Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Buy used:
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

25: The Very Best Of –

Deluxe Edition

Box Set

4.6 out of 5 stars 78 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
25 Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD+DVD, Box set, 4 Oct 2010
Available from these sellers.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Amazon's a-ha Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (4 Oct. 2010)
  • Deluxe Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD+DVD, Box set
  • Label: Rhino
  • ASIN: B0041TW5WC
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 78 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 31,020 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Take On Me
  2. The Blue Sky
  3. The Sun Always Shines On TV
  4. Train Of Thought
  5. Hunting High And Low
  6. I've Been Losing You
  7. Scoundrel Days
  8. Swing Of Things
  9. Cry Wolf
  10. Manhattan Skyline
  11. The Living Daylights
  12. Stay On These Roads
  13. Touchy!
  14. There's Never A Forever Thing
  15. You Are The One
  16. The Blood That Moves The Body
  17. Crying In The Rain
  18. Early Morning
  19. Slender Frame
  20. I Call Your Name

Disc: 2

  1. Move To Memphis
  2. Dark Is The Night For All
  3. Cold As Stone
  4. Angel
  5. Shapes That Go Together
  6. Summer Moved On
  7. Minor Earth Major Sky
  8. The Sun Never Shone That Day
  9. Velvet
  10. Forever Not Yours
  11. Lifelines
  12. Did Anyone Approach You?
  13. Celice
  14. Analogue
  15. Cosy Prisons
  16. Foot Of The Mountain
  17. Nothing Is Keeping You Here
  18. Shadowside
  19. "Butterfly, Butterfly [The Last Hurrah]"

Disc: 3

  1. Take On Me
  2. The Sun Always Shines On TV
  3. I've Been Losing You
  4. Manhattan Skyline
  5. Stay On These Roads
  6. Crying In The Rain
  7. Dark Is The Night For All
  8. Move To Memphis
  9. Shapes That Go Together
  10. Angel In The Snow
  11. Summer Moved On
  12. Minor Earth Major Sky
  13. Lifelines
  14. Did Anyone Approach You
  15. Velvet
  16. "Butterfly, Butterfly [The Last Hurrah]"
  17. Take On Me

Product description

Product Description

Deluxe three disc (two CDs + NTSC/Region 0 DVD) edition includes bonus DVD featuring 17 career-spanning video clips. 2010 collection from the Norwegian Pop trio. After nine albums, an iconic music video, and sales of more than 36 million worldwide, 2010 celebrates a-ha's 25th anniversary and final year together. The album includes 38 a-Ha favorites including 'Take on Me', 'The Sun Always Shines on TV', 'Cry Wolf' and 'Velvet' plus the brand new track 'Butterfly, Butterfly (The Last Hurrah)'. Warner.

BBC Review

A double-CD collection celebrating the retirement, after 25 years, of what was once dismissed as a little more than a prototype Norwegian boy band seems like an overambitious concept. That’s until one remembers that the Norwegian trio have sold in excess of 35 million records. But their early rush of pop brilliance and their consequently powerful association with a young audience – Morten Harket was, after all, the man who inspired a generation of teenagers to wear suede leather bracelets – mean that some ‘grew out of’ a-ha, and critics turned their back. By 1991 they might have been playing to the biggest audience of paying fans ever recorded – a staggering 198,000, at Rock in Rio II – but the story went virtually unreported, a disappointment so crushing the band went on hiatus.

They reunited in 1998, wiser and more mature, something reflected in their new music, and a 2005 singles compilation released on their 20th anniversary saw them return to the UK top 20. This latest attempt to exploit their catalogue, 25 – The Very Best Of, is therefore an enlightening affair, proof that though they rarely repeated the pure immediacy of Take on Me or The Sun Always Shines on TV, nor the ambitious drama of I’ve Been Losing You or 1987’s James Bond theme, The Living Daylights, a-ha remained capable of crafting mature pop. In fact, this thorough 39-song survey leads one to the unexpected conclusion that they were the Coldplay of their generation, accomplished at writing songs that carried an emotional depth capable of reaching out across arenas. Dark Is the Night for All is an uplifting piece of mid-paced stadium rock with a gentle heart, Velvet is a lush tearjerker that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Morcheeba record, while final single, Butterfly, Butterfly, sees them return to their synth-pop roots with added grandeur, sounding not unlike Pet Shop Boys with choirboy vocals.

Inevitably, though, over two and a half hours of a-ha things start to sag, as they would with many artists, and that seems a shame. These three Norwegians have more than earned a status approaching iconic, and recent gestures – they’ve given away over £400,000 in grants to developing Norwegian artists this year – prove that music was always a far greater driving force in their careers than fame and teenage adulation. But few people listen to full albums anymore, so this is better thought of as a well-earned condensed encyclopaedia into which to dip than a simple retrospective collection. Either way, respect is due, and 25 provides more than room enough for that.

--Wyndham Wallace

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

78 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

5 September 2015
Verified Purchase
review imagereview image
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 May 2013
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 October 2010
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
4 September 2018
Verified Purchase
3 March 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 August 2018
Verified Purchase
3 January 2016
Verified Purchase
6 May 2016
Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?