Acoustic has been added to your Basket
+ £1.76 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 5 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


4.0 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

Price: £9.31 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 1 Nov 2004
£6.99 £3.17
Only 2 left in stock.
Sold by westworld- and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Amazon's John Lennon Store

Frequently bought together

  • Acoustic
  • +
  • Walls And Bridges
  • +
  • Rock 'N' Roll
Total price: £33.84
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI
  • ASIN: B000641ZJ0
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 63,493 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Working Class Hero
  2. Love
  3. Well Well Well
  4. Look at Me
  5. God
  6. My Mummy's Dead
  7. Cold Turkey
  8. Luck of the Irish (Live)
  9. John Sinclair (Live)
  10. Woman Is the Nigger of the World
  11. What You Got
  12. Watching the Wheels
  13. Dear Yoko
  14. Real Love
  15. Imagine (Live)
  16. It's Real

Product description

Product Description

Acoustic brings together rarities and classic Lennon songs on one CD. Includes "Love", "Working Class Hero", "Cold Turkey" and "Imagine", all performed acoustically.

We may never seen an end to the deluge of Beatles-related products hauled from the vaults, but given that one of the recurring features of John Lennon's solo career was to strip it down, the compiling of Acoustic--a series of unplugged demos, live tracks, and home recordings compiled by Yoko Ono – actually makes a weird kind of sense. A seething home take on "Working Class Hero" threatens to eclipse the original, its bitter sentiments somehow magnified by the intensity and intimacy of the recording, while a run-through of "Cold Turkey", played on tight, brittle strings, sounds authentically tortured, Lennon's voice hitting a pained, almost animalistic quaver. There's more interesting stuff in the shape of two live tracks, "The Luck of the Irish" and "John Sinclair", recorded at a rally in Ann Arbor in 1971 staged in support of Sinclair – the notorious White Panther and MC5 manager jailed for possession of marijuana. Three newly discovered demos of Plastic Ono Band numbers, "Well Well Well", "God", and "My Mummy's Dead" should keep the Lennon completists happy, and unusually, the booklet contains not just lyrics, but chords as well – perfect for the aspiring learner. --Louis Pattison

24 customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

20 February 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
19 October 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
25 July 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
12 July 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
17 November 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
26 September 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 March 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
28 February 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?