Customer Review

105 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Returned Drive DOA - Packing was a brown envelope ?, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Length:: 0:08 Mins

Just Returned Drive DOA - It was sent in a tan bubble mailer envelope.

Just concerned about ordering another from AMAZON if the are sending out Hard Drive like this ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 16 Feb 2013 04:28:08 GMT
Last edited by the author on 16 Feb 2013 04:31:33 GMT
J. Sullivan says:
my 2 TB one was shipped in box designed to hold it place. and that box was placed in a different box with plstic bags of air inside it

like this one http:// i287.photobucket.com/albums/ll150/Lunatic_1978/P2060259_zps071aae60.jpg

just remove space after the//

Posted on 19 Feb 2013 10:59:48 GMT
Last edited by the author on 21 Jun 2013 12:20:22 BDT
N. Gilbert says:
Was it actually DOA or did you just not trust it? It's pretty hard to break a hard drive these days. Even dropping it onto concrete doesn't usually cause any issues if the drive wasn't spinning. Just curious really! I would probably return it too.

More importantly however: You have placed your review against the actual hard disk drive itself (not Amazon) so curious as to why you gave the drive itself a two star rating? Looks to me like you meant to review Amazon but have posted your review against the product.

Posted on 28 Feb 2013 15:50:37 GMT
Last edited by the author on 28 Feb 2013 15:52:33 GMT
That sort of packaging is industry standard for OEM drives. You might get a bit more bubble wrap, but usually that's it.

I've received dozens of OEM drives with various amounts of skimpy packaging.

If you want a fancy branded box, then pay the full retail price.

Consider the journey as a stress test. This one clearly failed.

PS Was this from Amazon or from someone using it as a shopfront? You need to be specific. Better to buy from a third party. They will pay their taxes.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Feb 2013 16:46:47 GMT
N. Gilbert says:
Michael: I've had the opposite experience. I've ordered dozens of drives and none have ever been shipped like this poster's. Even brown box OEM drives or bulk shipments have always turned up in foam lined cardboard boxes, not jiffy bags. I agree they don't ship with full retail packaging but I've never had a drive which hasn't come in a foam lined box. The minimum packaging I've ever had was one shipped Amazon's own product box, where they'd use plastic wrap to secure the drive to the bottom of the box (which is fine).

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Feb 2013 19:25:27 GMT
Guess it depends on who you buy from. It isn't clear to me if the supplier in this case was Amazon or someone else.

Over the years I have found that the packaging for drives gets skimpier and skimpier. Yes, they used to turn up in a carboard box and a foam "nest". These days it is sometimes just a plastic bag with some bubblewrap. Or a "jiffy" bag with its own "bubbles". I guess it comes down to the protection of that bag. Then there are the clear plastic "pillows" with a drive in the middle, and not much else.

A lot also depends on the carrier. Unlike some couriers, the Post Office isn't as likely to use parcels for football practice. Jiffy bags seem to be fine then.

I do find it a bit baffling that more expensive disks, like these, don't come with reasonable protection. By saving a few pennies they do run the risk of getting more returns.

I don't usually buy "top of class" drives - preferring the cheapest option for the capacity I need - but these look to be a good idea for my NSA box, hence my interest in thiis one.

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Apr 2013 07:59:58 BDT
AluCard IV says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 1 Jun 2013 17:03:28 BDT
Mo says:
Thanks for the video. It's crazy they are sending them out like this. If you know anything about the manufacturing of hard drives, even if it worked when you received it, the chances are it could fail a few months down the line . Usually due to the actuator gradually scraping tiny amounts off the magnetic plates. Think on it as the stylus of a record player pressed just a tiny bit too hard on the surfaces of the record.

In reply to an earlier post on 21 Jun 2013 12:06:37 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 21 Jun 2013 12:08:07 BDT]

Posted on 25 Jul 2013 22:31:58 BDT
i.pod says:
was this actually from amazon or from market place ? - if it was from amazon that is very poor!

Posted on 15 Sep 2013 12:11:05 BDT
This is a very serious issue. Since shops have all closed down, including Comet, because of Amazon and other online shops we rely heavily on deliveries now. From what I have experienced I have been shocked the way delivery people treat packages. I received a hot plate that was bend as if an elephant was sitting on it. I have seen with my own eyes the delivery people throw packaging around on purpose. The problem is, many are uneducated and become delivery people and they can't stand working hard delivering expensive stuff to people when they have nothing themselves. I personally know people with this exact attitude. Dabs.com do a good job packaging so the package is 10 times bigger than the goods and is well padded. Posting such a delicate item in an envelope is an insult to the customer and complete ignorance. Don't forget data is VERY expensive and sometimes priceless. Lose of data can be very costly.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (191 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
145.00 94.37
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 20,712