Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Glorious!, 16 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
When Natalie Imbruglia burst onto the music scene in 1997, many critics were quick to write her off as another generic soap star-turned-pop star, expecting her just to fade into obscurity after an album or two. Ten years later, Natalie has exceeded everyone's expectations and is releasing the first collection of her hit singles entitled `Glorious: The Singles - 1997-2007'. Additionally, Natalie has included five new tracks, including new single `Glorious' as a taster of what is to follow. Here's a brief review of every track.

1. Glorious (23): The lead single from this collection. Very upbeat and summery, lovely breezy guitar riffs and even mentions London's `Frith Street'. One of Natalie's best single releases - 9/10

2. Counting Down The Days (23): The second single to be released of Natalie's third album of the same name. A haunting track about being far away from one's love. Chimes are thrown in towards the end which add a certain charm and there's a slightly odd whale noise throughout the song - 7/10

3. Torn (2) - Natalie's debut single and the most successful release of her career. A very angst-y track with soaring guitars and is among Natalie's best releases 9/10

4. Wrong Impression (10) - The second and most successful single from Natalie second album `White Lilies Island'. Again, a very sunny and upbeat track with fast-paced, twangy guitars, reminiscent of The Sunday's - 9/10

5. Smoke (5) - The forth release from Natalie's debut. A heart wrenching song about domestic violence (?). Here we see Natalie experimenting with electronica and showing us that she really can write brilliant pop songs and sing! 8/10

6. Shiver (8) - Natalie's `comeback' song and the biggest UK airplay hit of 2005. An insanely catchy soft rock tune that I'm sure we all will know. Definitely one of the highlights of Natalie's career - 9/10

7. Wishing I Was There (8) - The third single from Natalie's debut. A very rocky and catchy track which just screams late 90's! Arguably Natalie's most impressive early release - 10/10

8. That Day (11) - The lead single from Natalie's sophomore release. A beautiful rock-tinged song with fast-paced guitars and impressive drum work. Lyrically, this is one of Natalie's finest moments with references to depression and coming out of it - 9/10

9. Big Mistake (2) - The second single to be lifted from Natalie's debut. Another angst-ridden track about an unfaithful partner asking for forgiveness. This one builds up nicely with mid tempo verses and a huge angry chorus, eventually climaxing and leaving the listener quite satisfied indeed. Another great release - 9/10

10. Beauty On The Fire (26) - The third and final release off Natalie's least successful album, White Lilies Island. Arguably Natalie's most experimental single, combining pop, rock and electronica. Smooth angst-y verses are coupled with a sun-drenched soaring chorus and the most impressive middle-8 to create, what is known to many as the best (and most underrated) Natalie single -10/10

11. Be With You - An unusual track for Natalie. This one has a thumping baseline which carries the song. Paired with some delightful piano work, this is one of the best non-single tracks on the CD - 8/10

12. Amelia - Another impressive non-single track and is very reminiscent of `Honeycomb Child' from the `Counting Down The Days' album. A very mellow and sweet track which is nice to chill to -8/10

13. Against The Wall - The heaviest non-single track on the album. Not much to say about this one other than the fact that it makes for a decent album track - 7/10

14. Stuck On The Moon - Another piano-driven downtempo track. Natalie always produces lovely ballads and this one is no exception. A highlight amongst the new tracks - 8/10

STANDOUT TRACKS: Beauty On The Fire, Wishing I Was There, Glorious, Torn, Shiver

To conclude, as you can see I rate this CD very highly, which is a label I do not give to many albums. There is honestly not a bad track on the entire CD and if you are thinking of purchasing this release, just go for it. This is certainly one of the best hits collections out there and I look forward to hearing much more of Ms. Imbruglia in the future. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in

Review Details



Location: Wakefield, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 8,417,766