Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 5 November 2009
Maurice and Maralyn Bailey wrote a book about an incredible adventure at sea, but most of all they proved that as a team, humans can face the worst and adapt to the most hostile environment. Sure, few of us would have had the physical and moral strength to spend six months on a leaking live raft drifting out into the vast Pacific, without any hope to be seen or found one day. But the Baileys showed us that it is possible. After several months, when they "had become part of the sea", both were convinced that they could have lived on that way forever, they didn't expect anything from the outside world anymore. Their story teaches us a lesson about humans, our unbelievable resources and our capacity to adapt - as a team. For those who think that +200 pages about drifting in a 2 m2 live raft might become monotonous, be assured that you'll enjoy every page!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2012
This true story is such a wonderful antidote to the kind of Hollywood razzmatazz that editors and film makers so often feel is necessary to 'spice up' a real life narrative.
It reads as if it was written by a real person not a ghost writer and there are no distracting rhetorical flourishes. that said it is very well written and is a superb story. I suppose it fits into the survival story genre, and as such is an inspiring read. I'm not giving much away as the suspense is kind of spoiled by the title - no surprises there! However it's such a riveting, fascinating read that I have gone back to it many times over the years.
This story is one of quiet heroism, a gutsy, inventive tale of ordinary people finding themselves in extraordinary circumstances.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2017
Just finished this book. It is quiet short but the most important is written down. I could feel with them, also if just for sure a little part through the writting stile. Beside the amazement of the book itself, the story is just incrediable. AND amazing. This wil to survive and this strong mind and bodies surviving this. WOOOOOW.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 1998
I read this book in one sitting; it's quite a gripping experience to re-live the experience as the Bailey's hold out for an unparalleled 118 days in a rubber dinghy and raft in the middle of the Pacific. Will few supplies and slowly failing equipment, they keep improvising and somehow mentally hold it together long enough for the 8th (!) passing ship to finally spot them after almost 4 months adrift.
The only criticisms I have of this book are that they leave a few questions unanswered. Such as, did they not have a radio?! (Perhaps not standard in 1973?)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2014
This is the remarkable story,written from their diaries of a couple,who set sail from Panama in 1973 for the 10 day voyage to the Galapagos Islands but after 6 days their yacht was hit by a whale and sank but they were lucky to escape with a dinghy and raft.
Although they sited several ships it was 117 days before they were rescued by a Korean fishing boat.
It was remarkable how they managed food (turtles and fish) and water(rain) but they were badly affected by sunburn and blisters.
A first class read with excellent illustrations-deserves 10 stars.
A good example of human fortitude.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2013
Another amazing book of incredible human resourcefullness and determination to survive !!
My only diappointment was that this book is too short (less that 200 pages from memory?) . I would have loved for them to elaborate a bit more on the journey before they had to abandoned the yacht. Maybe the authors intentions are to write another book in the future, in which they cover this?
All in all this is still well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2013
Interesting story but not told particularly well in my oppinion. Of course the authors are survivors and not novelists but I didn't find this as good a book as it should have been. Their story is amazing but their telling of it isn't!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2016
What an absolutely remarkable story this is. On a survival level it's through the roof and almost unbelievable.
But I know every word of the saga is true. I met Maurice and his late wife Maralyn after they were plucked from the Pacific in their little rubber dinghy--and still even today marvel at their unique "adventure" and mind-boggling fortitude.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 1999
I've read this book a couple of times. An amazing tale of not only how they servived physically but mentally.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2016
There's nothing like a true adventure story. Truth is ALWAYS stranger than fiction . . . . .here, couple invest life savings in boat, sail the high seas, boat hits whale, boat sinks, they take to life raft with just a few days of water and ditto food. Read this to see how they survived!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)