Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £19.94

Save £1.05 (5%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Aaron Jay Kernis (American Composers) by [Miller, Leta E.]
Kindle App Ad

Aaron Jay Kernis (American Composers) Kindle Edition

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deals: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deals or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deals Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Product Description


"It is all too rare to have such a comprehensive account of a living composer, one, in fact, of a composer who is still at the height of his creative powers. So Leta Miller's fascinating new book about Aaron Jay Kernis is extremely welcome, not only because it shines light on many of his important compositions, but because it is also a really good read! In revealing that the life of a present day composer can be every bit as compelling as the biographies of the so-called old masters, hopefully it will encourage authors and publishers to further mine the life stories of other leading music creators of our time."
--Frank J. Oteri, composer and founding editor of NewMusicBox

"In Leta Miller's wonderfully intimate and detailed portrait of Aaron Kernis, she chronicles his personal and professional progression to become one of the world's leading voices in new music. Her book inspires me to revisit the works I know with new insight, to listen to the works I have missed and to anticipate many years of amazing new creations."
--David Shifrin

"Aaron Jay Kernis is one of the most important and original voices in contemporary music. Writing about a living composer and explaining contemporary music present enormous challenges. Leta Miller meets them with uncanny skill. Illuminating Kernis' life and getting to the core of his music, she finds fascinating and important links between them."
--Hugh Wolff, Director of Orchestras and Chair of Orchestral Conducting, New England Conservatory
"Enjoyable and readable. The sections on the Pulitzer and Grawemeyer; his studies with Wuorinen; the accounts of rehearsals of his music by Jacob Druckman, Zubin Mehta, and Kurt Masur; the music itself; the variety of styles that he drew from; brief connections to minimalism, rap, jazz, and popular music--all were interesting to read. I found her discussion of turning points within his career, and consistencies within his style (including eclecticism itself), to be strongly supported by the presentation and analyses of his music. Not only does she point out Judaic, popular, and personal references in the music, she provides a wider context of understanding about their meaning in his output as a whole."
--Sharon Mirchandani, author of Marga Richter

About the Author

Leta E. Miller is a professor of music at the University of California, Santa Cruz. She is the author of Music and Politics in San Francisco: From the 1906 Quake to the Second World War.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 5460 KB
  • Print Length: 199 pages
  • Publisher: University of Illinois Press; 1st Edition edition (15 Sept. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
click to open popover