Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

1,026
4.2 out of 5 stars
TP-LINK TL-WR702N Universal N Nano Travel Router/Wi-Fi Range Extender/TV, Gaming Set-top Adapter with USB Charger
Style Name: 150 Mbps Wi-Fi Router/ExtenderChange
Price:£16.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2013
I wish I had bought this device sooner! I moved into a university residence complex of apartments in September where internet is supplied only by Ethernet, which left me with the problem of not being able to use my Android phone or tablet online.

After some searching I found that the TP Link 702N was the device I needed; when the package arrived I couldn't get over how tiny the device actually is, and come with a flat short Ethernet cable and a mains plug that can also power the device by USB if you so wish. Setting up is effortless, you don't have to go near the admin panel of the router if you don't want to, plug in and play, the device itself is preconfigured as an access point, which is the function I require. Setting up on my devices was a matter of entering the default password found underneath the device on a sticker, although it is advisable to change this through the routers admin page; as too is maybe not broadcasting the SSID if you don't want anybody snooping on your network.

In summary this is a brilliant device with so many functions for the price, highly recommended!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 10 March 2015
I am not sure why some folk have had difficulty with this item and getting it to work as it does so very much out of the box.
This is what I did to set it up as an access point as I am off on holiday so want to ensure I have Wi-Fi in my room and do not have to rely on a wired connection. There are other configurations if you wish.
At home plug the cable (supplied)into the Lan socket on device plug the other end of the cable into your wireless or wired router. Plug unit into the wall socket (mains). Open your wireless laptop ipad or iphone go to Wi-Fi settings and look for the SSID name (it will be TP-Link*****) click on this and then enter the password or pass code that is on the label on the unit. You will connect to it. Open your browser and type in to the address bar http://tplinklogin.net and you will then access the router set up pages (to access the default user name is admin and password is admin)then you can choose the mode of use and change to more personal passwords/usernames. -job is done. Disconnect and restart and connect with the new pass code and you are good to go. There are perfectly good written instructions and a small CD ROM which is superfluous to my mind.
Fab bit of kit - well done TP-Link!

This may be helpful to some
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/710000/Tp-Link-Tl-Wr710n.html
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 14 April 2014
I live in student accommodation, where our internet connection is a single Internet socket with a long Ethernet cable, before buying this not only was it difficult to watch Netflix in bed, it was hazardous to my life, as I seemed to trip on it at every opportunity. This tiny router changed all that, and it really is tiny. The photos give you an idea of the size, however pulling it out of the box for the first time and feeling how little it weighs does initially cause you to wonder if you perhaps just bought a tiny box of air.
The main reason I bought this however, more than its small dimensions, is a peculiarity of student internet, in that you have to register the MAC address of your device, which means you can only have one device connected and that it had to be my laptop. This little imposter, can be set to mimic the MAC address of my laptop. Meaning I am free to allow friends to connect to the internet as well as myself by just signing them into my network. This however is where a star is lost, the instructions were a little tricky to follow, and it took me some time to figure out how to make it work.
It is worth noting that the cables are very short. About half a meter I think (1 foot 8 inches for anyone who hasn't made the switch to metric). I think its great to have a short internet cable. Most people have a rats nest of long cables behind computers and routers that connect devices immediately next to each other. I can see the short USB cable being problematic for some. if you are like me and rely on an Ethernet socket rather than cable broadband there may not be power close to your Ethernet. It powers from micro USB style connectors, so if you have an old phone cable that is of that type, it could be used as a replacement, if not then i suggest you find the cheapest Micro USB cable, or USB extension cable you can find and buy that too. As it doesn't use the USB for data, only power a cheap one will function perfectly.
I have not been able to try out the other functions such as wireless receiving, however It would be great as a wireless adaptor for games consoles or computers that don't have WIFI, as its multifunctional if that role becomes redundant it can easily be re-purposed.
To conclude I think this is fantastic, its small light and works continuously without problem, and I can now binge episodes of breaking bad without risk to life and limb
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
94 of 102 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2013
I bought this router from Amazon to use with my SKY+HD box instead of the Wireless Connector offered by Sky. I decided to buy this as not only was it cheaper, it has a higher maximum rate 150Mbps vs 130Mbps of the Sky offering and isn't locked down so could be used with other equipment. It was easy to setup and works flawlessly giving good speeds. The version I bought from Amazon came with a UK plug as I noticed some reviews mention those from other suppliers coming with a European plug. I chose to set it up in client mode (think glorified wifi dongle) rather than any of the other options as this seemed most appropriate for my setup. Overall I found it easy to use and setup and very versatile although the documentation barely mentioned client mode and I already have a TP-Link WR1043ND so am familiar with their web interface. The information for doing this is a bit vague so here is how I got it working (I dropped a star from the rating because the documentation would be confusing for someone who doesn't understand the basics of setting up a wi-fi router)

Setting it up for use with Sky+HD On-Demand (formerly Anytime+)
===============================================================
ON YOUR MAIN ROUTER (Virgin SuperHub, Sky etc.)
1. Note your routers IP Address and mask e.g. 192.168.0.x, 255.255.255.0
2. If you have a wireless access list setup make sure you add the WR702N's MAC address to the allowed list.
3. Add the router WR702N to your DHCP reserved address list e.g. 192.168.0.254

ON THE WR702N
1. Connect it via the ethernet cable to your computer and disable wifi on your computer so that the ethernet is the only network connection
2. Point your browser at 192.168.0.254
3. Login with admin as the user and password (you may want to change the password)
4. During the setup select client mode
5. When prompted for an IP address ensure that it is in the same subnet as your router e.g. if your router address is 192.168.1.x then make the WR702N address 192.168.1.254 for example
6. Ensure the subnet mask is the same as your router e.g. 255.255.255.0
7. Set the default gateway to the address of your router e.g. 192.168.1.1
8. When prompted reboot the router you can log back into it via the address you chose above e.g. 192.168.1.254

ON THE SKY+HD BOX
Ignore anything on the sky site about activating on-demand you just have to set it up on the box
1. Plug the ethernet cable into the green ethernet socket on the back of the box do not plug it into the WR702N yet.
2. Connect the WR702N to the power supply (the usb socket on the sky box isn't powered so you may need to use a plug)
3. Go to the services menu and select the network page
4. Plug the ethernet cable into the WR702N and wait a minute
5. The network page should detect the network and which point just follow the onscreen instructions.
6. If any of the options on the page say fail just unplug and re-plug in the ethernet cable to the WR702N.

Hope this helps someone who is trying to set one of these up with Sky.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
on 6 May 2012
I have had this piece of kit running on my LAN for about two weeks now and it has performed brilliantly.

1. If you do not configure this piece of kit at all, but just a. plug it into a working ethernet-RJ45 connection and b. just power up by powering it over USB this gadget will automatically start working as an access point. Just make sure you plug in the net first and then the power. This gadget will detect it is being used as an AP and default to a working environment.

This is why the gadget is so handy to bring to hotels, friends, if you need to do a presentation, or whatever. You do no have to ask for their wireless details, just plug it in and it works. In this mode the gadget can be accessed from a client as 192.168.x.254 by default.

As a first time user you do not need to plug in an Ethernet cable directly to your computer and set to 192.168.0.xxx, if you start by using it as an access point you can just connect with the default ssid and passkey, then check whether it is at your lan's standard net/subnet addres as 192.168.x.254 and then log in to it as admin. Change the setting to whatever you want and you are up and running in seconds.

2. The signal is excellent and the connections as an AP are stable. My old router (a non-wireless zyxel from 2002) had (over time) had an AP added on (an Edimax) which did leave dead spots in the house. So I had added a high gain aerial. This worked, more or less accepatably. (The best aerial location was found by moving it around and then running around with a smartphone detecting the signal strength). This gadget was plugged in downstairs to test and it performd well immediately. The old AP was shut down because this one outperformed it, even without looking for an optimal spot. I had originally bought this to try on trips and holidays and I now find it in permanent as a low cost replacement of my old gear.

3. I have foudn that it shows no sign of any problems with 3 laptops and 3 smartphones connected, so I am confident it can do even bigger loads.

I may configure it as a router to bring on holidays (if the WAN is not detected while driving it can still be used to let everybody enjoy their own eBooks, MP3s and videos off a laptop or NAS-disk), that way the photos can be copied from the smartphones to the disk while diving and than uploaded at hotels, MC-donalds etc..

I have not found any disadvantages, yet. It's tiny size may make it easy to lose or be stolen. A USB with NAS port would have been brilliant too. As it stands I cannot fault this device. I may replace my LANs AP with one permanently.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2014
After arriving in my residence halls at university I was quickly aware there was a lack of WiFi. Instead, there was a single Ethernet port which had to be plugged into my Macbook in order for me to receive internet connection. I was sick of using my Macbook's Internet Sharing function in order to provide WiFi for all my devices, mainly because it meant my laptop had to be on and plugged in 24/7! So I decided to look at a cheap small router as an alternative.

After a little research I found this product and was convinced that this was a good idea. The packaging is very Apple-esque, and the router is absolutely tiny! Honestly fits easily in the palm of a hand. It is pre-configured as an 'access point' so out of the box it is literally plug and play! Although the router has 5 other options once you login if you are a bit tech savvy and wish to alter the settings or properties. This is literally the only complaint I have; advanced setup can be a little difficult and requires a fair amount of technical knowledge.

Once setup, however, it is literally plug and forget...asides from everyone in my dorm now asking for the password! All jokes aside, once it is plugged in you can honestly forget about it! Range is surprisingly good and the speed is more than adequate. I am able to stream 1080p Netflix to my Playstation and still browse the internet on my phone.

Only real complaint I have is the lack of the 5GHz frequency band, that and no 300+Mbps speed. Albeit for the price this is by no means a deal breaker. Out of curiosity I decided to test the limits of this device, pre-configuring the router for the 'n' band at the highest power and speed. Once connected to multiple devices using heavy bandwidth the speeds absolutely crashed. Just something to keep in mind, this product is best suited to just a few devices that are not using heavy bandwidth!

Verdict:

This is a great product by TP-Link. Absolutely tiny, very portable and cheap, brilliant for providing WiFi where there is an ethernet port and no WiFi. I would definitely recommend :)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
81 of 90 people found the following review helpful
I wanted to use the router as a repeater, so I can only share my experience about this mode. I was getting a very weak or no Wifi signal from my BT Homehub router (upstairs, front of house) in my kitchen extension (downstairs, back of house). I live in an older house with solid walls. Now I have a very good connection with my Nexus 7 tablet in my kitchen, and can stream video using BBC iPlayer without any problems at all.

I have located my repeater in the middle of the house, and I think its important to ensure that you are getting a good Wifi signal from your main router (the one connected to the internet) at this location.

Thanks to other reviews, I have located the step by step instructions on setting this up (before I bought this). FYI, its FAQ ID: 397 "How to Configure Repeater Mode on TL-WR702N" on the TP Link website. I followed this and had no trouble setting it up. The printed instructions that came with the router is not as clear as the FAQ.

I was a bit confused at first as there is no new SSID when using this in the repeater mode. Its just repeating the main router. To test its working, I went into my kitchen, and told my Nexus 7 tablet to "forget" the connection to my main router. Then I ask it to search for Wifi connections and the SSID of my main router showed up but with a much stronger signal. After I entered my passkey (for my main router), I was connected to the internet. Now, when I move around the house the tablet just seems to pick up a good signal in every room :)

The router is well protected in the manufacturer's box, but not excessive. It came with an USB power adaptor. The power cable is a bit short, so you may want to get a longer one if you want to locate your repeater higher than a metre about your mains socket. There is also a short flat and quite flexiable ethernet cable which would be good for client mode operation? There is also a mini "resource" CD, which I have not touched.

I would recommend this to my friends.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 May 2015
Given that TalkTalk are happy to supply customers with routers offering less wireless power than the average digestive biscuit, I decided that a repeater would solve the issue.

I was wrong, a repeater made everything just horrible. Many of the devices being used had a series of quite frankly ludicrous aversions to connecting to the correct (i.e. closest) access point. Basically when set-up to 'repeat' the wireless signal, this little device takes in the signal from your existing wifi, then spits it back out whilst pretending to be that same wifi point. My devices (Mac, iOS, Android, Linux) could not make up their minds which to connect to. Connecting to the repeated point lead to no internet access, or ridiculously slow access, and connecting to the original point made the whole exercise pointless.

After some faffing around on the interwebs, I came to the conclusion I wanted to use it in WISP mode. The difference here is that the wifi is taken in from your original modem/router, then spat back out, but under a new name. So effectively I can have a wireless network named "Downstairs" (The original modem) and a separate network named "Upstairs" (The repeater) and have the relevant devices connect to the best suited network.

Of course, any mobile devices such as phones and iPads can be registered on both networks, and they'll decide themselves which is the best network to be on... though the iPad is slightly dim and continues to connect to the weakest signal. It can't really help being stupid. It is made by Apple, after-all.

I know I've over-simplified the way in which the networking actually works, however it's to make the point of how the device can work in both those situations, which are by no means the only configurations available.

All-in-all, it's certainly a device I'd buy again, and would definitely recommend it to anyone in the same situation as I was.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 22 July 2014
This is a very versatile piece of hardware. It performs a handful of functions by simply configuring it out of the box to do what you want. In my own case I needed two of it's functions or "modes":

1. To transmit an ADSL signal wirelessly from my ADSL router to my Sony BD unit so that I can watch Netflix on the TV without laying down phone cables all around the house. This is called "Client mode".

2. To repeat the signal from my ADSL router to weak-spots around the house. This is called "Repeater mode".

The basic idea is to plug in the device and connect to it's private wireless network using your desktop computer.
One you've done that they you can type the URL "http://tplinklogin.net" on the said desktop computer and you'll find yourself looking at the main configuration screen for the TP-Link box. After that you can choose the mode of operation and the device will reboot in that mode. At this stage you can re-connect your desktop computer back to the original network and use the TP-Link box's assigned URL to view the configuration screen using a URL something like: http://192.168.1.150 (I use a Billion ADSL router).

Make sure that when you reboot then you wait about five minutes and then check by pinging the TP-Link box (ping 192.168.1.150 in this example) to make sure it has acquired an IP address from your ADSL router (Billion in this case).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2013
Bought this item to use as a wifi bridge. The instructions did not seem difficult, however, the light did not flash on connecting the ethernet cable and I was unable to assign an IP address (the first step) from my windowns vista laptop. Having tried various other computers and ethernet cables, I gave up and returned it to Amazon who refunded the money promptly. I bought Edimax CV-7428NS N300 Universal instead which though a few pounds more expensive worked first time.
I guess you get what you pay for!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.