Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
816
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 July 2008
This is a very simple yet enjoyable card and board game combined.

Players take turns in placing 'chips' upon matching playing cards they hold in their hands that are also depicted upon a playing board - each card appears twice. The first player to get two 'sequences' of five cards in a row in any direction wins!

This is a game where you have to be 'on the ball'; you have to keep a careful eye (no pun intended!) upon the 'Jacks', (they can easily go un-noticed) because these will either hinder or help - depending upon how many eyes they have! 'Two-eyed' Jacks are 'wild' cards and allows you to place them anywhere upon the board. A 'one-eyed' Jack can be used to 'remove' a chip/card already claimed by another player. Also; you must always remember to take another card from the deck after each turn - forgetting to do so leaves you with fewer cards for the rest of the game, and at a great disadvantage!

This is a very nice quality game, with an exceptionally thick nice and colourful playing board. The counters or chips are also very nicely designed.

I should imagine this is a game that would appeal to most people, and is learnt in a matter of minutes - if not seconds!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I think a lot of the people reviewing this have been fairly harsh to be honest. The game isn't dynamic but is still good for a hour or two of fun. The main goal of the game is to use the cards in your hand to make sequences of five cards in-a-row and using the Jack cards as "wild" cards.
As a family we play card and board games every so often so we were interested in how this slightly odd sounding premise would actually play out.

Positives:
1. The board is well presented, the cards and tokens are good quality.
2. The game-play is very simple and is fairly easy to pick-up.
3. The game is fairly quick to play which suits us as we like to play a few rounds with different teams or to make sure that everyone stays involved which is the one down side to playing longer games like Risk and Monopoly.
4. Does involve some tactical work (when to use the Jacks) but without being laboured in this meaning even people who don't like longer games don't get bored.

Negatives:
1. Instructions are a little difficult to decipher at first. For such a simple game the instructions are not the clearest but once you get through them it is an easy game.
2. There are only three colours of tokens which means that only three individuals can play at any one time. If more then 3 people want to play you have to play in teams which is fun but can be a bit annoying.

All-in-all I would recommend this game if you are looking for a fairly simple and quick game. I'm not sure how much it would appeal to children who may lose interest but for young adults and older it would be a decent option. It is well made and fairly easy to pass a couple of hours without the intensity or commitment of the likes of Monopoly, Cluedo or Risk which always seems to cause arguments in our household.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The aim of Sequence is quite simple - each player must aim to get two sequences of 5 game tiles on the board to win the game. To do this, each player starts with a set number of playing cards. They then discard a card of their choice from their hand and place a tile piece on the corresponding place on the board. After your turn you take another card from the stack and the game continues until either player get two rows of 5 tiles. Throw into the mix the jokers (where one-eyed jacks mean you can remove an opponent's tile from the board and two-eyed jacks means you can place a tile anywhere on the board regardless of whether or not you hold the appropriate card) and you have a very enjoyable and at times strategic game.

I'll admit that at first we didn't think this game would be particularly fun as you start off simply placing tiles randomly on the board. However as more and more tiles appear on the board you start to get into the swing of things and strategy comes into play. As well as looking out for your own sequences, you can easily disrupt another player's sequence by placing your own tile in the way of their potential sequence. This adds another element to the game as you attempt to thwart and sabotage your opponent.

The game itself seems well made and all the pieces, cards, board and instructions fit back into the box easily so storage is not going to be a problem. I hate games where you take out all the pieces and then find they don't fit back into the box when you're finished playing! I did find the instructions a bit baffling at first but once you've read them through a few times then the game is very simple to pick up.

Overall, this is a fun game with a little bit of strategy thrown in. It doesn't take too long to play but will make you want to just have one more game every time. 5 star fun and a good family game that's highly recommended.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2005
This game was sent to me by an American friend and just put away for a rainy day! When the storms came we opened the box. To our amazement this game is mindbending and enthralling and deserves to be left on show. It is a masterpiece of boardgames, its simplicity its virtue. Suitable for all ages and unlike many other boardgames passes many, pleasant QUIET hours. It involves both brainwork and a little foresight and is very addictive - definitely deserves 10 out of 10.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
We were introduced to this game by two friends who are bridge playing fanatics and enjoyed an evening playing 'Sequence' with them. It is a board game involving the use of playing cards. Withh a similar feel to 'rummy' it is a very simple game to pick up and learn but the more you play the more you realise it is also definitely a game of skill.

