Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 22 June 2014
I got this book as a free download through Amazon. It's not typically my genre, but as the reviews where complimentary i figured I'd give it a go......well it was free after all. I'm very glad i did, the book had a fluidity of pace that keep me engaged, the characters were nicely developed, and the story was very intriguing, and thankfully not formulaic, as might be expected from this type of book. As such I've purchased William's other two books and am looking forward to chilling out in the park this glorious day, anticipating another good read. Thanks Amazon and Mr Hertling 5 star read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I read this book while on holiday, and really enjoyed the ride. It kept me interested to the end, with fast-paced action throughout, and an engrossing story line. The writing was tight, easy to read, and the story well executed. There's some quite geeky techie stuff in it, but I guess it was required for the subject matter. This is the first novel I have read by this author, but I'll be interested to seek out some of his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
This is set 10 years after the first book and plots out the inevitable events that would occur after machine sentience has been reached. As with the first book, it's compact and is very plot driven, although having said that the characters are more rounded meaning you have a lot more invested in them. It almost come across as a 'boy's own adventure', so would be enjoyed both by youngish readers and adults alike - as long as they're male!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Very interesting ideas, good writing, interesting characters and moments with a lot of action - very cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Loved this book, the author really brings the AI battles to life. Made me think about data centres (an everyday part of my life) very differently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Great story, couldn't put it down! Great writing style makes a very technical story very easy to read. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I read this book out of sequence but enjoyed it so much that I promptly downloaded the prequel and will cetainly get the next in series as soon as available.
This is one of the best techno thrillers I have read in many years.
The writer successfully balances computer techno speak with convincing and likeable characters and the plot moves along at zinging pace.
I would highly recommend this to any reader who likes this kind of story.
Great fun and totally enjoyable!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
A well written book. While it is over optimistically biased towards the computer virus it is no more so than the Terminator series of films. The difference is this goes into technical details whereas Terminator avoided such issues. There are other similarities between the two, both use robotic drones, both attempt to use military hardware to overpower a virus in civillian systems.

More than 100 times speed of sound with a railgun? The fastest experimental railgun manages just 7. There are lots of other little niggles too, fortunately not individually too big to detract from the read. Perhaps a little more research?

To be honest it iis well paced and tries to be informative. The only reason I picked up the faults with it was my previous knowledge. For those less informed it should be very plausible, for those with it should certainly be a warning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
What a brilliant Sci Fi adventure! Following on from the first book in the series, Avogadro Corp, William Hertling has constructed another thrilling story based on the concept of artificial intelligence. Set about 10 years in the future, everything is normal one minute, and the next minute a new computer virus brings the whole world's support infrastructure to a complete halt. Mayhem ensues! Brilliantly imagined and convincingly told, the tension is kept high, and the plot moves along at a cracking pace. There is plenty of action, and interestingly the battles happen so fast humans can't even begin to respond. Scary! I look forward with anticipation to reading the next book in the series. And I want one of Hertling's "Gibson" phones - with a 256 core graphene processor!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)