Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 January 2009
I think this is probably the best of the fifty samples books and a good source for people interested in psychology in mainly a popular or literary sense.

It's a sampling of a range of authors (some further recommended reads and authors are included at the finish which arent included in the main of the text) there's a sample, a summary and some quotes from each of them.

A great place to begin if all you need is a sort of overview or if you're interested in the topic of psychology but unsure where to begin reading, I say its mainly a literary sense because its essentially a literature review and collection of recommended reads like all the fifty books series. It's not a psychology text book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Fascinating read and not too intense. Does de-bunk and show how a lot of things and deductions people throw about are wrong or the results taken out of context. Pavlov's dogs being a great case in point. We all know he became interested in conditioned reflex (dogs food v a bell or a metronome) but it goes on to say that under certain conditions this worked but under many other conditions the reflex or conditioning either failed or wore off. There are lots of little and interesting factoids to show what the real learning was rather than the sound bites we think we know about psychology. Good read for anyone interested in the human condition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an incredibly useful book. I'm just about to return to studying psychology at Masters level after a long break. This was just what I needed to refresh my memory on some of the key original texts that I'd waded through many years ago.

A feature I particularly like is that at the start of each chapter you've got a one sentence summary of the "Big Idea" that each piece of research/thinking contributes to the field. Obviously such intricate works can't be fully distilled into one sentence but I found this a genius hack when trying to remember just what piece of research/researcher I was looking for at a given time. It also serves as a great signpost to things that might be of interest to you- and those bits of Psychology that you'd rather skip, thanks.

Don't be put off though by my description above if you're new to the study of psychology or just fancy a dip of the toe in the subject. No prior knowledge is required. This serves as a handy intro if you're coming at the material fresh. What it will do is tell you if a particular area of study grabs you enough that you want to read more about it.

All in all a great book for the lay person or the serious scholar, in an accessible and engaging format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My (limited) interest in psychology started way back in my early twenties when I read Games People Play. I can honestly say that it was a really significant book for me and changed the way I looked at people and interacted. I found it especially useful in the work environment, where I was primarily dealing with people much older than me. I appreciate it's widely considered a little dated and simplistic now, but I'd recommend it as an accessible and informative read.

That book is one of the fifty that are briefly summarised in this book. Fifty of the most well known books on psychology are covered; there are a few quotes to start and a single sentence summation, then a condensing of the key points in a few pages, followed by a brief pen picture of the author.

I found the writing to be accessible and understandable, though did require some concentration on my part. Certainly interesting and informative, though perhaps not life changing in the way that reading a complete work might be. A book to dip into rather than read at a single sitting; perhaps something for the bedside table.

All-in-all a useful book for anyone with a passing interest in understanding human behaviour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 July 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an intriguing book. Its a list of 50 classic books on psychology divided into 7 categories. The books themselves are listed in alphabetical order based on authors surname. There is a list of books at the beginning of the book (contents page). The introduction divides all the books into the seven categories, so you can go straight to books that are in the area that interests you. There is another list of 50 further books to consider. The section on each book has a precis about the book, the book in a nutshell and a bit on the author.
Its a good starter book if you are interested in the subject matter but have absolutely no idea where to start. From this book you should be able to move onto whole books on specific subjects that grab you as well as introducing you to the big name authors in a subject area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Excellent intro to psychology classics covering a variety of texts on the following topics:

- Human nature
- Prejudice
- Psychology of human relationships
- Influence and persuasion
- Psychology of success and happiness
- Psychoanalysis (including dreams, archetypes personality dimensions)
- Emotional intelligence

This book is not only interesting for those, who like psychology but would also be useful for school children studying Psychology as A-Levels. Good for general knowledge too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a really fabulous book and one I wish I had had years ago, when I first started to learn more about psychology. It is full of 50 psychology classics and the related psychologists akin to each theory. The book basically spans fifty well known psychology books incorporating the main ideas, key figures and thinkers, and the workings of the human mind, our thinking, personality traits and human nature. It's all that makes us what we are etc. Good at-a-glance book to give a potted version of each psychologists theory and so on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 21 June 2012
This is an inspiring, intellectually stimulating and accessible guide to 50 of the most influential books on psychology. The works discussed span the period from 1890(William James) to 2006(Daniel Gilbert) and can be divided into seven categories: 'A science of the brain'; 'Wisdom of a different kind'; 'Happiness and mental health'; 'The study of personality and the self'; 'Great thinkers on human motivation'; 'The dynamics of relationships'; and 'Creative power and communication skills'. At the end of the book there are brief summaries of an alternative list of '50 More Classics'.
'50 Psychology Classics' is an enlightening survey of a fascinating subject and should appeal to the general reader as well as students of psychology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
To be honest, I was disappointed with this. I didn't know the series but expected more of the original authors' work to be featured rather than a filtered summary.

It doesn't serve much more of a purpose than series of decent wiki articles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
With 50 classics to pack in, this is a quick, lightweight reference to the main points of a personality or concept from the history of psychology in the west. Nearly all of the examples are from the Twentieth Century and the western hemisphere. There are bound to be some differences of opinion over what should have been kept in and what left out. It condenses the key points into a few pages that can be read quickly - from there it's up to the reader, if they really want to know more, to underpin it with further study. For what it is, it does its job pretty well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)