Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
138
4.4 out of 5 stars
13 Assassins [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 May 2016
Awesome mind bending film, brilliant pacing. Action is sublime. Tension carried throughout until climax.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
The DVD was just as I required and I was very pleased with the order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Delivered in time, good quality in blue-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
cool action flick, well recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
This is one of the greatest films I have ever seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I remeber vividly watching 'The Seven Samurai' / 'Yojimbo' for the first time and marvelling at the masterful strokes of the director and the sheer craft of the story telling. With '13 Assassins' you will feel the same, it is up their with the greats of eastern cinema, learning from its past and taking from the recent times, you have the style of Kurosawa wit hthe bloody drenched gorgeousness of Takashi Miike. One of the most important films on cinema in the last ten years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 January 2012
13 Assassins is a remake of an old black and white samurai film with Takashi Miike directing. I am new to the film and to Miike so this is a great introduction to both. The set-up is simple. Corrupt and evil young lord is hunted down by 13 samurai who know that they must succeed or else their lands will eventually be under the control of the young heir. Their mission isn't legal and their mark knows they are coming.

The first half (just over actually) is a set-up for the final 50 minutes. Its dialogue heavy and covers the formation of the 13 and their plans to ambush their mark and his troops. If there is one criticism of the first half then it would be that not all the characters are fleshed out enough that you discern them in the last part. However, its brilliantly shot and paced. Pace is something this film does well. Then once our 13 have set the trap we get to the second half of the film. The last fifty minutes. I read that the last fifty minutes was an extended fight sequence and struggled to believe this. Having watched it I can vouch that it is a thrilling, bloody and brilliant battle that lasts throughout with pace and planning. The whole sequence works and it is incredibly well planned and executed. Whilst its hard to follow the characters at times it fizzes along with an ever increasing body count until we get to the conclusion. Its hard not to feel a little dazed by the whole battle at the end.

The film works on two levels. Firstly it shows the cultural side of the era and also the slow paced political manoeuvrings that happened. In the first half this really worked for me and I enjoyed that aspect a lot. However, when the film cuts loose it really does so with style and vision and you are left in awe of the production planning. If you don't mind subtitles and blood and want something other than a traditional action film then you will be well served by this and can certainly do worse than investing your time and money in watching 13 Assassins.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
NO SPOILERS

I've never seen a "samurai" film except for the Last Samurai with Tom cruise so I wasn't sure if it was my type of film but I decided to buy it due to recommendations and the bargain price. I must say that it was amazing with pretty spectacular acting even down to the child that was tied up. The cinematography was really well done and you can imagine that this was set in the 1800s easily. I would recommend it on blu-ray for the landscapes. The main actors are well written, and funny at times which you can't see from the trailer and because they are such good actors you start to care about the 13 and view them as real people and not invincible soldiers.

There is a lot of violence as you can imagine with some harrowing scenes but they don't really seem exploitative like Tarantino's films and are more to show the brutality of the time and are realistic. The last hour is amazing and just flies by.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Yes, good but the grand mêlée was confused and didn't help the story telling by any measurable degree.
There was also use of quite cheap sure-to-shock tricks which dragged the film down as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)