Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
112
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.21+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2012
I have a Morphy Richards espresso maker, and I normally descale with liquid Oust, which is also designed for kettles, irons, etc. It works, after a fashion. Recently I was stupid enough to let the machine's tank run dry, and I left it dry for 24 hours because I was in a rush and not thinking. As I live in a hard water area, the next time I tried to make coffee, nothing at all would come out. Just terrible noises and steam! Off I went to Poundworld, and bought some cheapo tablets, because they didn't sell Oust, and I was unaware that using these tablets could ruin my machine. Well, the tablet unblocked the machine, but when it came to rinsing, again nothing came out except an even worse set of noises! Found some Oust at the back of the cupboard, and tried that: Nothing.
Went online and realised that I'd probably ruined my machine. Was gutted. In desperation I ordered the above product, Coffee Machine descaler. It arrived the next day (thank you, Prime! ) and while I was waiting for it I tried taking the machine apart to clean the filter. Impossible. I really had given up hope, but when the bottle arrived I followed the instructions and poured it into the tank. Within seconds, I heard the RIGHT kind of noises, and and after a few flush-throughs with clean water, I had coffee too! I was vastly relieved to only have spent £6 instead of £60 on a cheap replacement machine.
£3 for a descale is very cheap, in hindsight, and I will use nothing else from now on!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
My Dolce Gusto coffee machine had stopped letting water through the nozzle due, it would seem, to the innards having become completely scaled up. I followed the instructions and I now have a working machine despite my reservations as to whether it would do the job.

As for measuring half a bottle, with reference to the person who said in a 3* review

>> But instructions are to use "half the bottle" and yet the bottle is not see through - so you have to guess. Does no one test these things first?? <<

Pour it into a measuring jug and pour half back into the container !!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2010
The descaler did the job, is suitable for plastic (kettles, coffee machines etc) and sticking to the recommendation to run through 4 or 5 more litres of water 'as if' you were going to make a jug of coffee ensured there was absolutely no hint of odd taste residue when on go number 6 I DID make that cup of coffee.

I have seen some information somewhere that suggests you need to be sure that the descaler you use is suitable for your machine, otherwise it might damage it, but i do wonder if that isn't the equivalent of the coffee machine manufacturers (De Longhi in my case) trying to ensure you use their more expensive branded descaler, in the same way inkjet printers try to convince you your printer with end up irrevocably damaged unless you use THEIR branded product.

All I can say is that THIS product has left my De'Longhi ICM2B Filter Coffee Maker, 10 Cup purring in a sotto voce fashion with contentment, rather than with the slighly louder growl which indicated a scale and polish was needed!
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
Ordered this to descale my Tassimo and grudged the price of the Bosch tablets.

Easy to use and now my Tassimo is like new. Excellent.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Works a treat and less expensive than other brands. I would like to write more about the item but cant think of anything to say and this silly review wont let me do less than a certain number of words.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've just used this to descale a Gaggia coffee machine and it worked fine.

I've also used it on my Magimix M100 Nespresso machine and it really cleaned out the crud...

Bear in mind that this is half the price of the 'genuine' products and works well, I can happily recommend it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
After browsing Amazon for a suitable descaler product I chose this one.
The 500ml bottle from 'A Suds Appliance Spares' works very well and if you have the same
coffee maker as me then you will get 4 doses out of the bottle.
(500ml Bottle treats 2 x 1Litres, but the TAS T4011 uses only Half a litre per treatment).
This is a bargain Buy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
Before I purchased this item my coffee machine was dripping out coffee very slowly. As I had had the machine (Magimix Nespresso)for a year I realised it must need descaling. After using this product, the machine is now behaving perfectly and I am very pleased I tried it. This product has been very efficient and I will use it regularly from now on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This descaler is great. I had almost given up hope of saving my Dolce Gusto machine which was just managing to force through a few pathetic drops. Based on the other customer reviews I purchased this descaler and WOW! Within 10 seconds of running it through, my beloved coffee machine came back to life - totally. I'd highly recommend this descaler to anyone. It's cheap and it really works. I'll definately be buying this again to do regular descaling.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
I used this product for descaling my Tassimo T20 and found it to be perfectly suitable. Although you only get enough for 2 uses it is still almost half the price of the Tassimo descaling tablets.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.