Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2013
I cycle a lot and in all weather conditions. After umming and ahhing for ages I finally gritted my teeth and forked out the hundred quid plus for these trousers, and though I had to wipe away bitter tears at the cost I'm bound to say they seem worth it so far. Like goretex clothes are meant to, they keep the rain off while allowing you to sweat, very important if you ride a bike. Each leg has a zipper at the bottom running the length of the calf, making it easy to put them on and take them off. They also have velcro seals around the ankles and at mid-calf, which is a nice touch and helps to insure they don't get caught in the chainrings.

My only reservation is durability. Will they be able to withstand the constant pressure of my not entirely sylph-like rear end on the saddle? Only time will tell, and if they don't last I'll update this review accordingly.

So far however, I'm well pleased.

Update 26/1/2014.

Had them for a year now. Worn them lots of times and no sign of wear at all.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
I have owned a Goretex waterproof jacket for 16 years, still 100% waterproof, so after receiving an unexpected cash windfall I invested in a pair of Goretex trousers. On recent cycling trips In wet conditions I stayed perfectly dry, more than can be said for my other less efficient overtrousers. Quality doesn't come cheap but it pays off in the long run. Now I actually enjoy cycling in the rain!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This is the second pair of Gore Bike Cycling Trousers I have owned. The first pair lasted several years with minimal wear and tear.

They are loose fitting so they do not affect cycling and keep me warm and dry in the winter months. They are definitely water proof (only problem is that I am not!)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
These trousers are simply great - easy to put on and wear and keep you dry without sweating. Would recommend to anyone. The sizing is correct M = 32 -34
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
The trousers are definitely waterproof! Always reassuring at this price.
The cut / design is well thought through for cycling use.
The knee is "pre bent" slightly and there is enough material so that your legs can bend freely as you pedal.
There is a small back zip pocket too, big enough for some keys or money.
The legs have zipped bottoms so you can put the trousers on quickly over your shoes.
Over the top of the zips, there are 3 velco flaps on each leg which allow you to then shape the trouser tightly around your lower leg - avoiding the trousers getting caught in the chain rings and for lower drag.

All in all a really good design.
Could have done with some slightly tougher material on the knees - this material doesn't look like it will survive too many tarmac impacts...
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Really pleased with these overtrousers. With overshoes and Goretex Bike jacket dont really get that wet. The waist sizer could be a little more generous - not all of us are ultra slim cyclists! Expensive but worth the comfort I would say.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have owned other forms of waterproof trousers and these are a breath of fresh air in comparison. Whilst completely water proof (I have been caught a number of times in torrential rain) I have never experienced any form of "Sauna" effect - it is as though I have normal cotton clothing on, fully breathable - I still can't quite believe how well it works, but it does

Cannot recommend highly enough
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Living in Ireland, one of the wettest places on the planet, you need to have good wet gear if you want to cycle and these are the best waterproof. Really lightweight with velcro to tighten the legs around the calves, they provide a comfortable fit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
For cycling, walking and sailing, I have used gore products for nearly 30 years. They improve with each generation.
These trousers replaced an early version, and continue to impress with the quality of design and material. Vital ankle adjustments prevent the chain snagging, and the cur around the knee ensures free movement. The knee length zip is protected with a second fold, and there are three velcro adjusters.

Given the weather this winter, waterproofs are essential to extend ride times and opportunities. Living in the Peak District, and cycling off and on road on an almost daily basis, I have used these about three days per week. As expected, no ingress of water, and excellent breathability, even on extended rides including four hours in driving rain.
Obviously, the rustle factor is present.

These trousers compare with various gore tex walking trousers in price, but you just need to have the specialist kit to get the best out of your sport. If you can afford them, do not hesitate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
These are my second pair. I used my first almost every day and it was only after a rather serious scrape on tarmac and a half hearted attempt to mend them that I reluctantly stopped using them. I tested them a few days ago. No problems. These are genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)