Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
184
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2010
I don't do games really but recently had a go with the excellent open source flight simulator "FlightGear". Frustrated with keyboard control I thought I would try a joystick. Not wanting to spend £20+ this one seemed cheap and cheerful.

Usual rapid delivery from Amazon (free too) and the joystick was unpacked and stuck into an XP machine and recognised straight away. Seems large and sturdy and had a nice feel (though I have nothing to compare it with). Works great as a joystick (although no rudder control until I can map some of the buttons correctly) and a nice throttle.

If you want force-feedback, vibration and hundreds of buttons then this may not be for you but then you will need much deeper pockets. For the price it deserves 5*

Si
44 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
Simple basic joystick, worked straight out of the box with my Windows 7 computer. If you intend to play a lot of games I'd suggest something with more buttons etc but this one's fine for most things.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
I needed an inexpensive stick for testing out Elite: Dangerous, an awesome game. The stick itself has no fancy gizmos like force-feedback, but it has the right selection of controls to provide enough resources to fly in such a complex simulation. Only bought it as a test unit, but am gradually getting to love it. Solidly manufactured and responsive even under the extremes I find myself in, whilst gaming. A great buy.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
Bought this joystick for use with Microsoft Flight Simulator (Deluxe Edition). I am running on Windows XP and have found the joystick good. There are 4 buttons, which is useful, mine automatically downloaded onto 1. view around, 2. trigger for brakes, 3 and 4 control levelling of plane in flight. The actual stick is quite sensitive so you have to be careful not to move too rapidly and too far. It has a good base so I have found it sturdy. It is made of plastic so I cannot comment on how long it will last but for the price it is fine, always assuming you want a basic controller.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
bought this to use when flying in Battlefield 3. have to say im very impressed. took a bit of configuring to get it set up the way i wanted it, but now im very happy and my flying has improved dramatically. im not a flying sim buff so i didn't want to invest a lot of money. for this price with free delivery its great value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
Within a few seconds I was controlling FS2004 without any frustration whatsoever. This stick is well made, solid and feels right. After flying around London and looking at the sights I then flew from Interlaken Switzerland, up the valleys over Grindelwald, beside Eiger and Jung Frau and created an IFR flight plan to Geneva with an ILS approach to GVA. Sure beats using the keyboard. Super fast delivery once again from Amazon.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
I received mine at the weekend and am using it happily on Windows 7 with FS 2004 " A Century of Flight", Lock On "Flaming Cliffs" and Microsoft Combat Flight Sim 3.
I also have the "Ultimate Edition" of IL-2,made for Windows 7, The response to the Thrustmaster is excellent and it is smooth and easy to use.
There are not a lot of buttons compared with the Microsoft Sidewinder but what it has is easily enough and they work well.
I had a Sidewinder but it no longer works due to withdrawl of support by Microsoft.
I also had a Saitek HOTAS combination years ago ;and the Thrustmaster is far more smooth and light. The Saitek joystick was far stiffer (compared with the Sidewinder I was also using at the time). The Thrustmaster more "fluid" so is better than either of them.
I have years of experience flying various aircraft types in the air and this stick feels natural and as smooth as the best I have flown (The T67M Firefly ).
I am finding it quite sensitive in pitch , but am having to adjust my flying-style and be more gentle !! Lack of a twist facility for rudder is a bit of a loss compared with the Sidewinder.
Since beginning this review:
I have tried to get the Thrustmaster to work alongside the SAITEK Pro Yoke and Rudder-Pedals but although the Thrustmaster works fine alone,when the SAITEK items are plugged in they dominate and it stops functioning on Lock On and IL-2.
I have unplugged them ; and will just have to reconnect them when I want to use them for FS2004 (FS9).
So now I am happily flying IL-2 Ultimate Edition and Lock On Flaming Cliffs. both excellent programs with beautiful graphics and flying pleasure.The Thrustmaster enhances that experience;it is a great stick and well worth the money.
PS:Since writing this review I have bought "Rise of Flight, Channel Battles Edition" and managed to get the SAITEK Rudder Pedal to work with the Thrustmaster. The result is that I am reliving my early flying experiences and learning more on top.Now that I have a good system with genuine rudder feel and reaction I am currently taking up the various aircraft (notably the Sopwith Camel) to practice entering and recovering from spins.
The feelings are just like the real thing but not quiet so frightening !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
I wanted a joystick for my PC (Windows 10) as I had a yearning to try the latest Elite game. A throwback to my youth.

The stick arrived promptly, looked as described. When I plugged into my PC's USB port, it was recogmised correctly and I could immediately use it. It feels good quality and I loved the fact that it was true plug and play i.e. I didn't have to do anything, not even a restart on my PC.

It wasn't very expensive so I wasn't expecting a premium joystick and it does lack a "positive" feel when moving. Its a little bit wobbly, but it does exactly what I wanted it to do and at a reasonable price so I am happy with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
Great looking, easy to use, right level of resistance and deadzone. Lots of buttons for various tasks. Thrust levers very accurate. Great robust product.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
Cant fault the thrustmaster USB Joystick(PC),Dose all that i want,Easy to use,arrived on time.
D Hill
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 34 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)