Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2013
I have liked a couple of products from this company before and so this seemed to be a good "2 in 1" purchase. As it turns out I think I will use them separately - I will explain..

FIrstly though, I'll detail the packaging. It arrived next day from Amazon and was in a recycleable cardboard box - no plastic and no waste. Inside is the Case, keyboard, Micro USB charging cable, instruction booklet and returns information. Anker seem to like producing very small instuction booklets with tiny fonts - I'm not sure why.

The part I really like is the keyboard. It is a definite 5/5.

The on screen keyboard that is part of an ipad, is fine for most things, but if you have a long email to send or letter to write then an external keyboard will save you a lot of time and effort. The detatchable bluetooth keyboard is very easy to pair with your device. A 4 digit number comes up on the device screen and you type it in to the keyboard - that's it. The Bluetooth keyboard is light, responsive and for those of you used to Apple OS has several of the Apple "command/option type symbols" on the keys.

The keyboard is well built and has a solid feel. There is no separate 1-10 numeric keypad on the side, but that wasn't a problem for me. A massive added bonus is that the keyboard pairs eaily with my Apple TV and I can use it for searching rather than use the old fashioned apple TV "on screen" menu.

The other good thing about the detatchable keyboard is that it is magnetic. Firm enough not to fall off all the time, but not so strong that it is hard to take off.

For me though, I will probably keep the keyboard and the case separate. The reason is that with the keyboard attached it closes on to the screen of the Ipad and makes it just a little bulky. Also, I would usually only need the separate keyboard at home.

The case is a strong rigid plastic in very dark grey. The Ipad air fits very snugly in the case which protects the back as well as the front of the Ipad. There are the correct cut outs for the Ipad controls/ camera and headphone socket. It is a case rather than a stand. In a future generation that should maybe look at this.

The lid is hinged and protects the screen when folded back. I know that the Apple screen case has built in magnets which make the Ipad sleep when closed. This case does not have that and so you have to remember to press the sleep button to save battery life.

There is a very nicely designed closing flap which keeps the lid in place when not in use.

For a case/keyboard combined for less than £30 this was amazing value. I would say 5/5 for the keyboard and 4/5 for the case.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Received the Anker ultra slim folio keyboard case for the iPad Air yesterday. I dont have an iPad air just yet but going the get one on my 70th birthday in April. I paired the keyboard with my Original iPad 1. First time it wouldn't recognise the ipad with the four digit numbers on screen, second time it recognised it and a different 4 digit number came up on the screen. It works fine, keys are great and not too small. There is no lag when typing quite fast on the keyboard and the rechargeable battery is a great idea. All the keys are marked correctly so no problem in finding the £ sign. I wont be carrying the keyboard within the case very often so I will use the soft inside packing to protect the iPad and replace the empty space for the keyboard. I did notice today that the price has dropped by £5 so wish I had waited another day before ordering it.
The instructions are concise and the packaging is re-cycle so that is also a good idea. I do a lot of writing, stories and poems, and use email many times every day. The keyboard instantly reacts quickly whenever I am writing or sending emails and it works with all the APPS on my iPad. The magnets hold the keyboard very securely on the case and support the iPad angle which can easily be adjusted by moving the keyboard.
So far I am very satisfied with my purchase and can't wait to get my iPad Air in April.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
I was looking for a keyboards and case in one, as my job entails a lot of typing.

After doing a lot of research, it was between this Anker Case/Keyboard, Belkin Qode and Zagg Zaggkeys Folio.

I decided to go for this case as it had a removable keyboard.

My main concern was that the keyboard magnet wouldn't be very strong and would constantly fall off. However, this is certainly not the case, the keyboard is very securely attached.

The auto on/off feature is fantastic as it works with and without the keyboard, it has a light for low charge, and caps lock.

The quality is absolutely stunning, makes it look very professional and formal, always proud to show it off!

Keyboard layout is normal, which is not the case with the Belkin Qode. Just getting used to the keyboard, as it is a little small, but that is expected.

The "stand" is absolutely fantastic, works at a nearly vertical angle.

