Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
33
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.99+ £3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2013
Pricey ( but then this seems to be the norm nowadays with Amazon!! ) you can get it cheaper elsewhere...but personally wouldnt pay more than £6 for something like this.

As soon as you open the box..your heart sinks ( talking in adult terms now..the understanding of instructions/the putting it together...just a hassle. )

Now, to be honest my 5yr old daughter played it 3x..thats more than all the other board games she has..since father christmas came yesterday. But I suspect the novelty will soon go.

I'd say theres better kids games out there...not really sure i can recommend that many to you...Orchard Games seem to last the distance and are educational at the same time.

A disappointment, pretty naff idea, badly done.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
This has got to be the worst-thought out children's game we have bought. Like the adult game, you have three items to discover. This time it's who ate the chocolate cake, what time they ate it and what drink they took. However unlike the adult game, you have to make a different type of deduction for each item. For one, it's turn a piece over, for another it's land on a particular square, and for the third it's land on a particular square in a particular room. All-in-all far too complex. Oh, and another thing - the times the cake could have been taken are 13.00, 14.00, 15.00, 16.00 and 17.00. Our children, who are six year old twins, think that times finish at 12.00. So why didn't the game's authors use times of 08.00, 09.00, 10.00, 11.00 and 12.00? Again an example of the game not being well thought through.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2007
Remember those iconic characters from the grown-up version of the board game: Miss Scarlet, Reverend Green, Colonel Mustard? So why oh why are they printed in black and white on the gamecards in this version? Well, to save money obviously, but it makes it really tricky telling them apart when they are all grey.
The furniture pictures are muddled too: we keep mistaking the snooker table for the dining table. Instead of trying to solve a murder, you try to work out who ate the cake, at what time, and with what drink. The drinks pictures are muddly as well; hard to tell a glass of lemonade from a glass of coke when they too are grey. I've given it an extra star because my children do like playing this game; it's just me that finds it infuriating. Setting the game up is fiddly; I have to refer to the instructions each time. Unbelievable but they have actually made this junior version MORE complex than the grown-up version. Save your money and buy the grown-up version instead. I'm sure most modern kids can cope with the idea of solving a murder.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
From an adult point of view, i agree with the previous reviewer. The game is poorly made too, with tiny, flimsy card. It is nothing like original cluedo. If you can make that mental shift and accept that it's a different game, it's actually great fun. The proof is in the pudding and my 2 kids ages 11 and 6 have chosen to play this over and over again. It's been the 2nd most selected game after labyrinth.

I really like it too.we all like making our guesses throughout the game,and the excitement of looking under the board and counting the counters to find the winner is fun. We've had a few draws which is a more harmonious ending to any game!

Apart from the cheap quality, i would recommend this game. I think most kids will have fun with this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
My 4 year old boy loves this game. It's the first board game he regularly plays and is able to think through the very basic logic. Older children might tire of this game quickly but is an excellent game for younger children.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2006
Completely dissapointing, incredibly unclear and very poorly thought out game objective. This is the worst kids boardgame I have purchased.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Absolutely brilliant Game for the children, my 5 tear old plays as well as my 7 & a half year old and us adults enjoy playing as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
good game - my 7 yr old girl likes it, although not best quality in terms of cards and counters etc
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
The idea of a "junior" version of a game is, in my opinion, to retain the essential elements of the original whilst making the game accessible to a younger generation. The theme of the original Cluedo is murder and this is obviously not suitable for the young, so this edition substitutes the disappearance (or theft) of a set of prizes from a carnival. The players have to identify who the thief is, the location of the theft and the time of the theft. So far so good.
Game play involves moving around the board to the location of the clue cards; the player examines these and ticks them off from a list to eliminate them much as per the original game. HOWEVER there are more cards than spaces, so some spaces will have more than one card (obviously it was beyond the wit of the game designer/s to devise a game where the cards would fall evenly around the board) and it is impossible to examine all of the clues as the game is strictly limited to 6 turns. After each player has had one go each uses a token to make an educated guess as to who/where/when (there is a simpler version with a different board and players only have to guess at who and when). After six such sets of guesses the game is over and you score a point for each correct guess and the player with most correct guesses wins. Unfortunately the initial guesses are pretty wild stabs in the dark (which is what the designer deserves) and as the game progresses you can start to quickly eliminate some options by watching what everyone else is doing. Overall the process is very unengaging.
Component quality is shabby - the cards that have the characters/time/place on them are little more than glossy paper and had to be VERY carefully removed from the sheet upon which they were originally printed in order to avoid tearing them. The other parts are mostly cheap die cut card. The clue sheets are in black and white with very small illustrations that are exceptionally difficult to identify. Perhaps the biggest sin is that the character names (perhaps one of the greatest icons of Cluedo) are never mentioned during the game; so there will never be a cry of "Miss Scarlet did it".
So, poor and unengaging gameplay, poor component quality and the classic icons and motifs of the game have been stripped out. There is VERY little in this game to recommend it to anyone and one must really, really question what the designers were thinking other than "minimal effort Christmas cash cow".
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
Great fun. Quick & easy to play so no need to worry about children losing interest. Requires some skill and some good luck. Easy rules for children to grasp.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)