10 Reasons To... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

10 Reasons To...

Price: £11.95 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 8 Mar 2019
Promotion Message Save £5.00 on orders £25.00 or more 1 promotion

Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Get £5 off qualifying orders of £25 or more. Today only. Ts&Cs apply. Enter code BIGTHANKS at checkout. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Audio CD (8 Mar. 2019)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: 33 Jazz
  • ASIN: B07HG8S5Z4
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 177,547 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. 100 Years At Sea Introduction
  2. 100 Years At Sea
  3. 1 Million Years At Sea
  4. Bad Reputations
  5. T.T.E
  6. The Sycophant
  7. The Whispering Knight
  8. No Oil For Sale Here
  9. The Legend Of Bray
  10. Inside Immortality
  11. See You In Another Lifetime
  12. For Future Past

Product description

Product Description

Written over a period of two years, '10 Reasons To...' is Benjamin Croft's first solo album of twelve original compositions. The British pianist/keyboardist and composer was inspired by the passing of several legends and has dedicated tracks to Allan Holdsworth, Keith Emerson, Christopher Lee and Gustav Mahler.

'I felt a close affinity with these individuals - the work they produced defied boundaries," says Croft. "The fact that they were fearless in pursuit of their art despite the fashions of their respective eras' struck a chord with me and has influenced me to do the same."

"The sounds and styles on this album reflect the slow processing of all that captured my imagination since I was a child. I didn't want this to be a typical acoustic jazz sounding album as my ideas tend to be more orchestral," explains Croft. "I wanted the sounds to be a combination of keyboard instruments and have always had a love of 70's and 80's analogue synths. The Mini-Moog, Prophet 5 and Mellotron for example all feature on the tracks." The synths were recorded by Andy Whitmore at Greystoke Studios who owns one of the largest collections of vintage synths in the UK.

Sonny Johns, the Grammy, Mobo and Mercury Prize nominated engineer, recorded the music at Livinston Studio 1 where Croft was able to play on a Steinway. Ray Staff mastered the album at Air Studios. "Ray is a living legend and was the chief mastering engineer at Trident Studios during the 70's. His work can be heard on many of the albums that have influenced me over the years."

'10 Reasons To...' is recorded by the band Triple Echo featuring renowned UK jazz musicians - Andy Davies (trumpet/flugelhorn), Benet McLean (violin), Henry Thomas (bass), Mario Castronari (double bass) and Tristan Mailliot & Saleem Raman (drums). It also marks the final work of the actor Peter Miles, a great friend of Croft's. "I have been a Doctor Who fan almost since day one. Peter can be seen in many classic episodes acting alongside Tom Baker and Jon Pertwee," says Croft. "Peter reads two extracts of poetry that book-end the album - '100 Years At Sea Introduction' and 'For Future Past'. The Doctor Who connection was kept with the artwork. Andrew Skilleter, famous for a multitude of book covers and video releases for the BBC, painted the album cover."

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers