Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2010
Excellent value for money
Dont be fooled that they refer to it as a toy
This is a serious set and we are thrilled with it
The quality of this product exceeds any expectation
Many good nights out in the garden with this set ahead we hope
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
As I think others have mentioned, this is not really a toy, but a full-size adult croquet set, complete with all the trimmings (more than we've found a use for!). The build quality seems pretty good, and all the parts come in a robust canvas carry case, which will come in handy for over-winter storage.

My only complaint is that the game instructions are too brief, but a few minutes on Google solved that problem - still a rather strange oversight for what is otherwise an impressive package
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
Very pleased with this set - comes with more bits than we knew what to do with, but most importantly both the balls and mallets were suitably heavy and high quality to give a good game. The mallets are good and long enough too - we're all quite tall but this set is a good size. Great adult game if you have somewhere to play!
0Comment30 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
A brilliant set, high quality.
I would recommend to anyone who wants a good set which is relatively affordable.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
Amazon seems determined to refer to this as a toy, but it felt like the real deal to me - very solid and substantial, well finished, all parts present and correct. Rules are an ongoing challenge, but I think that problem is between me and the game itself, rather than with this set. Highly recommended.
0Comment26 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
A fine set for a Sunday afternoon family game. Good quality and not too expensive. Delivery was prompt too. Overall, very pleased.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
Good set, but be aware that paint will be shed from the wooden balls and the balls can chip. If you are likely to take the game more seriously you are going to need a (more expensive) croquet set with plastic balls which are much more robust - I will soon be ordering a set of replacement (plastic) balls. My 11 year old twins are OK with the full size mallets in this set; younger kids would need smaller mallets.
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I ordered this product from the Shed Store online and it arrived the next day, securing wrapped. The set is fantastic value for money and is built to last. The accessories are fantastic and the carry bag makes it very portable. I highly recommend.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
I like the fact that the weights of the various bits of equipment made it all feel solid, such as the steel hoops and leather bound handles; and the corner posts and yard markers are a good couple of touches. The rules were barely adequate and referred to a 'List of 'Rules that wasn't there. It's easy enough to download complete rules from the Web, though.

The mallet would have been a nice touch too, except for the fact that the handle broke after two minutes of starting to insert the equipment into the ground. We shall see what the company says about that.

It's worth spending a bit more money to get full sized kit such as this.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
The other reviews had led me to believe this was a quality product so my expectations were sky high. I was delighted to find the quality of the product was even higher than anticipated and far better than the photographs (how often can you say that?). The wooden mallets ooze quality and the hoops are of 10mm solid metal unlike the thin metal 'wires' of a previous toy set that tended to get tripped over as they were so inconspicuous. It comes with lots of pieces to allow playing to 'real' rules however this requires a lawn 35 by 28 yards so some of the additional bits are unlikely to be used. It should be noted the set is very heavy; so heavy I thought they'd sent the wrong set. It felt heavy enough to be in a substantial wooden box. It could not be safely lifted my a child or an unfit adult or hung on a large hook on the garage wall as I had intended. I have noted the weight in case it's of interest however the reason for its weight is purely that it is a substantial, full-size set.

I have just two quibbles. (i) the rules are not clear and the diagram of the 'court' incomprehensible with the arrows of play impossible to follow (should I find it's me not understanding the rules, I will amend this). There is no definition for example of how far through a hoop the ball needs to go before the point is scored. It just says 'completely' which could be ambiguous. This is not a serious flaw as I am sure I can find the rules on the internet. (ii) the bag that contains and stores the set is only just big enough and takes some fiddling to get the final mallet in. This is my only real negative and just took the edge off an otherwise perfect set.

In any event, my overall impression is of a solid and well made game and well worth the cost on Amazon (which from memory had a 15% or so discount on the RRP).

p.s. I agree with other reviewers, this product is not a toy - it's mallet size would suit 11+ but especially adults.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
6 or 8 Player Durable Croquet Set. Starting at $319 - Free Shipping!