Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I first read A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle many, many years ago and it's as good now (several readings, several years apart) as it was then. A gentle, descriptive, amusing, witty read. A fabulous book for the armchair traveller. A beautiful guide to the area too. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Funny, affectionate and well-written, this is a book that I enjoyed more than 20 years ago. I enjoyed reading it again, the more so because I have now bought a house in the same valley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
I have read all 3 of the Provence books numerous times, and they always delight me. Lots of brilliant characters and loads of laugh out loud bits. All are a treat to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Read years ago and enjoyed it so much have decided to read it again! Lightweight and entertaining, ideal for reading on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Having spent a holiday in Provence the book was a good excuse to enjoy this lovey area of France a little longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
As I have watched the film "the good year" I took notice of the books. As every page you turn you are with the family enjoying their experiences. A good read to destress yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2016
Very good hard back book including very nice drawings just like the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Very entertaining book especially if you like long descriptions on French cuisine. These people were obviously loaded!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
A really good read, and having just visited the area with Riviera Travel made it more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse