Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2012
Delivery as all the other reviews have mentioned was excellent - I was helped to unpack and lift the treadmill out of the box given a quick run down of the assembly (I didn't pay for setup so this was a very nice touch).

It took no more 30 minutes to assemble. I used pliers to hold two of the nuts in place, without this it may have been a little fiddly with the provided multi-spanner.

Instructions are decent, the guides to assemble and maintain are handy especially as I needed to adjust the belt initially, which was a couple of turns of an alum key.

Lubricant needs to be applied under the running belt during periodic maintenance which has been included in the pack.

The actual sturdiness feels very similar to what you find in a gym. Speed and incline are very good. I hit around 12-13 kph (7.5-8.0 mph) when I hit my limit and cannot go much faster (or I could but it would be like running down the side of a hill where your feet go faster than they should!).

There is two sets of speed and incline buttons on the arm rails and on the display. Also, you can jump to 3, 6, 9, 12 kph or incline at a push of a button, very handy for interval training.

Included are hand weights and a water bottle which are both very good quality and durable.

A few negatives, but they don't detract from the 5 star rating based upon price Vs quality/service.

Cut off cord - very easy to snag because it has little resistance other than a small magnet.

No pause button meaning even a short break will reset your progress unless you leave the motor running.

No physical copy of the programs manual although it was emailed to me upon request.

The programs are highly under-tuned. Speed programs have walking at 1-2 kph (0.6-1.2 mph) for up to 6 minutes continuously.
Every speed and incline program includes on at least 6 x 1.5 min x 1-2 kph intervals.
I could understand if there were more challenging programs to accompany which keeps a higher minimum, but they don't.
In defense the program manual does state "The programs are designed for beginner and intermediate levels, for advanced training please use the manual program...."

If there was a pause button and better tuned interval programs then they would have been the icing on the cake. For me, I am more than happy with my purchase.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
Ordered the treadmill because it met my budget and functionality requirements. Also received an email from Maxima to, confirming my order requirements. The treadmill was delivered on the due date, and I had it assembled within 15mins. The booklet is straightforward, and operation of the treadmill is simple, which is what I wanted.

The programmes all work, with plenty of variety so that you don't get bored with the routine. Used my ipod with the speakers, and they are clear and a reasonable volume. Folding away the treadmill is a simple one person operation that takes 5 seconds.

The running surface is fairly large and comfortable to walk / run on, and the structure of the treadmill is solid and looks very durable. Incline and speed are easily adjusted on the hand rails too, which makes life a bit easier. Also tried the heart measurement, which works fine.

Received detailed programme information from maxima on the exact incline / speed profile for each programme, which allows you to identify your favourite programmes.

Superb treadmill and excellent service, recommended without hesitation.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
This treadmill is great. I spent ages looking round for a treadmill as i have used them in the gym but never owned my own one. I looked on other websites before Amazon. But i kept getting drawn back to this treadmill and company. The reviews on here stood out and really made this treadmill appealing. So i decided to go with my gut an purchase.
I am not disappointed in my decision. Maxima called me to arrange a convenient delivery day for me. I ended up opting for there set up option (small additional cost compared to the added service). They delivered when they said they would into my upstairs room. Set the treadmill up and showed me how to use and even how to look after it. I was very impressed by the young lad that did this.
I really didn't believe the other reviews about how great maxima fitness customer service was. But I can honestly say that i was blown away. The best I've had in a long while.
The treadmill itself works and looks great. Haven't used all the programmes yet but they all seem good even if a little short. But a small issue as normally i just set a timer on it for a 30min run and then speed up and slow down and raise and lower the treadmill my self. The weights i haven't really used but can see how they would help. Oh and one more thing. Having the additional buttons on the arm rails is a great idea, so easy to use.
To sum it up, i think the treadmill is great, i think my decision to buy this model was the right one and can't fault the customer service, which is really refreshing in this day and age!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
The Maxima Treadmill was delivered on time by two delightful men who took the trouble to set it up properly and explain to us the minor adjustments we could make to the running belt. They did not leave until they knew we were happy and understood their explanations and the treadmill has worked perfectly ever since with a little minor adjustment as they suggested. We use the treadmill every day and find it really excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending Maxima Treadmills, not only for how good the product is but also how excellently it was delivered and set up for us in the room of our choice.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Let me start by saying this is a great treadmill, it’s very solid and robust. On first use the belt slipped a little below 5kph but that stopped after a couple of uses. In operation the motor is smooth and pretty quiet. It’s plenty fast enough for me as a casual runner and feels just as good quality as the ones I had been using at the gym. I don’t use the weights but they are a nice touch if you want a little arm workout while running. The speaker is ok but nothing special for playing music, I much prefer to wear headphones so I can feel more immersed and not have to listen to my feet pounding on the footplate. I tried the incline and it goes to a decent level but it’s not something I would really use often so can’t comment on how good it is in practise. I can imagine it would be good for simulated hill walking.
I have knocked a star off because the manual and listing say it has 40 programs but there is nothing supplied to tell you what they are. I can pick a program on the control panel but I have no idea what it is going to do while I’m running. I have tried emailing Maxima for a program list but had no reply from them. Just hope they are not the same if there is a problem with the runner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
I exaggerate not to say maxima is without doubt the worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with and I question the safety of their treadmills, and god only help you if/when a treadmill goes wrong. Also be aware that maxima operates out of an industrial unit and if you are lucky enough to get them to answer your calls or return your messages it from the one woman who is extremely unreliable and her excuses are longer than your arm, and she is extremely sarcastic and unprofessional.

I bought a new maxima treadmill about 3.5 years ago and it had very little use from wife, who is no where near the maximum weight limit, and only used it set on a fast walking pace. So it realistically hasn't had the equivalent of 6 months reasonable use by just one person.

The maxima treadmill stopped working and a burning type smell came from it. I called maxima many times as my answerphone message was ignored. I eventually spoke to the woman in question who asked if I was okay at DIY, and I said that I was so she said ahe would send me a new IC board and that it was just 4 screws that held the cover protecting the motor and electrics. The board arrived and I changed that, but smoke then started coming out of the motor, so I immediately switched of the power, and tried to contact maxima. As before my messages were ignored and I had to keep calling until the same woman eventually answered and said the phone line was down and she was taking the calls from home. How odd that would be the case when the phone rang as normal and the answerphone message was working, surely she wasn't telling me lies?

I explained to the woman what had happened with regards smoke comg out of the motor. As the motor has a 5 year warranty I asked if an engineer could come out and replace the motor, but I was told that it would be quicker if I Replaced it myself. I agreed to this in order to avoid a longer wait, and a week later the motor still hadn't arrived. Again I kept calling before I eventually spoke to the same woman, who said she would check where it was and call me back. No surpise that she didn't call back, and when I managed to get hold of her she informed me that the courier lost the motor (really). She sent me a motor, and when it arrived it I fitted it and when it partially worked it made a very loud noise and sparks came out the motor. Even when it worked in this condition, it had little power because as soon as I stepped on the treadmill it would cut out or struggle to turn. The motor most certainly doesn't look new, and based on it's performance it is likely to be an old used motor.

I made the woman in question aware of the situation, and she said she would speak to the MD and attempt to get me a new treadmill. I was at least pkeased with this offer and thought the matter was finally going to be satisfactorily resolved. I should have known better, because I again had to keep chasing the maxima woman who informed me that the machine was out of warranty and they couldn't get me a new one. Maxima delivered, supplied and installed my treadmill, but apparently they had no record of it?

I asked for an engineer to then be sent to me, and after lots effort on my part, I was refused an engineer unless I paid £99.50 up front. I explained that the motor had a 5 year warranty and I only offered to fit the faulty used one she sent me because she said it would be quicker me doing it than her sending me an engineer. She said that there was nothing else she could do apart from contact taiwan and let me know what they said.

The maxima woman had said someone from maxima had emailed me, but I assured her they haven't. I was also told the MD would call me, but in true maxima style, still no call or emails.

So 7 weeks later I have a useless treadmill, and despite numerous phone calls, and around a dozen emails, it still doesn't work and the 5 year motor warranty they refuse to honour.

I will be taking this matter further, but I cannot believe what dreadful service maxima has provided me. They believe it acceptable to tell customers how to remove the electrical cover, and fit an IC board and motor themselves. Surely it is very dangerous to encourage unqualified and unskilled persons to be playing around with mains power connections?

I will update what the eventual outcome is, but be warned what service to expect if your maxima treadmill breaks down.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
This machine is honestly fantastic. The mechanic came and set it up for me and gave me a complete run through of how to use it properly, and sent a booklet containing 84 different training modules. There are 5 of us in the family and every one of us have used it virtually every day without any problems whatsoever. The mechanic also said that should I have any problems or simply forget how to fold it / use it / make the most of it / whatever, I was to call him and he would pop round as soon as possible. I recommend this machine to anyone, great value for money and fantastic aftercare. Can't do much better for the price.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
I had never been on a treadmill before I got this so when I say 'awesome' I'm perhaps not best qualified to judge. However from my limited position - it's brilliant and I consider it money well spent. Haven't got a lot of money but consider this purchase as a health investment and am not disappointed.
Plenty of programmes to choose from and then the option to just get on and go. All the controls are user friendly and obvious. It's well built and appears sturdy. I'm not sure if it's noisy or not, neighbours haven't complained yet! I'm not sure I'd want it in an upstairs room though, mine is in the conservatory which is great because its out of the way when not in use. However it does fold up which reduces the space it takes up quite a bit (dah! Obviously) I paid extra and the delivery chaps (two really friendly helpful guys) sorted it all out and explained the workings and maintenance necessary and after sales service available, which was reassuring and extremely helpful.
Have got to say that from the initial contact made by this firm to the delivery (well within the allocated slot) and the examination of the product - all inspire confidence and exemplify quality.
If you're wondering, 'go for it' ! I accept it's not cheap but it's certainly worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
I purchased this treadmill because I am running the Great North Run in September and I needed a treadmill for my tempo and speed work, so needless to say it's took some real punishment since I brought it a few weeks ago. First of all the service from Maxima Fitness was second to none, I got a call with a delivery date and time and the free set up service was excellent. The treadmill itself is a really good sturdy product, it is not to big, but doesn't feel flimsy when your running on it. The speed and incline functions work really well and I feel they are more than sufficient for any home running plan. I have also done some long runs on the machine and it has stood up really well to the continued use, it has not shown any sign of overheating and the belt has not started to slip, as I have found in other machines on long runs. Overall this machine is great value for money and I can wholeheartedly recommend it and Maxima Fitness.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Having read previous reviews and done some research I purchased this treadmill. It was delivered on time, as promised by Maxima Fitness who took the time to contact me personally by telephone about delivery and customer support.
Unpacking and setting up was easier than I'd expected and if you cut away all the packaging (especially the sides of the box base) and are working on carpet one person can complete the installation without lifting the unit at any point (just slide). It took me about 40 minutes to have the treadmill up and running (forgive the pun) by myself. I followed through the belt adjustment instructions, none was required, and was using the treadmill within an hour of delivery.
Why not 5 stars?
Oddly the 10 page guide to the 48 built-in programmes is not supplied by default, but is free on request. The only other issue is that for a tall person with a long stride (I'm 6' 2", 1m 88cm)the treadmill deck is a little short but maybe that's just me getting used to it. I've only had the treadmill for 6 days and intend to update this in the light of longer use and more experience.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)