If there was one recommendation, that would be to have a slot in the keyboard, so the ipad doesn't wobble if it is placed in the lap.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this case, and would definitely purchase one for my next iPad.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This was almost the cheapest I saw on Amazon. I had just bought myself an iPad for Christmas and couldn't afford a dear keyboard aswell. But I had no experience of the iPad either: I didn't know if it was going to be my cup of tea. It's great. and since I got the keyboard, I tried another €90 in the shop. Between the two, this one exceeds it by far. Great feel to the keys quite responsive. Easy to set up.
The keyboard is magnetised to the cover and it will fall off if man handled or knocked. Otherwise, it is very convenient to pull away from the cover and type at a more comfortable distance. It took a bit of getting used to, but I can type very fast on it now.
I'm very pleased with it. Well worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
I've tried one or two bluetooth keyboards and this one seems to pretty much beat them. This keyboard case has quite a lot of attention to detail, and this is also the first ios optimised keyboard I've used so far. What surprised me was the addition of ios specific buttons. This includes a home button and lock switch. It even has media controls to control audio. The dedicated buttons make this case so much easier to use and enjoy

The Case feels rigid and is ideal for use as the keyboard is magnetically attached to it allowing you to remove the keyboard and use the iPad as a proper "laptop". I constantly write notes for work and so the computer styled setup makes this really easy. In addition to this, the way the case can fold up allows you to use this as a stand for enjoying movies. This makes sharing videos with my family over christmas that much easier.

If I were to express any concerns, it would be the strength of the keyboard by itself. Anker has somehow made this keyboard impossibly thin, but as a result the keyboard can flex quite a lot and it could even snap. In addition to this the flip cover doesn't wake or lock the iPad so I don't think this case has the magnets required for that.

I've already dropped my iPad about 75cm and it seems to be fine, so the at least the case does its job properly. As a keyboard case it does make the whole unit thicker than I would have liked but I can understand that it cant get any smaller. The soft coating was useful when it dropped as I heard a muffled bang as opposed to a harsh noise that makes you feel the worst has happened to your tablet.

All in all, its a fairly decent product and seems to be quite good value for money. The keyboard would be worth £20 and the case is well worth the £10 left over. In effect, its a pretty good bundle deal.

The good service and product made me get another case for the iPad 2. Its very similar and has dedicated buttons for ios control instead of having to use the existing buttons. I can personally vouch for both these cases being extremely well made and as I said earlier, its already saved me once.

I've bought quite a few products from Anker I can say that this product keeps the build quality of their products consistent which is pretty good.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I have given this item 5 stars, as yet again Anker has provided a no nonsense useful technology support product. As usual it arrived in the minimalistic recycled packaging that is standard for their produce. From the start of unpacking the case, to using it with my iPad air took all of about 5 minutes....well maybe a little bit more as I stopped to read the instructions/description. These were clear and simple if a little brief.

The case as has been commented by other is exactly as described and there is only one minor gripe is that the magnetic tab if left obscures the screen a little. (solved by tucking it between the clasp lining and the case). It remains to be seen as to whether this will damage either.

As to the keyboard itself, it is well made compact but very useable, with a very satisfying click on tapping a key, so that you know it has registered. I have yet to get completely used to the compact nature, but am confident that will come with time.

So to summarise, another good product from Anker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Excellent product, fantastic support. First unit I had looked great and the keyboard worked well, but failed to shut down iPad when closed. Keyboard also failed to automatically connect to the iPad when it was switched on. Because the keyboard worked so well, and the case is really nicely set up, I was going to put up with the deficiencies. But Anker offered to completely replace the unit free of charge and they didn't even ask me to send the old unit back. Fantasic service. The new unit is now completely functional and has become an essential part of my iPad set-up. The only downside to the new unit was that the base was not covered with the non-slip material that was on the first unit, but I switched them around; the non-slip material is essential to allow the screen to be set at any angle, so make sure yours has it. This aside, this is just a great product.

Since I first wrote this I have been using the keyboard/cover pretty much continuously and it is still brilliant. I am really surprised at a couple of the negative reviews - especially those complaining the speed of connecting keyboard to iPad via Bluetooth, as I find this to be incredibly good (and the keyboard shuts itself down if you forget to switch the switch saving battery life).

Anker may be interested that I made a modification. Unfortunately I dropped the unit a few weeks ago. It saved the iPad, but the shell that holds the iPad broke. Luckily, because of Anker's previous generosity (see above), I had the old case as backup. So I removed the shell from that case and the I attached it with Velcro strips to the new case. This is now a brilliant set up as I can take the iPad in and out of the case with ease (which is not so easy to do if removing from the shell completely) and the iPad remains somewhat protected. Even better, it now allows me to attach the iPad to Velcro strips where ever I want it. So far have done this only in the car (as a sat nav), but I can imagine using this facility in many circumstances. So, Anker, maybe you should think about this as a possible alternative product (not everyone will want it, it makes the case a little 'fatter' because of the width of the Velcro strips). Just a thought. I can send pics!???
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I have used many products from Anker before and always found them to be very well made. This iPad case is no different with great packaging and instructions included inside the box.

This case aims to offer screen protection and a Bluetooth keyboard while remaining as light as possible. The plastic frame's design allows for easy installation, and does a reasonable job of protecting an iPad's edges without intruding into the bezels. The Inset cuts permit access to ports, buttons, and switches and these are all really easy to get to and use.

The case is closed by a magnetic clasp and it is really strong which means you do not have to worry about your iPad falling out into your bag when carrying it around. The keyboard is also excellent with the keys being well-spaced and reasonably large, making them about as easy to type on as any laptop.

The front of the case is a hard plastic that feels pretty solid. The keyboard is completely detachable as it is magnetic which is a very nice feature as its so easy to take it on and off. The battery on the keyboard also seems to last a very long time as I have only charged it once since using it.

The iPad positioning is also good as you can have it at any angle that you want.

Overall great product and I highly recommend for £30 as it is a lot cheaper than the competitors, which from what I can work out look to be very similar. 5/5
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
The case looks good, all black, carbon fibre-esque, manly. Is robust and, this morning, saved my iPad from a quantity of orange squash being slopped on to it.

Unfortunately that's all the plus points. The major problem is the flex in the spine of the case. When you are carrying it (if you have the screen lock sounds enabled) you get a constant "click, click" sound as the magnetic screen cover locks and unlocks the screen. As the main battery draw on a mobile device is from the screen, the drain is significant.
If you keep the magnetic keyboard (whose rear seems to be made from cardboard) in place you add about 50% to the cases bulk and stop the screen from automatically locking.

Whilst I'm complaining, the keyboard takes about a minute to pair with the iPad each time you switch it on. By which time I have given up and am using the perfectly capable screen keyboard.

It's a case (excuse the pun) of style over substance. Don't be tight, spend more on an apple case, unless you don't like quality, functionality or battery life.

Anker should stick to their fantastic battery products.

29/4/14
The cover delaminated this morning and the plastic case that i thought was robust, isn't. it cracked and split. i'm afraid that it now resides in landfill. i should have returned it but I had a paddy and chucked it. now i have an authentic carbon fibre case from "extreme" . its half the weight and looks even more priapic.

star rating now revised to a 1 star because one cannot give a zero.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This is a great piece of kit! I love that the keyboard is removable and works quite some distance from the screen. So you can set up your most comfortable working position. They keyboard seems solid. It connects on Bluetooth without a problem and I can type at full speed (touch typist - mostly) without issue. I don't write novels or anything, so I can't say how well it would work over several hours of use, but I've no reason to think it would get unbearable.

The folio does at a bit of bulk to the iPad Air of course, but more noticable is the weight. It seems substantially heavier, but the keyboard feels light. So I'm assuming its the case itself. Its pretty solid though. I feel my machine is now adequetly protected. I did have a folio/keyboard for my old iPad 2 and it got benched quickly. This one has been on my Air for some weeks now.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)