Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 2 April 2014
There are books out there that will give you a succint insight into a range of philosophical works. This isn't one of them. If you know any philosophy at all you already know more than you'll get from this book. And if you don't know anything and just want a quick insight and introduction then you won't be any the wiser after reading it. The thirty second thing is just a gimic masking a trivial and at times plain wrong set of superficial and badly written paragraphs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
It's cleverly written and explains some complex ideas very concisely. I found it irritating however that there was no thread linking each mini-chapter. The effect is a very random and bitty book. Unless you like remembering random pieces of information it's a little disappointing.....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
This is hard work and may be looked upon a reference rather than a good read. I got the odd gem but not much more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2010
In his Foreword Stephen Law shows how exposure to philosophy can be valuable in everyday life. In the UK in particular philosophy is not given the place in the curriculum that it deserves. Now we have trasnferable skills but they do not capture the full range of philosophical argument. Many people are put off philosophy and think of it as pretentious waffle but Wittgenstein said that with philosophy you can say things plainly and simply (He did not take his own advice).

So this book is a refreshing change as the key ideas are summed up in a single page that is supposed to take 30 seconds to read. While it takes a bit longer than this especially to understand what they mean these are very good "potted versions" of the great ideas.

The articles themselves are written by a series of authors and so there is some variation in their quality and accessibility. So it starts badly with some algebra in Syllogisms which comes from nowhere and is off-putting but keep going. For me the articles by Kati Balog are the best and the clearest and I hope that she goes on to write more books.

In general if you need to know what the big ideas are this is a good place to start.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
i know it only says 30 seconds, but it doesn't really get to the point. no really recommended even though it was only 20p
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I bought this book hoping for some clarification ~ most of the writing in impenetrable, and requiring a much wider knowledge of philosophy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 April 2011
Philosophy has a reputation for being obscure, highfaluting, and not terribly practical or useful. However, if one is not easily dismayed by these misconceptions then it's possible to learn a lot about the world and our conceptions of it from studying some of the most interesting philosophical questions. This well designed and well-written short introduction aims to present some of the most thought-provoking ideas from the rich history of philosophy. Whether you have never read any philosophical work or are a seasoned armchair philosopher, you will find many interesting pieces of information within the covers of this book. It provides a brief reference for 50 philosophical concepts or idea. These are explained in short 300 word sections, with an accompanying illustrations and several even shorter references. The topics covered include: Frege's puzzle, Hume's problem of induction, the brain in a vat, Pascal's wager, Plato's cave, and many more. The explanations are very lucid and intuitive, and they only require some good old common sense for the full understanding. The illustrations are done in a mock fifties style and they convey a slight panache for self-irony. The book is printed on a high-quality glossy paper and can almost function as a coffee table book. It makes a nice little reference or can be used as a thoughtful gift.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
After I downloaded this book, I wondered if I was really interested in philosophy, but it turns out that I am. I knew virtually nothing about it before I started and now I know a little more, but I did find most of the snippets interesting. A book so short can't give you a grounding in individual theories, but what it can do is whet your appetite for more. What I mostly took from it is an understanding of the range and complexity of the subject and a list of philosophers I would like to know more about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Ii have this on my kindle and it is such a lovely book to dip into. I am thoroughly enjoying it - and getting some info at the same time
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
Great, and probably the best in the series of 30 second books. Good choice if you are considering philosophy as an A Level or topic and want a quick overview of what it's about.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)