Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars150
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£11.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2005
The Wagamama cookbook is a great introduction to making Japanese noodles,-I enjoy them so much that I make them a couple of times a week now. At first I found the recipes difficult as I had to invest in new ingredients and learn new techniques, but after a few attempts I could make them with my eyes shut! The book has recipes for noodles, rice dishes, meat, fish, dumplings, salads and sauces. (It does not cover how to make sushi though.) Everything I made was delicious, as I could adapt the recipes to my own taste. I was so impressed that I went to the Wagamama restaurant in London, and I was pleased to find out that my own attempts tasted even better! The recipes are bursting with flavour and fun to cook. I really recommend this book, but be warned, you will need access to a Chinese/Japanese supermarket to get some of the ingredients.
11 comment97 of 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2006
This book is clearly better than the other book "Ways with noodles". If you were deciding between them, go for this one. The recipes I've made so far from it have turned out fantastically well!
0Comment46 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
Cajoled by my other half into doing more on the culinary front, I sought refuge in a cookbook. Jamie Oliver, Gordon Ramsey or Delia…..well none of them! If I was going to impress the family with new found skills, I decided that I wanted to emulate the cooking of the far east.
I’ve eaten at the wagamama restaurants over several years, and when I heard about their cookbook I was excited about the thought of trying to create some of their appetising dishes. In truth it hadn’t escaped my notice that the food at wagamama always arrived quickly, suggesting to me that I wouldn’t be a slave to the stove. Perhaps I could create a meal in the time that it took to drink just one glass of wine, well perhaps not.
The cookbook was extremely easy to follow, and the preparation straightforward. I jumped in at the deep-end by attempting to perfect sake amiyaki gohan, which is grilled salmon in a fantastic sauce enhanced with garlic, chilli, ginger, sesame oil and oyster and soy sauces. Had I not dropped my bit of salmon on the kitchen floor, I’m sure I would have really enjoyed it!
Anyway, a great cookbook and well worth buying, so says the wife and kids.
0Comment144 of 159 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
This book is a great introduction to cooking japanese food, and if you like wagamama's you'll enjoy recreating some of your favorite dishes.

I am a keen cook, however do find with this book that you will be required to purchase so many random ingredients for each dish you have to spend quite alot at the initial out set so it may seem easier just to go to the restaraunt! however once you've done so you will enjoy cooking some nice healthy food!

Oh one quick one....Chicken Katsu curry isn't in this book!! so look elsewhere if you were thinking of buying this book purely for that awesome dish!
33 comments22 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
I bought this for a wagamamas lover and they have used it loads already. The recipes are simple and while there are some expensive ingredients alternatives are offered aswell. Lots of pictures of yummy food too!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Annoying.

They state that each recipe is for 2 people but suggest 200g noodles per person. 200g is a lot of noodles. So much so that they don't fit in the wok.

Unless you half the amount of noodles the recipes end up flavourless as the sauces etc have been spread too thin over too many noodles.

Apart from that it actually takes a lot of prep to make these dishes but the flavours are there so I will persevere to get them right. Not bad.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This is a good cook book that encourages one to try harder. Some dishes are relatively easy, others more difficult as you need sauces or stock made from other menus on different pages.
Some of the ingredients wont be at the local Tesco.
So stretch yourself a little I can promise that it will be worth the effort.
The other plus is that you will be vastly more knowledgeable when you next visit a Wagamama restaurant!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2005
This book is great! For someone who gets bored of food easily this book is a god send. It has also taught me ways of cooking fish - something I'd never tried before. Most can be cooked for dinner in about 30 mins and there is lots of choice from dishes suitable for summer or winter.
0Comment38 of 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
This book changed my life!! OK, slight exaggeration but it did wonders for my cooking confidence, which means i cook a lot more now, and that can't be a bad thing. First of all the recipes are very varied & delicious. Also importantly (for me at least..!), all the 'work' is in the prep, which of course you can take all the time you like over (though it needn't take long). The actual cooking tends to be pretty quick and easy stir frying, so no panicking during cooking. The ingredients needed are pretty easy to come by (fresh vegetables; chillies, lemongrass; soy & fish sauce; soba noodles; dashi etc.). The final reason i love these recipes is that you feel really good for having had such a healthy meal, without it tasting 'too healthy'..!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
my husband and I both enjoy going to Wagamama when we go to the city where our nearest one is.

there are a lot more recipes in this book than appear on the current menu, right down to the dipping sauces to go with the side dishes and the fruit juices.

the only area I found slightly lacking was the desert section. I would have liked to see some of the more unusual deserts I've seen on the , but always been far too stuffed to try after my meal.

there is a lot of preparation involved in these recipes, and quite a lot of ingredients. however most supermarkets are now getting more and more multicultural in their produce, so they're only getting easier and easier to find. and most larger towns have some specialist shops for asian food. they smell wonderful when you go past, and are usually great value for things like spices too, so be brave and go in.

and some of the recipes don't take as much prep. especially with the side dishes.

all the recipes I've tried from this book have really accurate results. when I made the Chilli Chicken Men, which is what my husband always orders, the resulting meal was a near carbon copy of what turns up when we eat there. had the chillies we used been just a little hotter, it would have been identical.

another great thing about this book is that if you or someone in your family is a bit unadventurous (my man will pretty much only eat chicken dishes) then you can make other recipes with the preferred ingredient, and try things that you wouldn't get to in the restaraunt.

overall, I really recommend this book. yes, some of the recipes take a lot of making, but I enjoy cooking, so I don't mind that. just maybe not so everyday because of the prep work involved.

if you like Wagamama, and like cooking, this is a fantastic book.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse