Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 July 2015
I have been waiting for a DVD / Bluray release of this that is better than the 1990s Guild Home Video Laserdisc that I have had for many years. The first UK DVD I bought has a bad transfer, kind of yellow tinted, as others have mentioned.
This 101 Films Bluray has a good transfer, and is the best I've seen of this film...however it is cut compared to other version I own, and the cuts don't make any sense.
This isn't extensive, but the ones I noticed were:
1. Lyons brothers fire scene at the start was shorter
2. The scene where Cynthia loses it and tells Lyon that their relationship is now purely business and that he should deal with Russell, is effectively gone
3. The part where the 2 guys betting on Lyon against Atillia is cut, they no longer call him a "meek fellow"

I don't know why these were cut. They weren't controversial and aided the plot.

But regardless, if you don't know / love the film as much as I do, then you won't know they're missing and like I say it's a good transfer, a better buy than one of the earlier DVDs and I hope 101 films keep up releasing "cult" films like this at a decent price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Lionheart, aka, A.W.O.L, Italian import Blu-ray, Quadrifoglio release.
Van Damme takes up no holds barred fighting to make much needed
cash for a sister in-law & niece. A film from back when Van Damme
made good/exciting movies, it's in a different league from the stuff he
stars in now. Excellent picture quality, anamorphic 1.77:1,
the quality dips slightly because this is the uncut version. It uses
segments of DVD quality picture to fill in the gaps, forced Italian
subtitles pop-up when these are on screen. The subtitles are tiny and
it doesn't spoil the film, it's nice to finally see a more complete version of A.W.O.L.
Plays in English, removable subtitles (except on DVD parts)
Extras: Making of, trailer, image gallery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2015
This is certainly one of Van Damme's best early movies, a must have for action fans and cult fight movies of the 90's, also better known as Lionheart in America and A.W.O.L.: Absent Without Leave in the UK, Van Damme plays Lyon Gaultier, a deserter from the Foreign Legion arriving in the USA to find his brother has died and his sister-in-law without the money to maintain her and her child. To earn the money needed Gaultier decides to take part in some very dangerous street fights, There is plentiful action throughout this movie with lots of great fight scenes and Van Damme high kicking plenty of butt, its fast is violent its great entertainment, the rest of the cast is good too, look out for a cameo from karate champion Billy Blanks at the beginning, a must for all Van Fans!!

Blu-ray picture is pretty decent (101 films) a tad grainy in places but still looks better than DVD,
No special features which is a shame (not even a trailer at least?)
Region B, 105-mins, 1990.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
delivery was prompt, early and fast!!! thank you

My favourite classic jean-claude vandamne flick. great movie, story, believable characters.

leon and josh, great acting, especially during emtional sences.
nicole stole the show
the lady was great as well
atilla bad ass

ok lets get to the film quality

80% 9/10 quality especially close ups. 20% 5/10 was grainy.
This is the R US CUT. 105 mins,the international cut is longer but only available on german site, amazon only.
sound :dts-ma-stereo only.
difference in cuts available on dvdcompare website. [...]
I have ordered leon complete collection from german amazon and will give u a review soon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2015
Excellent Bluray. The quality is excellent for a 25 year old film. Full 1080p, MPEG-4 AVC Codec (Averaging between 20-30Mbps), natural looking picture, sustaining the grain, vibrant colours, good blacks. 101Films have included a lossless linear PCM 2 ch-soundtrack. One of my favourite JCVD films, the street fighting is awesome. This contains the Normal Theatrical cut (US-R rated) of the movie, not the international cut which is why i give 4 stars. Shame they couldnt either included the deleted/cut scenes or offered you a branching version to choose as extra's. I highly recommend this, you will not see a better version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2015
The movie itself, great, one of Van Damme's best (can't place one, JCVD is JCVD).

The blu ray is clean, clearer than DVD but you still get the grain in the picture, like other blu rays which are older, they're mastered onto blu but...carry the grain a bit. If you're not a nicky picky one about slightly grainy blu rays and enjoy the film that's fine you'll enjoy the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
All time fave van damme film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
Classic van Damme, excellent script, good acting, tearful at the end around definitely a must own
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2018
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2016
Classic van Damme spoiled only by the transfer to bluray. Personally I can't see any difference between this and the original DVD in terms of quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Kickboxer [1989] [DVD]
£5.33
Universal Soldier [DVD]
£4.80
BLOODSPORT (import)
£8.49

Need customer service? Click here