The advantage of the gasme is that can be played by 2, 3, 4, 6,8,9 10, or 12 players. This is because it can be for single contestants up to 3 or teams of 2,3,or 4 players in each.

The game is sturdily built and very well put together and presented in an attractive way. It would make a great present. We have bought one for ourselves and also three others to give away as presnts.

The only negative is the instruction book which comes in small print in a variety of languages with English as the last option. We overcame this by scanning in the English Section and enlarging it on the computer before printing it as a stand alone instruction.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2005
Found this game in a small toy shop on a wet holiday. What a great find, the kids were enthralled and parents were delighted. we even played on a sunny day on the beach. Want to buy one for friends but cannot get a new one for love nor money. This would be an independant toyshops dream. We are completely addicted even now home, forget the TV this is great ! even for my 8 year old.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
To be simplistic it's similar to Connect Four--but better. It's a fast-moving game that makes you concentrate. Ideal for all ages over ten (it says over 8s, but I don't know any 8 year old who can concentrate that hard!).

Like Connection Four you have to watch your opposition carefully, unlike C4 you have a partner (you can't see his cards) and it's up to you both to win and make the other team lose.

You're watching wear the other team are placing their chips, while looking for places for you to place yours. Then you have the jokers were you can remove chips or place chips anywhere. Such a fantastic concept, which will keep the entire family entertained.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 June 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I ordered this from the Amazon Vine program so that I could play it with my kids. We'd had a huge amount of fun with our previous order (Uno Spin) and hoped for a similar experience.

Unfortunately, this product (beautifully presented and packaged) didn't deliver any fun. It's a simple enough idea, and actually that's part of the problem.

The game board contains two pictures of each card in a standard deck of cards (except Jacks/Knaves). Two packs of cards are shuffled, each player (max of three players) receives a hand of cards, and they take turns to place a counter on the picture of a card in their hand. They discard the card, and get dealt another one. The first player to make a row of five counters wins. To help this along, the corners of the board are wildcards that any player can use if they are adjacent to it. The reason the Jacks/Knaves are omitted from the game board is that they are also work as wildcards. Some of them allow a player to add their counter to any unoccupied square, and some allow a player to remove any counter.

This all sounds like it should work, but it doesn't. The game takes twenty minutes to play, and is visually quite complex - my kids, 8 and 10, understood the rules but struggled to locate the pictures that matched their cards, as did I on occasion. The game quickly turned into a "waiting for Jacks" experience. Their interest waned quickly, two of the dozen games we played ended prematurely, and on no occasion did they want a second game. And to be honest, I was quite relieved!

This is a stark contrast to any number of similar games we've bought - Uno, Rummikub, Triominoes, Shut The Box - which they can't get enough of.

This game is marketed as "Easy enough for children, challenging for adults!", and while that's true, it's interesting to note that there is also a "Sequence for Kids" product available separately.

All in all, a bit of a disappointment.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Beware if you take this anywhere to play, everyone will be asking for one!
We first found this game in Greece decades ago. Bought one as a present for family, then others requested it. So we had quite a trade going from Greece to the UK for it. Eventually all our folks had it so everyone plays. We mostly have girls v boys. Kids of all ages can play - the very young can help, the strategy part is beyond them though.
Our various Greek relatives have suddenly become interested in playing it. We lent them ours with the promise of bying them a new set. Would you believe it? You cannot buy this in Greece any more! So we ordered the first of several in the other direction. We must have had ours for 20 years and it was, until lent to the kids this summer, in great condition. Will be interesting to see how long their new one lasts, slightly different colouring but otherwise the same.
Anyone we have played it with has loved it, no two games are ever the same. And we never play just one game, ever. We have played well into the night on summer's eves. Simple to play, difficult to master (largely bacuse you can never remember where anything is, and spades are often difficult to distinguish from clubs, yep they are!). Very entertaining, and of course everyone loves chucking someone else off the board!
I'd purchase again in a heartbeat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
A fun game of strategy (either played one against one, or in teams). The aim is to get a sequnce of counters across a series of cards (based on the hands dealt and additional cards gained during the game). It has proved popular after dinner, a nice way to allow the meal to digest while having a good catch up during the game too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.