Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£14.43


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2011
This is a broad-ranging manual which goes from the basic elements right through to advanced stuff such as writing code and sharing data on servers. It is a fairly thick volume (at 800+pages), and tightly packed with detail. It is a rather plain book, illustrations are all black-and-white and there is nothing fancy, but it is very well organised, and focused on really useful information. For example, one of the revised features of Access 2010 is the macro builder, and there is some very helpful stuff here about using the new-style macros. You don't get a CD with this book because all of the working files used in the book (- and there are some good practical database examples) are downloadable free from the Missing Manuals website.
An absolute beginner might prefer one of the colourful step-by-step guides, or someone who likes jokes could try the "For Dummies" series, but personally I really liked this book and thought it easily the best serious manual on Access 2010 available, by a significant margin (- and that includes the publications from Microsoft Press).
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
A no-nonsense exposition of how the product works and how to approach its use.
Experts might find it a little low-level but then they would not be the primary target for this volume.
Excellently put together. Perhaps if I become an expert myself I might have reservations about some of the material - but that's a long way off yet.
the text is not condescending (as so many introductions can be), the book itself is well constructed and the presentation ideal.
Lack of colour should not be an issue for anyone prepared to put in the effort which this book encourages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Very good book. It is an excellent guide for beginners but also offers some good advice for frequent Access users. It is a very good go to for any questions you may have about Access. I keep a copy with me at work!!! The book covers the basics and moves into the more advanced areas of relationships, forms and macros.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
Really great way in to Access 2010, best if you understand basic database theory. Gives you a way in to using all the main features in a short time. Not deep or a reference manual but I could always find help quickly for the things I wanted to do. I found it pitched at just the right level for easy reading with good ideas and practice illustrated. I have moved from Access 2003 which was really hard work, 2010(2007) is a great step forward and this book gets you going quickly.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Great manual bridging the dry Access theory and everyday headaches void - especially when do you try to leverage the more advanced features (multi-user gotchas, back-end splitting issues, sql server migration and a non-fluff sharepoint intro)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
The book is poorly made and some papers have already fallen out.. The content is great though!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
As stated in some of the other reviews, this book is great if you are a newbee like me. I would imagine it would be a waste of time reading it if you're allready a database guru and just want to know the changes from older versions of Access and the 2010 version.
On the other hand if you are new to Access, this book teaches all you need to know: Not only how the interface works but also how to create and maintain a database regardless of the software.
Access is very complex software but with this book and a little knowledge about using Windows, you will be off to a good start. Lots of good illustrated examples too.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
I'm not a programmer or IT person - but have got some experience with databases. I foolishly thought that I'd be able to work out Access 2010 just by playing with it, but kept hitting all those infuriating built-in idiocies that it has (like having to delete relationships before you can create a look-up that requires the relationship you have to delete!) Finally decided that I needed a decent guide. Luckily I found this book.

I've used many manuals for different topics of varying degrees of usefulness over the years, but this is amongst the very best. It avoids space-wasting and patronising talk, yet is gently humorous. It is very very well structured, has brilliant little worked examples and takes an intelligent route through the jungle of things you need to know. It also gives sensible warnings about likely problems and pitfalls. So far it has managed to answer every question I have thrown at it. It goes from absolute basics all the way through macros up to SQL and VB. So far, the first half of the book has been more than enough to justify its purchase. It also allows access to an online version for 45 days (not terribly useful; would rather get a free pdf as similar titles offer). Amazingly, I haven't yet come across a single misprint or typo (the kind that has you flustered for days trying to work out what is wrong.)

All in all, a thoroughly good book that does exactly what it says on the cover. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
I decided I wanted to learn how to use Access effectively, so that I could come up with new ideas and tools at work, and to better my CV.

This book is great. It is suitable for someone who has not used Access before but quickly moves on to the practical, useful tools.

If Access is all you're interested in then this book is for you, but I also believe this is a good introduction to databases too. Using Access it explains basic database theory, and I have just ordered an SQL book to carry on learning, beyond the limitations of Access.

Definitely recommend!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
Very good manual. I have used the older Access to amend databases, but never started one from scratch. This is very helpful.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here