Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

More Options
A Canterbury Tale
See larger image (with zoom)

A Canterbury Tale

From the Album Second Light
1 Mar. 2003 | Format: MP3

£0.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 1 Mar. 2003
  • Release Date: 1 Mar. 2003
  • Label: Virgin UK
  • Copyright: (C) 1995 Virgin Records LtdThis label copy information is the subject of copyright protection. All rights reserved.(C) 1995 Virgin Records Ltd
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Duration: 8:40 minutes
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 174,651 in Songs (See Top 100 in Songs)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Paul Mccartney in the 60's had been smoking something he shouldn't have been when, all of a sudden, he had an epiphany. Not wanting to lose this to his hazy memory, he wrote it down for posterity.
In the morning, he woke up & read the note. It said "There are Seven Levels".

Whether such thoughts are of any value is very subjective but I had a similar experience one evening with this song & wrote it down. Hence the title of this review, as the nature of this song seems to fit the above description.

Essentially this song is a masterpiece of chill-out as it consists of a mixture of violin, piano and electronic music that makes for the best calming music.
It also has a distinctly medieval flavour to it & samples strewn throughout such as "Wouldn't it be marvellous to grow old in a place like this".

Clearly it is not to every one's taste &, at 7 minutes, it can seem a little long. It's also annoying that the sample that introduces the track on the album isn't on this MP3 &, instead, the song ends with the sample that begins Captain Dread.

Still, you can't have everything & this song (along with Little Britain) represent the two best bits of the album (IMHO).

If you want one of those amazing Chill-out songs from the early nineties that makes any compilation that little bit more compelling, then this is a good song to buy.
If you're after profound experiences, however, then I suggest the full album or, better still, seeing them live.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse