Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
563
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
My first David Baldacci book and I am impressed with both the story and the building excitement which, for the last few chapters, had me unable to put it down. The president, aided by his chief of staff and secret service protection detail, tries to cover up a murder committed on his behalf and in his presence. The murder has been witnessed by a career criminal and as the cover up results in more deaths the last two men with an idea of what happened are under threat as they try to uncover the real story. There are a few niggles in that I felt the story was slowed down by explanation of thought processes and feelings, there was one inconsistency in regard to the timeframe regarding an untraceable satellite phone call and the appearance of the Secret Service operatives, and some of the meeting places chosen seemed to be pretty lacking in foresight,
but all in all a good thriller. I bought this Whispersync enabled and found the narrator rather monotone in the beginning, rather like a poet doing a reading, however as the story became more engrossing this was less of a distraction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
I enjoyed this, despite quite a few spelling errors (dozen or more I would think).

Yes, I has its flaws - but with the various factions trying to either find out the truth - or prevent it from getting out - it was a complex plot.

Main complaint is the last couple of pages. Although all the loose ends have been tied up I don't understand what those pages are meant to achieve (you'll understand if you read it). You could "rip them out" and the book still stands.

But I got it for £1.19 (at the time) and I was engrossed by it, so it was decent entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This is the first David Baldacci book and is riveting from page one. It has the reader reeling, horrified,sad and hopeful. Whilst Luther's demise takes you from thinking he had justice coming,then really feeling sorry for him . The plot moves from one death to another , all dictated by the President himself. You just hope that he gets his just deserts at the end. Jack is a truly honest person who gets embroiled in everything and you hold your breath on numerous occasions wanting everything to turn out fine for him. Excellent read all round, as are all Baldacci's books. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Professional burglar Luther Whitney is in the middle of robbing a mansion when, trapped behind a one-way glass mirror, he witnesses the murder of a woman involving the current President of the United States. This leads onto a fast paced political thriller such as you've never read before.

A clever plot with believable characters that will keep you hooked from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Really impressed that this is Baldacci' first novel, a lot of twists and turns to keep you on your toes.

Great characters and a very clever plot that keeps you hooked throughout.

Seth Frank deserves a spin off series.

An excellent book, thoroughly enjoyed... Time to watch the film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
I bought this book after catching part of the film of the same name, and being fascinated by what little I saw. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and now definitely want to watch the complete film!! It is taut, with lots of twists, and fast-paced, with a very satisfying conclusion!! Suited for anyone who enjoys a good "who-dun-it"!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
This book has the reader enthralled right to the end. A political thriller showing how the rich and powerful can manipulate others who also desperately seek power and can also turn and destroy even close friends as well as enemies. The pursuit of power corrupts the good as well as the evil.
My only criticism is that it's a little repetitive and overlong at times but this didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Wow what an amazing story, had me hooked on the first few pages. Baldacci's definitely managed to throw a few other authors I love off that top spot. Can't wait to get my eyes into some more of his writings..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
As with all his novels, gripping and definitely hard-to-put down once started. Another triumph for David Baldacci.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Really good author , and positions this in DC that I know quite well so its even more realistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.74
£4.74

Need customer service? Click here