaunting half-baked pseudo-scientific ideas like so many others do, and so focuses on practical advice rather than ideology. Ideology may sound like an odd word to use in this context, but as you read the mountains of daft and contradictory books for adoptive parents you soon get a nose for unhelpful and often very unscientific pseudoscientific ideology. It's a great book, sensitively written and I am really looking forward to getting hold of its follow up for teenagers.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)