Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 December 2010
I bought this book after reading and using the previous CS3 and CS4 versions expecting it to be just an updated or padded out copy as it was from the CS3 to CS4 books. To some degree this is true as the book covers subjects as if you haven't read Martin's workshop books before. This is where the similarity ends. There is so much new material in the book to use alongside the accompanying CS5 for Photographers book and all the new features in CS5 itself that I can honestly say it's well worth the money and a compelling read.

Martin's books are written in an easy to understand style and are very 'to the point' with little or no frivolity ensuring you get the most from the immense amount of information contained within.

If you haven't read Martin Evenings books before, don't be tempted to buy this on its own as it was designed to be read after and in conjunction with "Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC"
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
The Ultimate Workshop is the book we have all needed for such a long time. It is concise and detailed and covers almost every aspect of photographic retouching problems one might encounter. The chapter on RAW file processing beats anything I have ever read on the subject and explains it in easily comprensible language that everyone will benefit by. The rest of the book is just packed with useful and easy to follow tuition on other aspects of bringing professional standards to your shots.

I teach digital aspects of both graphic design and fashion promotion and this will be only one of two technical photographic books I will emphasise on the recommended reading list for my students. The other is Photoshop for Photographers (Martin Evening) - unsurprisingly!

Both of these books are excellent value but this latest one is a gem and no serious photographic or design professional should be without it!
Congratulations to Martin Evening and Jeff Schewe for such magnificent work, guys!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
There's no shortage of Photoshop books aimed at either total beginners or basic-intermediate. This is one of the very rare works that aims squarely at the least catered for users who have a solid and well practiced knowledge of Photoshop and digital imaging, but want a thorough examination of substantially upgraded features (such as camera raw, content aware fill), or who wish to supplement their toolkit with additional cutting edge techniques. The explanations of the methods and techniques demonstrated are clearly and concisely written and well illustrated, with plenty of useful information on what underlies new controls and when they are best applied. Most importantly for me, the book contains perhaps the most useful guide to the latest iteration of Camera RAW I have come across, and presents a compelling argument as to why it should be at the heart of most users workflows.

It is not a book for beginners or very casual users, who will simply not have the background knowledge needed in either photoshop or digital imaging to get the best out of it and will almost certainly find it too much like hard work, as some of the other reviews indicate. Those for whom Photoshop forms a significant part of working life will find this an essential companion, with plenty here to raise standards, add polish to images and even suggest occasions when it is better to step back, put down the Wacom and pursue effects in-camera. That many of those who contributed to the book are intimately involved with Photoshop's development speaks volumes about how closely the book reflects the programs underpinnings.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This is an excellent book for those who want to move on from the basics. I wouldn't recommend it as an introduction to photoshop. As it looks at more complex matters. Well worth having in your library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Purchase d as a present and found it to be better than expected a must to have for digital photography. Very please d. And quick delivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
It is quite clear that the author knows his stuff but this is not passed on especially well in this book. If you are any less than an accomplished PS user then I would go for the author's more comprehensive offering to be found in "Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC " which is an excellent offering.

I am not a raw beginner in PS and have attended a number of courses but I found this challenging - the videos are really disappointing- the author whizzes through these with bare descriptions as to what he is doing or why.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
On the whole I felt this book was very good. I liked the way it was written which was easy to follow and clear. However some of the more complex, and therefore more interesting tutorials, were not accompanied by any supporting material with which to follow and learn. I emailed Martin Evening to ask why. He said it was to do with copyright issues. I'm none the wiser. If you are looking to further your Photoshop skills, look no further than this volume.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
I got a copy out of the library and found it so useful I bought a copy. Lots of good ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
As usual from this author, an excellent and well written book about the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
I bought this book to get myself a bit more up to speed with CS5, I have been using photoshop for around twenty years but have not upgraded in the past three years. I consider myself to be a fairly competent PS user. I find this book difficult to use. The descriptions of certain actions are not always complete (necessitating google searches). The example screen grabs are just that, screen grabs, which can be difficult to work out what is being described (selections, marquees etc.), it would be nice to have areas highlighted properly.. The quality of the pages is also poor. A bit disappointing really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)