Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
51
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2011
Looking for a sumptuous and sturdy illustration of Charles Dickens great work at the right price, than you can't go far wrong with this beautifully thought out tome. Packed with wonderful illustrations that perfectly captivate the spirit of the writing,it's a great reminder in this high tech age, that nothing quite connects with the personal soul than turning the pages of a lovingly put together hard back novel. Great as a gift, or just as a bedside treat to indulge yourself in.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Having been disappointed by the typographical errors in the version illustrated by Quentin Blake, I thought I'd give this one a go. The story is well known so I won't bore you with a summary, but it is a classic Christmas tale.
The illustrations by Robert Ingpen are superb and ooze atmosphere; my favourite is a city street scene where, off to the side and certainly not central is Bob carrying Tiny Time. That is class.
If you want a wonderful version, buy this one.
Oh, and it has an additional short story "A Christmas Tree".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
Such a beautiful hardback book, it looks amazing with my other Christmas Carol books!
Fast delivery too! I would buy from again. Also the drawings are amazing! Magical in fact
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Product very high quality, really good addition with my favourite books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
very good original text... i used for my sons GCSE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have never been a huge fan of Charles Dickens, I have always found his prose to be too overwhelming (not a man to use one adjective where five will suffice) and his tales a little too moralising and preachy. With one exception I have never really enjoyed any of his books that I have read (though I admit that I have only read about three of his works). And that one exception is the hardy perennial, A Christmas Carol.

It's an almost perfect book. Here Dickens' wordy style is put to good use in evoking the various atmospheres. The central character, a man whose name has become synonymous with greed and miserliness, Ebenezer Scrooge is well drawn as a cold and grasping wraith of a man without the merest hint of human kindness even at Christmas. Over the course of one night he is visited by various apparitions who show him Christmases past, present and yet to come to teach him the error of his ways, leading to the joyful ending in which the old sinner repents and starts on a new path. Dickens was on top form when he wrote this, sending a chill down the spine with his descriptions of the dark, cold atmosphere Scrooge envelops himself in, painting a vivid picture of the ghost of Jacob Marley, Scrooge's dead partner in business and first spectral visitor, building up the tension to the appearance of the first spirit of Christmas, showing the sadness in Scrooge's life, describing scenes of joy that almost make you laugh with pleasure. His characters are rich, from the tragic figure of Tiny Tim to the exuberant and larger than life Fezziwig. The story is all about the exploration of a character, and the development of that character, and is superbly well done. Even though it is a moral lesson, it does not feel preachy or overwhelming. In short, it as an excellent book, a real tour de force. I love it. I cannot award this superb book anything less than 5 stars. And Merry Christmas one and all!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Beautiful, hard backed book with lovely illustrations. The text is a lovely clear size and easy to read. A really lovely gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
What can I say other than fantastic? this book is brilliantly illustrated by Robert Ingpen and is a great read; it even has a bio of Charles Dickens before the story starts.

This would make a perfect present or a keep sake; I would highly recommend all of Robert Ingpen's book as his illustrations are extraordinary
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Great illustrations, suitable for all age. Recommended also for a gift.A Christmas Carol: With 'A Christmas Tree'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
What a lovely book. highly delighted with this item and it made a wonderful gift. For the money it represented great value.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse