Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars68
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 15 November 2012
The Philips HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry epilator combines stylish design with functional technology into a perfect product - Actually, there are two epilators: the big and the small one. In addition, it comes with a shave and a massage attachment, tweezers (with mirrow and light) , and a small storage bag.

Regarding the big epilator : the wide head makes the epilation quite fast and the ceramics discs make it quite painless. Epilation always hurts a little bit, but this one hurts less in comparison to other epilators I had. I've tried the massage attachment , and I really like to use it on my legs after I epilate. I've tried as well the shaving function, and it did it really well ,just as it should be.
Regarding the small Epilator: it is thin and long , so it can easily reach difficult spots in the bikini area. Even it has few tweezers , this is good especially for such places !!. I also use this little one for other sensitive areas like the armpits. I wouldn't use it though for the lip area , here I'd recommend the included, really good illuminated tweezers , that comes in the set. These are the best tweezers I've ever tried.

General comments: The Philips Epilator HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry is like the name suggests, to be used cordless in the shower. The battery life is about 40 minutes , which is more than enough.
Conclusion: Philips brought a really good product bundle to the market , of an outstanding quality and ease to use. Also at a reasonable price, when you think you get a first class gadget with a lot of extras, including an additional small epilator which I cant live without, now .
Deserves 5 stars.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2013
Well I was sceptical about this, but the reviews were good so I thought I'd give it a try. I tried an epilator years ago, possibly the first braun, it was so painful, I can re-call being determined to give it a go, and swigging whisky to numb me and the pain! Imagine my surprise when I put this over my legs, and did not hurt in the least, just a little tingly here and there. Now I have strong dark hair, and go for a full leg and bikini wax every 6-8 weeks. It has to grow back through, get to that itchy stage and get long enough to wax. I had a wax about 3 weeks before trying the SatinPerfect Deluxe, and my legs were itchy, it was great, it grabbed all the little hairs coming through, and returned my legs to that just waxed feel. Now I am running this over my legs about once a week to keep them smooth. So it is probably best to start using this on previously waxed legs, and just use the epilator when you feel the hairs there. Hairs grow at different stages, so you will need to use regularly to keep super smooth. But it is quick and painless. I prefer to use mine on dry legs, tried it once in the shower but found it a little slippy. I also used the mini epilator for the bikini area, again really good, no pain. Long term I will save so much money, by not having to visit the saloon anymore. Tried to do under my arms, and that was more painful, but my fault as the hairs were longer, I will shave first, then start to use the epilator as the hairs re-grow. I usually can't be bothered to write reviews, but this has been the best buy. I will take it with me on holiday as all stored in a compact pouch. First time ever, I can remain hair free,and have no rashes, perfect!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 7 September 2012
I have never used an epilator before so can't compare it to others, however, I do like it. It doesn't hurt on my legs, just pinches, it hurts a little on my bikini area and hurts more on my underarms but is just about bearable. The shaver attachment is really good and obviously doesn't hurt. It is so quick and easy to use the shaver as opposed to wet shaving in the shower with a razor. It doesn't leave me with a rash as the wet razor used to (for the epilator or shaver). I have only used it dry so far. The small epilator is good for the bikini area and underarms. This has two disposable batteries in which come with the product, whereas the main unit is rechargeable. It fits into a normal socket for recharging and does this within the hour. I have used all the attachments apart from one which I have no idea what it is for and I can't seem to find it in the instructions. And, talking about instructions, these are very complicated to me as they are only in pictures and have no words at all! The light on the epilator is really good and shows up all the hairs as you go. The tweezers with the light on are also good. I have only given it four stars because of the instructions and the attachment that I've no idea what to do with! So, overall I like it and it leaves a smooth finish (with either the epilator or shaver) and is easy and quick to use.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
[Reviewed by Mrs O']

I have used a variety of epilators over the years (such as, Braun Silk-épil Xpressive Pro 7681 Wet & Dry Rechargeable Epilator) but this latest offering from Philips is by far my favourite product. It's a bit pricey mind, but when you're talking about painful hair removal it's probably worth buying a product that's top of the range and that does the job well, as you'll use it for many years.

What I particularly like about this product is that it comes with two epilators, one large and one small, both of which can be used wet or dry. The large one is rechargeable and is quick to charge and, depending on how long it take you to epilate, will last for at least six uses before it needs recharging. The large epilator is ergonomically designed, looks good and has straightforward controls with the great LED light, which is an essential must have especially if you don't always epilate in the daylight. It also has a change of head, so you can use it as standard shaver when you're in a hurry (or don't feel up to the pain that day!). Both heads work exceptionally well and provide a smooth finish.

The small epilator however, is what I like best and what makes this product stand out from the rest. It's a shame it's not rechargeable like the large one given the cost of the product, but I'm willing to overlook that as the idea of having a large and small device is brilliant. Why? Well all the other epilators I have ever used have one epilator with a variety of different attachments to help you tackle those more delicate areas, but before I tried the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator this had always been very problematic, as even with attachments it meant you were having to use a large device to get into smaller places and the results for me were awkward and VERY painful. Not so with the small Philips Satin Perfect Epilator, as this is the right size to do the job you want it to do and it does so without the agony I've experienced previously (and given up using for more delicate areas). I particularly would recommend it for underarm use in the shower, used with shaving foam you barely notice any discomfort at all, but it does a great job (and hairs seem to grow back less thickly). The tweezers are also an added bonus, as one of the drawbacks from epilation is that, on occasion, you can get in-growing hairs and these need tweezing out when they arise, so it's nice to have tweezers supplied so you don't have to run around trying to find some when you need them.

I would heartily recommend this product to newbie epilators. Don't be tempted by the cheaper price of the other versions unless you only want to use it for your legs. If you want flexibility to meet all your epilation needs the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator is the one for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having had an epilator/torture device about seventeen years ago which I tried once, during which did a tiny patch of leg, squawked, bled, and probably cried a bit (then used the device exclusively as a ladyshaver for the rest of its life), I must admit to having had considerable trepidation about trying again, but am SO glad that I did. Do not be afraid if, like me, you have tried the epilators of yore and decided that you'd rather pull out your toenails with pliers, they really have improved beyond measure! Obviously, as with anything ripping hair out by the roots, the sensation is not exactly pleasant, but I find it entirely manageable, actually rather less painful than waxing, and it is very convenient being able to get the equivalent of salon-quality waxing results without having to get out of your pyjamas (or at least, not get far out of them).

The Philips 6581/00 SatinPerfect box contains a rechargeable wide-head epilator for legs etc, and a small battery-powered precision epilator (which can be used wet or dry) for use on bikini line and armpits, knees etc. There are also additional heads for the epilator - one of which enables it to be used as a shaver, with removable comb attachment. Also in the box is a set of 'smart tweezers', which are basically tweezers with an LED light on them and a small mirror built into their metal barrel casing. The epilator charges up very quickly - an hour of charging will give you a stated thirty minutes of use (in practice I think it actually lasts even longer than that). A bonus is that you can use it from the mains, which is good if you've forgotten to charge it and are in a hurry. The only disappointing thing contained in the package is the storage pouch, which is a cheap-looking white nylon pouch. It does the job but I can't help feeling that they could have provided something sturdier/more attractive for a top-end model such as this, especially as the epilators themselves are pleasing on the eye, being festooned with a tasteful pretty design.

The main epilator has an extra-wide head, which is a good thing because it covers a wider area and gets the job done more quickly. Also built into the device is a bright white LED light which illuminates the area being epilated, which is very useful if using it in a room with poor lighting. It is important that you exfoliate the area beforehand and moisturise afterwards to minimise ingrowing hairs. The results obtained are very good, clearly as it is ripping the hairs out by the roots there is always going to be some temporary redness but it fades quickly even on my sensitive skin. The tweezing discs on the device are specially-coated to reduce metal allergies and I am happy to report that this is effective - razors etc all give me rashes, this does not.

Well worth giving this product a go.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2014
It is a bit of a disappointment, after almost 6 months of use, I can definitely say that I'll stick to Braun next time. It tears hairs, they grow inwards more than with the old Braun. The light is ridiculous, because it creates an unpleasant reflection on the skin, preventing you from seeing properly...that's if you can tolerate the glare of it strait in your eyes when you try to look closely at what you're doing. The battery is not bad, you can easily do your legs twice without recharging. The small epilator is good. The tweezers are not good either, they cut through the hairs if you squeeze a bit harder. Again the attached light might seem a good idea, but is actually not helpful much. Altogether I expected quite a lot more for the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2013
It is fab, would recommend to all, was equally good both wet and dry. Good value for money and a great product
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 July 2014
I bought this epilator a month or two ago, but didn't want to review it here until I had had time to use it regularly, and form a proper opinion.
I am used to epilating, so I knew what to expect in terms of pain levels, and I find this epilator really good on that score - I hardly feel a thing on my legs, but then I do 'do' them every other day. It is good at getting the small hairs, although do I always complete my routine by going over my legs lightly with a 'silky-mitt' 'type exfoliating pad after de-fuzzing anyway, to get them really mooth before slathering them with body lotion.

The mini-epilator that comes with it is gentler, but is not rechargeable: it works off AA batteries (sadly, non-rechargable type only). When the batteries are new, it is quite efficient (not so much as the bigger one though), and it is very good for small and sensitive / delicate areas. However, its performance drops significantly as the battery level drops - and unfortunately the battery power drops quite quickly with this little epilator. Nevertheless, I'm glad I have it, for my bikini line and facial areas particularly. I've given up using it on my underarms, as it seems a wee bit 'overfaced' by the tough hair there (in that it works very hard and the batteries go down quickly), and anyway, I can happily cope with the slightly higher pain of using the main epilator under my arms, so long as I do them very regularly. The little one would be useful, I think, to take for a weekeng away for a quick 'going over', as it is more 'packable' than the main epilator and doesn't need the charger. Oh, the big epilator seems to maintain its charge very well: I use it every other day, I've had it about 3 weeks, and I've only had to recharge it 3 times since the initial one, I think.

The tweezers that come with them are not the best I've used in terms of gripping the hair - although they're by no means bad. The built in light does help me see fine, blonde eyebrow hairs pretty well though, so I am probably a bit more thorough at properly 'clearing the area' when I use these than I am with my better-gripping, but unilluminated, precision tweezers. The light also makes them useful for seeing and removing the odd tiny hair the big epilator leaves on my legs.

All in all, I'm very pleased with my purchase, and think I chose well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 September 2012
I'll start by being honest; epilators aren't meant to be pain free. It's basically mechanic tweezers, so you have to expect some pain...

Now for the good news; the PHILIPS SATINPERFECT WET & DRY is a lot less painful then other epilators I've tried. Yes, it still stings a bit, but you will become tolerant to it, and will hardly notice it after a full uses.

So why does this hurt less? This is because the epilator has an extra-wide head. This sounds like that would mean it'd hurt more, but as it's faster then most other epilators, as well have having attachments to help lift hairs away from the skin and to massage your skin, it is more or less pain-free. I don't have to keep running it over & over the same area, as a wider head = it covers a larger area. Another simple yet effective feature is the built in light, that's help you see any hair you've missed.

Also, unlike earlier models, this edition comes with a slimmer epilator. The design of the size and shape of this smaller epilator makes it ideal for using on 'sensitive' areas; face, underarms and bikini area.


However; the main selling point of this product is that you can use it in the bath or shower. Warm water = you're more relaxed. You'll only feel a slight sensation; it's like pinging an elastic band against your skin. Why is it only now that the makers made an epilator suitable for bath time use?

This also hurts less when used on dry skin. This is because the epilator has massaging rollers, to relax your skin. In fact, it's so much gentler then other epilators. It's also suitable for underarms, the bikini line & the face. Although if you're nervous about using it on more sensitive areas, like these, you can remove the epilating head & attach the (included) razor + trimmer head.
As well as the massaging rollers & the razor head, you'll also get 3 different caps for the epilator, to ensure the best results.

Another big point in this epilator's favour is the speed & ease of use. It'll pick shorter hairs, no matter which direction they're laying in. I don't have to keep running it over & over the same area. Another simple yet effective feature is the built in light, that's help you see any hair you've missed.


The hairs begin to grow back after nearly a fortnight with me, but I do have very fast growing hair, so the results can last up to six weeks on other people. They are so fine when they do grow back; if you're in a rush for work etc you could just wear skin tone tights. No-one will be able to tell you're having an `off' day! When the hairs regrow it'll be at different speeds, so it's really just a case of touching up now and then. As its just a few hairs at a time, it doesn't hurt at all.

I find epilating a lot preferable to waxing; you don't need to wait a few weeks for the hair to grow long enough for the wax to be able to pick it up & besides, I think that this hurts less. Plus; You won't cut yourself, like with razors. Isn't that annoying? Having to shave every other day, the nicking your leg so you have to cover up anyway?

Finally; While the SATINPERFECT isn't the cheapest epilator available, it is much less painful and quicker then the other half dozen I've used. Also; consider how much you send on waxing, razors and shaving foam over time - this pays for itself hundreds of times, over the years.


As well as the epilators, caps, and razor head you also get a fantastic pair of tweezers. Tweezers are just tweezers aren't they?
Nope. These tweezers have a light in between the prongs to help you see the finer hairs. You can use the tweezers anywhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 September 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For women who prefer an epilator to other hair removal solutions this Philips kit, although not the most expensive on the market, is just about top of the tree. It consists of two rechargable epilators and a truly brilliant pair of illuminated tweezers, plus a carry bag. The larger of the two units is the one that will get the most use, its broad head being ideal for legs, while the smaller one is designed for what Philips coyly term sensitive areas.

Both epilators, which share the same charger, can be used wet or dry, and there is a shaver/trimmer head for the larger one. The fact of being suitable for wet use does mean, apart from the obvious possibility of epilating in the bath/shower, that you can rinse the heads under the tap, making them easy to keep clean and fresh.

For those who have not used an epilator before, it's worth saying that the discomfort of having hairs plucked out is very much lessened by frequent use, and if used daily is hardly noticeable. This kit also contains a 'lift and massage' attachment that seems to make first use especially merciful.

Feeling comfortable and solid in the hand, an instant impression of quality is given by the epilators, and given that they work very well a five-star rating is deserved.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.