Customer Review

11 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly amateurish rubbish, 18 Oct 2008
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
I bought this after reading the same glowing reviews that you are now reading on Amazon. Warning bells sounded as soon as I saw the Art GCSE grade C level drawings of the main characters in the opening pages (why??). It is clumsily and unengagingly written, with countless childish references to sex and awkward, psuedo-poetic clichés, it comes across as a Godawful potboiler written by a Rome-obsessed adolescent girl. To end on a positive note, if you want to read historical fiction about Rome, I can thoroughly recommend any book from the 'Eagle' series by Simon Scarrrow or if it's a factual account you're after, 'Ancient Rome: the rise and fall of an empire' by Simon Baker is utterly gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 15 Jan 2010 09:38:25 GMT
Last edited by the author on 25 Sep 2011 18:28:44 BDT
arbiter says:
first of all, the cover was not the author's choice.
"It is clumsily and unengagingly written" - NO, solid grammar, variety of vocabulary
"with countless childish references to sex" - WRONG address, go and read your playboy
"written by a Rome-obsessed adolescent girl" - NO, CmC is an adult neurologist
"if you want to read historical fiction about Rome, I can thoroughly recommend any book from the 'Eagle' series by Simon Scarrrow" - WRONG period (imperial Rome)
"or if it's a factual account you're after, 'Ancient Rome: the rise and fall of an empire' by Simon Baker is utterly gripping" - OR, better, watch the BBC-series.

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jul 2011 08:25:39 BDT
this must be the most inaccurate review of a book I've ever read on Amazon.I could not disagree with Arbiter more,wonder if you even read the book.A truely great read.Read the 7 books,you'll not be disappointed

Posted on 10 Nov 2011 00:01:02 GMT
Last edited by the author on 10 Nov 2011 00:01:52 GMT
Feanor says:
I wonder sometimes whether I inhabit the same universe as some people when their experience of something is such a complete polar opposite of mine that there must be something fundamentally wrong either with my or their grip on reality.

I'm not going to repeat what arbiter and Ian Davis said (Ian I think you named a commentor not the reviewer, I suspect you meant to refer to doonjaisi).

What I will say to anyone reading this is that some people would put up a bad review of sliced bread if they could. Ignore this review and just read the book, you won't be disappointed :).

(Unless it's not the reviewer that's unhinged but rather everyone else - kinda unlikely.)

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Nov 2011 19:48:23 GMT
Last edited by the author on 11 Nov 2011 19:48:45 GMT
doonjaiasi says:
I posted my opinion on the book. You may agree with it, you may not. The difference between us is that I'm OK with people having a different opinion to my own.

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Nov 2011 18:18:58 GMT
Last edited by the author on 13 Nov 2011 12:59:39 GMT
Feanor says:
Where did I say that I'm not OK with you having a different opinion to mine?

My point is that some people have different opinions that, although I disagree with them, I can understand where they're coming from or what talked them to their conclusion.

Other people have opinions that I just don't understand at all, and that I can't see how they came to their conclusions. Your review fits into the latter category for me.

That doesn't mean I think you're not entitled to your opinion - I just don't understand it and it's my opinion that people should not miss out on this excellent book because of your review. :)

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Nov 2011 17:31:04 GMT
doonjaiasi says:
Kieran, I wasn't really referring to your comments but thanks for posting anyway.

Posted on 16 Jul 2013 11:26:34 BDT
Last edited by the author on 16 Jul 2013 11:45:13 BDT
Victoria PK says:
I am quoting the review from Historical Novel Society that says: "Colleen McCullough's series Masters of Rome exhibits meticulous research and a subtle interpretation of the political history of Rome from the time of Marius through to Caesar... By carefully presenting her facts, McCullough seems to be daring some hypothetical pedant to challenge her flawless work. ". You might not like the book but you need to know more about Roman history before judging whether someone's book well researched. I don't think, of course, that you are a hypothetical pedant, I think that perhaps, ironically, the title of your review applies to you.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (51 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
£11.99 £9.59
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,398,499