Customer Discussions > The Hunger Games forum

Am I too old to enjoy this book?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-12 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 26 Mar 2012 20:01:19 BDT
ossian says:
Before everybody says "Yes, you can enjoy them at any age!" let me explain. I am not that old, I am a 21-year old student from Scotland, but I am worried that a book intended for teenagers might not hold my attention. I love the dystopian genre both film and books (Brazil is my favourite film), but I am used to reading more difficult novels, as I study literature at Uni.

What I want to ask is: are the characters, plot and writing style of "The Hunger Games" more simplistic (like a childrens' novel) or more complex (like an adult novel)?

Posted on 26 Mar 2012 22:07:07 BDT
Helen says:
Surely a book is either good or it isn't? Complex books can be dire, simple books brilliant. Buy it, read it and enjoy it.

Posted on 27 Mar 2012 12:07:43 BDT
I'm 33 and my friend at work is 41 and we both thought it was great !

Posted on 27 Mar 2012 22:29:05 BDT
Elin says:
Being 23 year old myself I have to say the plot, characters and writing style of the book are rather simplistic. I wouldn't say it's a children's novel (the content is too grim for that) but don't expect to be swept off your feet by vivid descriptions, well rounded characters and a complex plot. There is a lot of telling going on instead of showing. Basically you have to look at it as junk food. If you're looking for a book to kill a couple of hours with, you wouldn't do bad with THG. If you're looking for something more, you'll probably be disappointed.

Posted on 9 Apr 2012 04:44:47 BDT
ossian says:
Very helpful Elin! So THG is like those cool, but slightly cheesy, dystopian sci-fi films that I enjoy when I am in the mood for an
enjoyable but not too in-depth watch? I might give it a go, but it seems more like a borrow than a buy. Same for the film of the book.

Posted on 10 Apr 2012 08:58:52 BDT