Customer Review

142 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware-Licence for only 1 PC system. Read the small print!, 25 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Deluxe Edition (PC) (Computer Game)
I have FSX Deluxe and am delighted with the FS detail and playability. What many people do not know or realise is that you can only install the game on one PC system!!! I have just purchased a Laptop and have been unable to activate the second installation to my Laptop online due to MS putting a 1 system installation restriction on the software package! I argued the point with MS helpdesk and got nowhere. Subsequent invetsigation revealed this little gem of info on the Installation readme file which is useless guidance because you will have to open the packaging before knowing!! Come on MS, play the game and clearly state on the packaging that you can only install it on one system.

Most frustrating! Back to FS2004 for the laptop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 3 Nov 2007 04:01:09 GMT
M. Brown says:
Sorry to sound naive but would love to get this with the addons n they r not cheap bit concerned therefore that should i have a system failure n have to reformat would there then be any probs with reinstalling this sim?

Posted on 25 Mar 2008 21:04:33 GMT
A ststem failure is the most annoying thing that can happen then you find that all your software that required activation will be a problem. Because of this I no longer purchase anything that requires activation.

Posted on 22 Jul 2008 19:26:03 BDT
R.B. says:
About Re-installing on the same machine...
I have reinstalled my system and reinstalled fsx plus its add on acceleration on the same machine i installed it on. IT WORKS.
I dont know how the copy protection mechanism works about detecting multiple installs on multiple machines but all I ever found on the matter in the license was that one copy could only be installed at one time, for instance if you installed fsx, and then again in a different folder on the same machine, the second installation wouldnt work.

If you are planning to do a fresh install I would recommend the copy windows you use to reinstall be the same as your current copy of windows with the same key (what i did). Also, dont install to "test fly" on a factory shipped PC then reinstall the oem disk - (you did ask for one right?) - unless youve done it once before, as the software versions might be different from what they write to your drive and what they give you on an oem disk.

It worked for me, but no guarantees it will work with an OS upgrade or on a new machine. As for installing it on two machines at the same time, no Eula says you can do that unless its a multiple user one (like a 3 user anti-virus etc) and arguing that point with m$ will get you no-where.

Hopefully this makes sense in everyone elses head as well - sorry about the long windedness.

In reply to an earlier post on 16 Aug 2008 16:25:03 BDT
M. Kenny says:
this all sounds very strange, ive uninstalled and reinstalled FSX about 6 times now and have had no problems whatsoever with this, why you would ever use a different copy of windows is beyond me, if you do change your whole pc then just use the same windows disk, or better yet just shove in your current hard drive with all the data still there.....really dont see this problem at all.

Posted on 4 Nov 2008 13:49:54 GMT
thanks for the tip buckers, was going to buy this pack but have decided against it. so much for fairness eh ms??

Posted on 25 Jun 2009 13:49:36 BDT
so if i buy a 2nd hand copy can i install it straight away or do i need to do something?

Posted on 3 Sep 2009 11:43:48 BDT
I was considering buying "Microsoft Flight Simulater" but being restricted to only one computer has put me off. I run two computers at home (only 1 at a time). I usually have the second one in bits adding or removing hardware etc etc. Both comps are in the same room. Surely a second copy should be in order as after all it is quite old program now.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Jan 2011 15:43:58 GMT
But, surely, if you don't register this game at Windows Live, then you can install this CD on as many computers as you like, or, am I missing something here ???

Posted on 3 Jan 2014 11:17:49 GMT
Last edited by the author on 3 Feb 2014 10:11:23 GMT
For the record the activation system is a complex one involving limits on how many time's it may be installed, I think Two times, but this is kind of cancelled out if the installs are about 3 months apart, something along those lines at any rate. This can of course be changed by Microsoft, and either loosened, or made stricter. I have installed it over a 3 year period about 6 or 7 times, on several different machines it has always activated. The most recent install only been a couple of weeks ago.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Feb 2014 00:04:18 GMT
You are missing 2 things first the version of the game Microsoft Flight Simulater X (about 3 years old) that I have does not use Windows Live. On the few games I have used with Windows Live there is no option but to register the game on Windows Live or it will not launch.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (202 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £46.96
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,724,867