Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
40
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 23 October 2009
I don't think it will be possible to explain to anyone who does not own this book just how amazing and inspirational it is. But I will give it a go...

I went to an exhibition of the work of Nick Brandt (the author) in London last week, and was captivated from the minute I walked in. The prints were stunning, and when I saw that he had books on sale in the gallery with all of the exhibition prints in, I knew there was no way I was leaving without one!

Giraffes, Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Buffalo & Nick's apparent favourite Elephants are but a few of the animals featured in this stunning book.
The first photograph is of two giraffes, locked in an intimate position. The next page is an amazing double page spread of a huge herd of zebra's (literally hundreds!) crossing a river. This image has clearly been taken with a wide angle lens, and this not only catches the atmosphere, but gives the image a real sense of place.
There are two images after this that show a rhino with its crystal clear reflection in a pool of water. The close up is amazing, with every inch of detail sharp and in focus. The image opposite is equally as impressive, with two rhino's locking horns with dawn breaking over the african landscape.
The images go on in this book in this awe inspiring style, all in sepia form, and I am still not sure whether to turn the page on each image to see the next, or to keep looking at the current one!

If I had to pick a favourite image, I would have to say the incredibly close up shot of a male and female lion 'greeting' each other. The image looks so intimate, and the image truly does take your breath away.

The print quality in this book is exceptional. Every inch of detail is shown perfectly, and i honestly believe the most picky critic could not find a single fault with this book. The binding is also very good quality, and the paper it is printed on is very thick and easy to turn.

CONCLUSION:
I could never do this book justice, whatever I said. You will never understand how amazing this man's work is until you see it for yourself. If you do anything today, buy a copy of this book!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2016
Just buy it. The images are wonderful and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2009
Nick Brandt has produced another superb collection of photographs. Each image is beautifully captured, printed and presented in this coffee table sized edition. I'd recommend it to photographers, wildlife enthusiasts, those with a general interest in the future of Africa and some of the world's most magnificent animals.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2009
I had the privilege to see a selection of Nick Brandts original prints that feature in this book whilst in Paris very recently (as part of the annual Paris Photo exhibitions programme). They are truly inspiring, breathtaking images that for me stand out from the already high quality images that we generally associate within the genre of wild life photography. I have purchased a copy of this book and can highly recommend it to anyone who either appreciates creative photographic images or who simply shares a passion for wildlife - either or both, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2010
Long ago i discovered this man's talent in the BBC wildlife magazine and since then he has been my most favourite and inspirational wildlife photographer and as a wildlife photographer student his books are there to keep me focused on my dream when it gets tough.
I have his first book which is simply stunning and so i craved the next one... This book is fantastic, not only in its publication but its size, you can truly see Nick's photos in all its glory with the double-spread large prints inside.
If you love this artist, get this book and if you dont know him, youll fall in love with him in a matter of seconds.
So when you get the book, make your self a cup of tea, sit in a cosy lit room with a blanket and turn the pages of beauty he has created, and you may hear the elephants grumble or a lion's roar...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2012
This was a gift for a friend but when it came i was shocked the packaging made it seem a lot bigger then it was still the book is HUGE bigger then what i am used to! But what a fantastic book it is, i flicked through and wished that i could keep it i just wanted it so badly. its been a while since i have seen such beautiful photography, these prints are so fine and the pages such a heavy weight that i would recommend this to, well all that love animals and nature and photographers. Seriously i cannot rant and rave about this enough it is just fantastic!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2009
Easily the best photo book I have bought. I get excited each time I look at it and every photo is a stunner. This really is the kind of photography I would love to be able to take.
the book quality is also excellent and makes a very nice coffee table book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2010
The images in this large format book are sublime. The quality of the prints are excellent and the size of them gives you the opportunity to appreciate what a maestro Nick Brandt undoubtedly is. There is a majestic aura to the way the animals are portrayed, and they definitely are portraits. Nick Brandt captures a real dignity about these creatures.
This is a book that you spend time with. Each image warrants close inspection and then just sitting back and letting the atmosphere of the image do its magic.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves photography or as an introduction to monochrome photography for those needed to be persuaded of its merits. And if you love animals or Africa this will be for you too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2009
What a stunning book. The quality of the images are outstanding, and is printed on exception paper which really helps to bring the photos to life. Don't hesitate to buy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2011
just the front cover alone is worth the money in my opinion, the book is filled with beautiful images that capture so much detail and emotion. 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)