Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
354
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2013
Great product. I weigh just above 11 stones/70kg and can only manage do 5 pull ups in a row at the moment (I'm weak)
- I have fitted the pull up bar on the door frame without the screws.
- The pull up bar is very secure and tight and does not slip or slide on the door frame.

Delivery: Product arrived in 3 days after I placed the order. It was delivery by Parcelforce and requires a signature upon delivery.

Recommended!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I received this a couple of weeks ago and it has been happily staying up in my kitchen door frame ever since. My 16 year old son put it up with no screws and without looking at the instructions (in true male style). 20 seconds of twisting and it was solidly in place. We make sure when we use it that our grip is sympathetic to tightening the bar further. No problems so far and it feels solid and good quality (especially considering the price).

A couple of recommendations to people putting it up:

1. Make sure that the surface is even and wide enough that the end can fit fully and flush against the frame
2. Ensure that the door frame used is solid
3. Twist until the pole is tightly in place
4. Always ensure that you exercise such that any twist continues to tighten the pole

If you do these things, I see no reason why this should fall down for anybody within the specified weight range. One of the best value and most successful products I have bought on Amazon!
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
I bought this to go with my p90x program and it's awesome! Put it up in about 2 minutes with just friction fitting - I didn't want to use the screws and potentially damage the door. I was a bit skeptical that it would hold my weight at first with only friction but it's super-strong and totally doesn't even move or bend at all. The other good things are a) that it can go ad high or low in your doorway as you like so it's good for tall people (not a problem for me at 5'1" but potentially a problem for others); b) you don't need a doorway with wide architraving; and c) it's totally unobtrusive so you can just leave it up and not have to take it up and down if you're lazy like me. Super-impressed for such a cheap price!
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I was looking for a pull up bar that is left no marks and didn't damage the walls in any way, this product does exactly that. 5/5
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
very good, strong bar, only problem is that the hand grips are too narrow and fixed in position so i prefer to just place my hands slightly wider on the metal which is obviously less comfortable, but works for me
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
fits in most doorways, however one will never be able to do very wide pull ups and unfortunately the foam grips are too close for pull for my liking but good for chin ups, gets the job done
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Does what it says it does, what more can I ask? You can extend the bar (both ends - not sure how people haven't figured out that you can keep the grips centered) by twisting it. I put some cardboard up against each end so it doesn't leave black streaks on my door frame. Unfortunately, I only did this AFTER it left black streaks on my door frame...

The bar holds up well without using any screws. It fits in my door frame (I haven't measured it, but it's... normal width) nicely. When using it, I like to switch my grip semi frequently between pull ups and chin ups, as each one naturally tends to twist the bar in one direction. Do too many chin ups, the bar comes lose and you fall on your arse. Do too many pull ups, the bar extends too far and starts straining the wood in your door frame. This is the nature of these twist-to-extend pull up bars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I love this pull up bar. I have put it up in the doorway without the screws and just used pressure to hold it up. It easily holds 15 stone, just need to make sure always use it from the side that will tighten not loosen. The screws are so small I didn't see the point of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
As this was my first ever Amazon purchase and the fact that there's a whole catalogue of pull up bars to choose from online, I was quite sceptical to say the least that this bar would work well for me. But boy it's worked wonders!

The bar itself took 2 minutes to setup against the door frame and comes with screws that I haven't needed to use because it supports my bodyweight (167lbs) fine.

Results:

In 3 weeks I was able to do 5 times as many pull ups from when I started. I get a nice pump after 3-4 sets of pull ups and can really feel my triceps, biceps and lats working. The most surprising physical change is that my abs have become more defined from the tension on the core. No complaints there..

Ultimately you can't go wrong with the Bodymax pull up bar. There isn't a great variety of pull ups that you can alternate between, and the rubber padding has a tendancy to leave black marks on your door frame (can be washed off with a cloth) but I would definitely recommend this bar if your looking for an incentive to be more physically active and just tone your body.

Suleiman, 17 - London
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
It arrived, and the pull up bar was very easy to set up. It easily holds my weight, but it is much more challenging than I intitially thought. Good for building arm strength at home. Just place it in between the door and you are set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 40 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)