Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
41
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
My Grandaughter loves this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I knew from the minute it mentioned surfing that something bad was going to happen in this book but I also in knew there was going to be a happy ending it is a wondrous book about the relationship of two new sisters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This book is very, very touching and sweet, it is a novel about friendship/ sisters and drama. Cat is extremely wild as her mum was drunk and she had to look after her younger brother. Maya is mature and good and has always wanted a sister. Both different girls come together and have to try and get on however it doesn't quite work at first.
I would recommend this book for 9+ as some humorous and sad parts aren't appropriate for 9-.I like this book because it is really sweet and will make you see how you can become best friends although being so different. read this if you like Jacqueline Wilson.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Twelve-year old Maya wants to go surfing with her friends but her mother is over protective – or does she have a reason to fear for Maya’s safety? Then the wild and wonderful Cat comes on the scene as a prospective sister and life changes dramatically – for everyone.
But Maya isn’t sure if she really wants this massive change in her life. When her parents tell her the news Maya says “And I should have been excited; I should, because who wouldn’t be when their dream has just come true? And I tried very hard to smile about it, but I couldn’t get my lips to work properly. I just froze to the spot and my tummy clenched up as if my insides had turned into this big skipping rope and someone was knotting it up all tight.”
Secrets and tension unfold amid the beauty of the dramatic Cornish coast. Will the two very different girls ever become true sisters?
Maryon’s writing style is effervescent - here sad, there funny, always engaging. The tone is perfect for its Middle Grade readership. You are immediately drawn into the story and care deeply for Maya and her mixed emotions.
Importantly, “A Sea of Stars” is now required reading for all people hoping to adopt in Cornwall and recommended reading for many other counties.
It’s a super book - a bright shining joy of a book. I highly recommend it for readers of all ages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I read this book a few months ago and it was a good book. It is aimed at 9 years and up so or was a little immature to the teen age books I usually read.but it is still a good book and a great subject matter to any one who has been affected by adoption. I would recommend this book to 9 years and up and people who like books what focus on real issues.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
My daughter (aged 13) read this book from cover to cover when she first was given it. She's read it again several times since - she loves it and talks about the characters as though they are real people. Kate writes with real affection for her characters as well as a ring of truth.

Looking forward to the next one ....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
A heart warming and touching story, about families,loss,chances and new beginnings.

It is easy to relate and sympathise with each character's own personal struggle, which highlights change, child loss, and adoption and is treated with such care, love and tenderness by a writer who has such a 'feel' for such real and raw emotions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
this is a book about a girl called maya who faces dramatic changes when her prents adot a girl called cat after losing their son alfie on a bus accifent .maya has been wanting a sister since forever but somehow it doesn't feel like she thought it would. One day maya is surfing in the sea when ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
A great read from Kate Maryon once again. It was a grabbing book and shows a story of life for children in care and just how hard it is to Settle down. But after love, care and a surfing disaster for Maya it brings the family together, ending with a happily ever after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
This book was great. It was touching,sad,happy and exciting.I was very happy with the book throughout the adventures.it as fab.I like how it started mysterious and ended rather mysterious as well it as a good read and would definitely recommend it to my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here