Customer Review

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platform Specification, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Giottos GTMML 3290B 5 Section 190cm Pro Monopod (Electronics)
January 2011
I chose this monopod, because for considerably less cost than the Manfrotto 695CX, it offered more height for marginal increases in weight (plus 0.06Kg), and closed length (plus 3.5cm).

However, the manufacturer's website, and the instructions that came with the item, stated that the outer 3 / 8" thread was spring-loaded, and would retract into the platform to reveal the 1 / 4" thread (as Manfrotto 695CX). This was not the case on the item I received.

Eventually, it was discovered that there is a small Allen-screw (in the side of the monopod just below the platform) which is only revealed when the wrist-strap swivel is rotated. Loosening this screw half a turn (with the supplied Allen-key) allows the whole platform to be unscrewed. The central threaded stud can then be reversed to reveal the alternative thread.

It may be that I have received the last of an earlier design, or the first of a simplified design.

Update March 2011
This issue has subsequently been discussed with Giottos (Focus-on-Imaging NEC March 2011), and the reversible threaded-stud model that I received is the latest design.

I have been using the 3290B monopod with the Giottos MH7002-652 quick-release ball-head. A reassuringly solid combination, where the camera can be held in one-hand as the monopod is attached (by the self-locking action of the head clasping a camera-mounted plate).

At 6ft (1.83m) tall, I have only needed to use four of the five sections for eye-level work; this means that the stiffest (larger diameter) sections can be used. It also means that the extra section could be utilised if the monopod was used on an incline with the camera `downhill'. Any minor movement to `frame the shot' has been achieved by adjusting only the top-section using the flip-lock clasp.

Overall a well-designed, and well-constructed product - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 19 Apr 2011 09:12:48 BDT
Ant says:
Thanks for the info on how to reverse the plate to get to the 1/4" thread. Saved me from getting in tough with Giottos and querying the instructions in with the monopod.

Posted on 8 Jun 2011 20:12:07 BDT
Likewise, thanks for the info on the reversal of the plate - Giottos info was not so helpful! Cheers.

Posted on 11 Jul 2011 11:55:58 BDT
S. Robinson says:
They have now simplified the design even further and the allen key to unlock the platform has now gone and you can just unscrew the platform to reverse the centre threaded column. I suspect they've done this to reduce manufacturing costs and this means I have to ensure the platform is screwed on tightly before I use it with my D90 - definitely a step backwards in my opinion.

Posted on 29 Dec 2011 11:56:19 GMT
Jeremiaz says:
Excellent review and thanks for the tip on how to reverse the thread!

@S.Robinson: I've only just received mine from Amazon and it still requires the allen key to unlock the platform. Are you sure yours doesn't need this? Perhaps it wasn't fixed properly in the first place?

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Feb 2012 11:39:23 GMT
dave_bass5 says:
Another big thanks for this review and info. Mine just arrived from Amazon and it too has the wrong instructions. No sign of a spring loaded anything.
I wonder if some of us are receiving old stock? No problem though.

Posted on 23 May 2012 10:27:18 BDT
C. K. says:
Tom1111, you have just saved my day. I had been looking for the stupid spring loaded screw for an hour for God's sake!
And it took me another 5 minute to look for the SINGLE hex screw which hides behind the strap collar! Now I am a happy man. Giottos should have included at least something on their website. I don't think they have been updating it.

But besides from the hassles of 'finding the screw', this monopod is excellent in terms of prices and built.

Posted on 2 Aug 2014 10:43:14 BDT
Janner1406 says:
Thanks Tom1111. Still the same problem in 2014. Outdated instructions and still have to find the screw to reverse the stud. Without your info this would have gone back to Amazon.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (116 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,859,598