Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
A Brilliant Life
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 October 2009
This book is inspirational and fun. The cartoons are great and the book is easy to read. All this and the ideas are challenging too.

It sets out to challenge a common misconception that life is boring, and that we are powerless to make a difference. And it does this by stating some good principles to live by, with the aim that we can all enjoy life and get the most out of it.

It is great for teenagers, but also good for adults. It is small, "dip-in-able" and a quick read ... ideal to sit on a bathroom shelf for those quiet moments.

It has become required reading for my son, and a timely present for the Godchildren as they start high school.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
Having read several of Andy Cope's other books I had high expectations for this book - we have a 10 year old son who is showing pre-teen signs of grumpiness and attitude towards his younger sister. The book is physically smaller than a regular paperback and has a cartoon and a few well-chosen words / sentences on each page. It is a scaled down version of the adult book "The Art Of Being Brilliant". I was sceptical aboput whether our son would get the messages without the longer discourse you get with the adult book. What we actually found was (to our surprise) that our 6 year old got the messages better and fully grasped, for example, the concept of an 'energy vampire'. A great book for kids!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2010
This book is fun, entertaining and inspirational. It is written in a style that both teenagers and adults can enjoy together - you can't say that about much these days! If your teen hasn't got a copy then get one!A Brilliant Life: Live Your Life as an Inspired, Passionate and Positive Person
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2014
I don't get it. It's a short, not particularly well-written book for teenagers, with illustrations. But it's written in such a simplistic way that I can't imagine it having any credibility with the audience it's aimed at. The whole book is along the lines of "some of his friends were being down about it, but he decided to think positively and, hey presto, everything was great."

Would probably appeal to a certain group of people who enjoy happy clappy-type therapy. But my guess is that this would be viewed as demeaning by most teenagers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2010
great book,great pix-funny n relevant.teens -get off your bottoms n do something with yr. lives -this is the book for u.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2009
Excellent.
Ideal to help give ideas about being positive to youngsters of all ages!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2014
Very simple text not unlike a Wimpy kid book only far less text. Very quick to read so would suit all - a little too brief for some but the subject matter is universal. Very simply put and could be the start of discussion. Would recommend to all especially teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2016
Love Andy Cope! brought this for my 14 year old daughter as its easy to read and has a simple message. So important to teach your kids the importantance of a positive mindset :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2015
Son loved this book. Hopefully he will take heed!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2014
Another brilliant read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse