Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2012
I have bought this camera as soon as the new update for my TV 47LM860 had a Skype on it. I did not buy it from Amazon. Camera came in a nice box, similar design to the 3d glasses box. It is a very good quality item, matching the silver TV design. It has a magnetic holder (bottom bar) that you can stick to the back of the edge of the TV all around the perimeter and USB plug (over 1m long) in to the dedicated USB socket marked (Apps) on my TV. But the top edge is the dedicated place for you camera as you can not change orientation of the camera display in settings (yet??). camera lens is in the middle of the top bar and 2 microphones on both sides of the lens.
I am using Skype quite a lot. Quality of the picture is very good. Very wide angle, but has 4 zoom settings to magnify the picture. 2m away from the TV 3 people can comfortably fit in to the picture at widest setting.
The other side did not complain about bad sound quality nor picture quality.
When camera is transmitting the picture it ll have a red light on it.
you can only use Skype application when you have camera connected to your TV.
If you exit from the Skype by using the Home button it will not log you out from Skype and you will see people trying to call you any time when you are watching your TV. And you will not have to log in again in to the Skype.
I wish the cost of the camera was a bit less.
The camera is suitable to use on your PC (tested on windows 7) but with Skype i could not get the red light to work...
Recommended if you will use Skype on your TV. LG TV...
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Once Amazon had sorted out the delivery....lost in transit the first time..the camera arrived, fitted via usb into the television, an LG 47LM960V, and was recognised immediately.
Small enough to be unobtrusive on the top edge and sits on a magnetic adjustable hinged pad. The camera works great with Skype with several functions for zoom, light balance, colour etc.
The camera also recognises movement (a bit like a Kinetic unit for Xbox) and volume and channels can be changed by holding your hand up and moving over the icon to change, then closing your hand to change.
The microphones range is great and the whole family can sit in front of the television and Skype.The only issue to me is the price, and this is the ONLY camera that this television will recognise as the drivers are pre-installed by LG, therefore no choice!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
LG said I needed the VC400 camera, when buying Amazon advised that there was a newer model the VC500 ... Which I bought, and immediately returned, as it didn't work ....... Since advised by LG ....the VC500 is not a newer version of the VC400 ... Each camera is designed for a different range of models of TV which each run on different operating systems....... They are not inter-changeable, and each specific camera will only work on a specific range of tv's ( there is also a VC300 for even earlier ranges )

I returned the £70 VC500 camera to Amazon immediately .... But !!! ... did not order the replacement VC400 from them ..... Why ??? ........ Amazon wanted £120 for the VC400 ( £50 more than the VC500 ) Plus on various European Amazon sites the prices were £80 ...... I asked Amazon to explain why their UK price was 50% higher than their own prices in Germany, despite asking three times, they have yet to provide a reasonable explanation.

LG in the UK do not sell, however it is available on Lg.com - USA for $99 approx £60 so if you are going on holiday or have a contact in USA, or Canada you could save.... It's easy to order on LG USA and $99 worked out at £59.34 Likewise if you have Polish contacts - it is available there for £58

Whilst I would have paid the general price to amazon £70-80, their different UK price £120, left a very bad taste ....

Link to LG USA store
[...]
Link to Comparison Site for other Euro Options incl Poland
[...]

Update to my previous review.

Finally bought from Germany, total cost £92 incl fast courier ..... saving of 25% on UK Price £120 ....... Comparison site skinflint co uk / eu showed all euro options .....(make sure you add /eu or you will only get uk options) ...put in lg electronics an vc 400 and given several choices ......I bought from Amazon in Germany, via a marketplace seller, even logged in with my normal Amazon id, and one click purchasing identical, plus converted euro price to £ .... Cost me 99.90 and p&p 8.99 total 108.89 = £92.00 ..........Simple ......odd word not sure of, I used google uk homepage, app at top called translate and checked ..... virtually identical payment buttons to the uk site, very easy ....... Finally, sender brilliant, sent immediately 1st Class, received it in 2 days...... Re the camera : VC400 fantastic piece of kit ..... really, really good. Love the way you can keep it logged on in background whilst watching tv, and accept calls if they come in ..... Great for my hubby to use as he always has the tv on, whilst he may not switch on the laptop.

P.s. Amazon do sell the VC400 despite people thinking they do not ......but it is called LG Video Camera for Skype Calls and is £120 ... the VC400 bit is only mentioned in the description..... This is what I used for my price comparisons
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Very very good camera, a lot of money though, worked great on skype but Mic needs to be better as sitting 2Mtr away from TV you need to talk loud.
Plenty of control settings to have it do what you want.
If it were not the Mic letting it down I would have 5 starred it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Good picture, although the microphones don't seem to be very sensitive. Plug and play is excellent, with no set up required. My biggest problem is that the camera moves up and down ok, but doesn't swivel. This means that if you fix it to the top of the TV, it points wherever the TV faces. So if your chair is not directly in front of the telly the camera won't pick you up. Considering the price of it, I don't think it's very good value for money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I have bought this camera as soon as the new update for my TV 47LM860 had a Skype on it. I did not buy it from Amazon. Camera came in a nice box, similar design to the 3d glasses box. It is a very good quality item, matching the silver TV design. It has a magnetic holder (bottom bar) that you can stick to the back of the edge of the TV all around the perimeter and USB plug (over 1m long) in to the dedicated USB socket marked (Apps) on my TV. But the top edge is the dedicated place for you camera as you can not change orientation of the camera display in settings (yet??). camera lens is in the middle of the top bar and 2 microphones on both sides of the lens.
I am using Skype quite a lot. Quality of the picture is very good. Very wide angle, but has 4 zoom settings to magnify the picture. 2m away from the TV 3 people can comfortably fit in to the picture at widest setting.
The other side did not complain about bad sound quality nor picture quality.
When camera is transmitting the picture it ll have a red light on it.
you can only use Skype application when you have camera connected to your TV.
If you exit from the Skype by using the Home button it will not log you out from Skype and you will see people trying to call you any time when you are watching your TV. And you will not have to log in again in to the Skype.
I wish the cost of the camera was a bit less.
The camera is suitable to use on your PC (tested on windows 7) but with Skype i could not get the red light to work...
Recommended if you will use Skype on your TV. LG TV...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
This product is perfect when i call my friends around the world!
When you are seated and watching TV its easy to answer to a incoming call!
Buy one for yourself right now
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
one word....SUPERB both camera and microphone. Extremely pleased. Good wide angle. Great product for Skype etc. Excellent resolution. Great zoom function so you can set the camera as you would like it. Microphone does a very good pickup. If you need a camera for your TV then trust this one. Its good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I was reticent about buying this because of its cost but I am really glad I did.

Absolutley excellent piece of kit . Very much plug and play so up and running in minutes.

Its also of high quality build and with its magnetic connection easy to fix to the tv. Great buy all round
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Just Brilliant! I wasn't expecting it to be this good to be honest. I know LG make decent kit (which is why I bought their TV) but I thought this was going to be an overpriced bit of throwaway gadgetry as another way to get a few more quid out of you. Nope...its really good. The picture and sound quality are great. I prefer the image that I get through this camera to the image I get through my Xbox One Kinect, its warmer and less grainy.

The Skype app on the TV is also better than the app on the Xbox One in terms of features (You can set up a conference call straight away rather than by adding people one-by-one to an existing call, you can choose where to zoom the camera to (different zoom lengths as well as different directions) and you can change the way the video is shared on the screen (side-by-side with your camera's picture or the TV etc).

You log into the app once and then simply leave it. If anyone calls, it just pops up on the TV and you just hit OK and it all goes through in one click :)

I don't think i'll be updating my TV unless it comes with a camera built-in and i've tried and tested the Skype functionality as i'd really miss this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)