Customer Review

8 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another game that requires steam., 1 Nov 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dishonored (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Unfortunately here is yet another PC title that will not work unless you install steam, which is just another form of pervasive DRM. I will only buy this game when the price has dropped to a sufficient level and a patch to bypass the drm can be found online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 3 Nov 2012 00:40:27 GMT
iZian says:
Nice 1 star review of a great game with 1 star for fun when you've not even owned it.
Moronic doesn't come close.

Posted on 10 Nov 2012 13:47:09 GMT
Qourth says:
I have to agree with iZian, this review is vastly floored. Ignore.

Posted on 13 Nov 2012 03:21:43 GMT
HuwOS says:
While I generally don't approve of reviews by people who don't have the game. The fact that it requires Steam is not mentioned elsewhere and is an important point. This is a single player game that does not in and of itself require an internet connection, but presumably having DRM administered through Steam does require an internet connection and that needs to be highlighted and should have been highlighted by the retailer in the description.

Posted on 19 Nov 2012 13:27:59 GMT
Dapper says:
Even if requiring Steam is a downside, one minor downside that will not be an issue for the majority of people does not warrant a one star rating for the game as a whole.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Nov 2012 18:13:02 GMT
Jason says:
HuwOS - I agree completely that Amazon should state that games which require Steam activation, need it. But to rate a great game at one star because Amazon wont do this is moronic. The rating system is not here for that purpose, it is here to rate the game itself. This is why amazons ratings are worthless, especially their PC games. You get people who dislike Steam with a passion, slating every single game which uses Steam as a DRM when they probably do not own, or have even contemplated buying it. How can you justify giving a great game such as Dishonored 1 star just because you do not like Steam?

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2012 19:16:21 GMT
Last edited by the author on 27 Dec 2012 13:08:26 GMT
Cobaltmotari says:
To HuwOS, you only need the internet to activate a game through Steam. Once that's over with, you can play the game fine with no internet as long as Steam is set to Offline Mode. A connection isn't needed to actually play the game.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Dec 2012 09:45:11 GMT
Midlander says:
Agree entirely. After my experience with Rail Simulator 2012, any tie-up with Steam is a killer as far as I am concerned.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Mar 2013 10:36:14 GMT
S. Lornie says:
... and I bet that was user error.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Nov 2013 10:00:38 GMT
Last edited by the author on 28 Nov 2013 10:04:21 GMT
Paul Wigley says:
That's why I always read the one star "reviews" first. If they are rubbish about it needing Steam or poor delivery or the dog ate the instruction book, then I can safely ignore them and see what the sensible people say about the game. I don't agree that the ratings are worthless, but you do have to learn to look at the reviews to sort out the wheat from the chaff.
Personally I've never had an issue with Steam, except maybe the time it takes to start itself or some games on occasions, but that's usually because it's upgrading itself or the game, so it's a necessary evil. Otherwise it's fine.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (133 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
34.99 8.09
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,941,956