Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
14
3.4 out of 5 stars
Across the River [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 August 2015
Shot in widescreen, Across The River has an aspect ratio of approximately 2.40 so you will have black bars at the top and bottom of your widescreen TV. You'll probably know that this has Italian dialogue with English subtitles, but as there is one main character, there isn't a lot of dialogue so don't let this put you off. The sound is 5.1 which is good as you get some immersion in the film with sounds of the woods, running streams and dripping water. I like to get movies in Blu-ray but this one only seems to come in DVD. But I'm not sure that it's a big deal as although the film starts with quite bright colours very quickly Marco reaches the village and from this time most of the film is shot in very dark environments and heavily in tones of brown and grey. Interestingly, the box shows Region 2 locked but I was able to play the film in a Region 4 player. In regard to the film, it relies on generating tension and fear through atmosphere so don't expect lots of blood and graphic violence. But nicely done and worth a look. PS. There is an interesting 26 minute 'making of' documentary and a confronting short film also included on the disk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
This is a reasonably effective Italian chiller, it's not exactly full of thrills and spills but has an unsettling mood and atmosphere which works well enough.

The plot finds Marco, a wildlife census operator, completing some research in wooded lands near the Italian/Slovenian border. Good things never happen to lone protagonists when they go for a wander in the woods and this is no different - he quickly becomes stranded by some particularly bad weather and holes up in an abandoned village. It takes no time at all before things start to go bump in the night.

To be fair, it's more of a slow burn mood piece than loud shock treatment, at least until the latter stages anyway when things get a little nasty. For those reasons it may not be to everybody's taste but as I said at the top, I thought it was decent enough and creepy enough to be worth a watch (without being the best or most memorable of horror flicks).

If you're averse to subtitles it won't be a great problem with this one as the dialogue is minimal. That's probably for the best anyway as the subtitles that are used are sometimes difficult to read and seem to struggle with spelling at times.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
This is a slow-paced movie. If you want to be plunged into dramatic happenings, don't watch it. If you'd like to be intrigued, then watch this. There is one moment that made me literally jump. But I won't spoil the movie. Well worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Yes, this movie is not filled with musical ghosts skittering shadowlike across the door in the background, but ,it has a slow ,credible build-up of tension.One or two scenes might have been in need of editing, but it held my attention and was better than a lot
of cliche-ridden ,big budget features.Not everything was explained, but sometimes it's good to use your imagination.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
I really enjoyed this film. There's hardly any dialogue, so it's a very quiet, rather slow film, but the tension ratchets up very nicely as the story moves along.
If you want blood, guts 'n' gore, there is very little on show here, rather we are watching a man searching for something, which seems to be watching and waiting. No spoon feeding here, you have to work this out on your own.
Beautifully shot, and a real joy to behold.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
A good and uncommon italian horror. Shot in a very digital and low-cost way, but with a certain idea of cinema and a good and firm direction. A film made of sensations, sound, few effects but mostly editing and direction. A good atmosphere. The director comes from North-east Italy and always sets his films there: an unusual yet very clever area for horror and thriller stories. None thought about it before him. That said, I still think his films lack of something. Maybe they just don't have endings that are up to what comes before
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 July 2015
Low budget Italian horror film and quite possibly one of the most competently sustained horror films I've ever seen. Minimal dialogue, essentially only one character, it concerns a wildlife researcher who is out in the woods cataloguing the local animals. After strapping a night vision camera to a fox, he is led to an abandoned village in the forest and subsequently gets trapped due to rising waters. Forced to set up camp, he is beset night after night with increasingly disturbing noises and half-seen - mostly through his various camera set-ups in some of the best use of 'found footage' I've ever seen - shadows. He finds mutilated animals and the remnants of the absent villagers' lives, in some truly bleak surroundings. It is a film with perfect camera shots, an almost constant sense of dread and a reliance on your expectations that never quite plays out how you predict. Like most of the best horror films - Lovely Molly, Lake Mungo, The Babadook - it plays on the watcher's imagination as opposed to what is actually on screen. Although it nearly unravels towards the end, I found it to be extremely terrifying and almost hallucinogenic in places. Highly recommended if you like slow burn, atmospheric films that don't spoon feed you the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
It's the kind of movie that, you can just let it play in the background and literally go to the bathroom, kitchen or something and come back without rushing because nothing much happened, if any. No really.

For instance, the camera looks at an animal in the forest at night time for quite a while. You expect something to do with the animal happen but even if anything to do with the animal ever happens, you have already lost interest in watching films. Or the guy gets inside a house and taaakes his time to look around, you expect to jump up at one point but it turns out the film makers forgot to add the scares.

1 star for the point that the film was trying to make even though I obviously missed it because I was only prepared to be entertained and for the setting which was in the woods with some nice scenery.

P.S. As there is literally few dialogues, you can safely finish watching on fast forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
VERY creepy Italian horror about a wildlife photographer in the back end of beyond and something that might be lurking just out of sight in his motionless shots of the woods in the middle of the night. Loved this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
It's true. This movie is slow. It's also very very creepy and sometimes downright scary. For greatest impact, I watched a) late at night, b) alone, c) with all the lights out.

You'll turn them again on pretty quickly, I can tell you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)