Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 23 March 2011
When I downloaded this, I wasn't actually aware of what it was. The story is of a young man that slowly comes to terms with his sexuality. The individual chapters are of the various attempts that he makes to find love of a kind that is physically stimulating; but then he begins to understand that this does not always produce a love that is emotionally or pyschologically satisfying.

The book is brutally honest; he relates his feelings and in particular, his despondancy and thoughts of suicide as each new partner just fades away as inevitably as a one night stand. When he does finally find someone that makes him happy, fate plays a cruel trick; and he is back once again to the beginning.

If this was a book about straight people, people would compare it to Bridget Jone's Diary or others. As it is about gay men, some will immediately turn away. But I would suggest that you should read this whatever your particular preference. This is a book about real feelings and human frailities; and as such, most people should be able to relate to it.

Be aware that there are some very graphic descriptions of sexual practices including sado-masichism; it might not be suitable for the immature or younger readers. But hopefully, it will help you understand just how much of a stuggle, love, the most basic of human desires can be.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
The life and times of our hero Mark as he looks into the world of relationships nothing very dramatic happens in the first book but this is just a scene setter for the up and coming other four books as we learn about Marks friends and lovers who become so inportant throughout this series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2013
I used to write book reviews on Amazon regularly but stopped some time ago, for one reason or another. This book has made me want to do it again.

An absolutely superb read. Witty & humourous, clever, sad, even tragic at times, and always entertaining. I completely absorbed myself in the character of Mark. I felt for him; I felt with him. This is a not to be missed first instalment of Mark's life. Before I was halfway through this I had already downloaded the second and third instalments. I'm now half way through 'Good Thing Bad Thing' and I've just bought the last two episodes of Nick Alexander's fantastic telling of Mark's story.

I have laughed out loud and I have even cried reading these books. It's been a while since something I read had that effect on me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
I wasn't too sure what to expect though of course I knew it was a book with the subject of gay romance/relationships. I loved the format, listening to the main character, Mark, tell me about his various encounters with various men. It has it's highs and lows, sadness and laughter, as I suppose all relationships go through.

His life reflected mine, the life I had in the 90's. Though not as well travelled as Mark, I met an lot of people. At the time I didn't analyse anything I was doing, me/him/it....I just did it but now all this time later when I look back and what I did and what Mark did, we have a few shared experiences.

The book is very well written, builds some really good characters and is a fine example of just how complex the human relationship can be.

I can't wait to read the next instalment, which I have but I'm going to read a couple of other books before I go back to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2016
This book has taken me on a journey, not just in terms of the storyline itself, which tugs on your heartstrings at times, but because I have learned so much about the angst of being a young gay man struggling to find love, and ultimately, himself. I found the book insightful and, as with all Nick Alexander's characters, I found myself pulled in and empathising at every twist and turn. Such good, easy to read, prose. Nick is a consummate professional at the complex craft of writing. I shall be reading Sottopassagio next, which I believe is the sequel. I am intrigued already...... :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2013
I have come to Nick Alexander's work initially through 'The Half Life of Hannah' and loved it so much that I wanted to go back and read what else he has written. I wasn't disappointed with this book. In fact I liked it even better and immediately downloaded the next in the series as I really want to see what happens to Mark.
This is a book about the complexities, frailties, the joys and sadnesses of human relationships. Something we can all identify with. Although it is deemed 'gay' fiction any reader should be able to identify with some of the things Mark goes through.
Having said that, I have a lot of gay friends and the book read like many of the heart to hearts my friends have shared with me so it seems to reflect the modern reality of at least one gay guy exploring his sexuality and ultimately looking for love and connection.
It left me wanting more.... A recommendation in itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
Much to my surprise I found this book very engaging and couldn't put it down. It's almost like a series of short stories (which I normally avoid like the plague) but I was carried along by Nick Alexander's utterly compelling style and the personality of the main character. Such a refreshing change from the endless heterosexual 'love' stories that present themselves in one form or another.
I've now bought the rest of the 'Fifty Reasons series'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
Read The Case of the Missing Boyfriend, The French House and The Half life of Hannah, thoroughly enjoyed them which I why I downloaded this book and the following two. Perhaps a mistake. This book was not as good, not as amusing and at times unbelievable. Found the character Mark a bit pathetic and quarter way though the book it was a case of 'I have started so I will finish'
Will I read the other two, probably but not just yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2014
It says 'A Novel' to dupe you, because it most certainly isn't. Just a series of gay encounters with very little to tie them together. I know the clue is in the title but, frankly, I'd have given up trying to pull after about 2 of these rejections. Ever wondered if it might be you, not them..... Well written though, and not just porn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2018
Shallow character who falls for anyone who smiles at him. Boring. Glad this isn't the first of Nicks books that I read otherwise i wouldn't have read another ever again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse