Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

The Accursed

3.8 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Audio Cassette
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books; Unabridged edition (1 Aug. 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1445032139
  • ISBN-13: 978-1445032139
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Product Description

Book Description

From the author of the bestselling Assassin's Creed tie-in novels comes a stunning supernatural Roman thriller, the first in a spectacular new series, which will appeal to historical and supernatural fiction fans alike. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

In a city held together by fear, one man fights for the truth . . .

Rome, 64 AD:Ruled by the crazy emperor Nero and devastated by raging fires, Rome is a city struggling to rise from the ashes. But now a new threat - darker even than the emperor's crumbling sanity, begins to plague the Roman people. And Quintus Julius Marcellus is the only man who can stop it.

Someone - or something - is killing Rome's elite citizens in a terrifyingly brutal and violent way. It's the hardest case Julius has ever faced - and if he doesn't solve it to the emperor's liking, it could be his last.

The odds are stacked against success as Julius is drawn into a whirl of political intrigue; battling jealous rivals, Nero's paranoia and - as if that weren't enough - struggling against the unbeatable force of falling in love . . .

Antony Cutler is the pseudonym of acclaimed novelist and historian Anton Gill. The Accursed, the first in his gripping new series, is a must-read.

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A horror mystery set in Classical Rome. I admit that I skated over some of the horror scenes, because I'm squeamish; but the placing of very real people in Ancient Rome was appealing, and kept me reading.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Bought ( as a remaindered book ) since I read some early Anton Gill novels set in Ancient Egypt.

Writing very good, atmosphere of Ancient Rome created well, but what was put across as a Roman mystery/crime novel ( " for fans of Lindsay Davies and R S Downie" according to the publisher ) transformed into a torrid-sex/horror/vampyre novel about halfway through, and managed to turn me off completely.

If you like such ' horror' novels , you'll probably enjoy this, but if not if you enjoy the more traditional detective story in the style of Lindsay Davies and her Falco character, then this is most likely not to your tastes.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This horror-thriller from Antony Cutler is quite a read. Taking as his starting-point the decadence and corruption of Nero's Rome, he weaves a story featuring the persecution of the Christians by Nero's henchmen and the fate of ordinary Roman citizens at the hands - or claws - of a bevy of creatures which make vampires look like the Smurfs. Graphically violent, and featuring scenes of very explicit sex, this is not a book for the faint-hearted; but it is a stunning bit of story-telling and an absolutely guaranteed page-turner. But don't take my word for it, see for yourself!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is a wonderful story of ancient Rome, part detective thriller, part horror story, and overall highly original. The pace and the overall sense of terrible tension and darkness make this a real page-turner, but it's counterbalanced by the most unusual and original love story. Be warned, however: the descriptions of sex and violence are extremely graphic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback