Customer Review

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the reviews, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: HTC Hero Sim Free Android Smartphone (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
...well, don't believe the reviews that mention "lag" on this device.

This is my first smartphone, and I'm glad I've got it. I find it very responsive and fast. A one second lag maybe when switching orientation, otherwise it's fairly quick. Certainly once it has opened a web page, you can scroll text faster than you can read it.

Being without a physical keyboard *does* take getting used to. But I don't think that can be blamed on the phone !

Battery life - it's been on all day next to me with WiFi enabled, there's over 60% battery left. Not too bad.

I've had this phone for a few days now, and I'm very happy with it. Best use Googlemail if you get one (I've set up my existing e-mail to forward to a Googlemail account), that way if you use the Google contacts, they will appear on your phone within seconds. Very impressive.

The phone appears robust and looks good. The "chin" is unnoticeable when slipped into your jeans, so don't worry about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Aug 2009 16:58:27 BDT
B. Saleem says:
Thanks for the review, very encouraging. I am looking to get an unlocked one myself so if you don't mind me asking where did you buy your's from?

Posted on 20 Aug 2009 12:46:23 BDT
Last edited by the author on 20 Aug 2009 12:49:04 BDT
LJ says:
You said: "...well, don't believe the reviews that mention "lag" on this device. "

Why? I ordered this phone from Amazon UK last Friday (after reading your review incidentally), received it on Tuesday, and the reviews suggesting lag issues with SenseUI turned out to be 100% on the ball. Of course, it depends on how many net-connected widgets you have displayed, but even the HTC defaults (weather/twitter/mail/messaging/clock/quick contacts/bookmarks) cause lag if you bother to set them up with your user-account details - and the lag noticeably occurs when they're updating. When I say "lag", I don't mean the kind that stops you doing anything for several seconds, but enough to cause problems with a touch screen phone. A fraction of a second lag delay when you hit a qwerty key for example, is enough to make it select the symbol that would only normally be selected if you held your finger on it. Likewise, when the phone has been unused for a few minutes and you unlock, there is a slight delay if you try to immediately slide the homescreen across to access another widget page. Landing on the twitter widget causes it to immediately update itself, thereby causing another split second of lag if you want to slide to the next page. Split second of lag doesn't sound very serious, but it's incredibly disruptive on a touch screen phone. I was mis-dialling telephone numbers this morning for example because the keypad kept momentarily freezing because it was checking for IMAP email in the background. This is why Apple are reluctant to introduce multi-tasking on the iPhone don't you know? Because multi-tasking can very easily cause lag and disrupt the intended user-experience.

Really, this problem is blatantly obvious to anybody who owns the phone, and even if it wasn't, HTC have acknowledged the lag issue with SenseUI on the HTC Hero over the past 48 hours, so to say people shouldn't believe the reviews about lag is just disingenuous.

What are you motives for misleading potential buyers of a £400 handset? I have no idea. Maybe HTC paid you to write it (unlikely). Maybe you want to convince your iPhone owning friends that your phone is better (hey, despite this issue - it is!). Maybe you need to convince yourself that your investment was worth it (likely). But please, *please* don't mislead people into dropping so much money on a sim-free phone with such fallacious comments.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Aug 2009 09:21:55 BDT
Dave says:
I agree completely with the above comment. This phone can lag quite badly if you have net-connected apps on your home screens (I have since removed the default weather widget and twitter clients from the home screens, which has helped a lot).

I also find the lag on the keyboard to be particularly annoying sometimes. The predictive text is great, but once you have 'accidentally' typed a symbol into the word it seems to give up suggesting anything so you have to delete and start again.

I wouldn't be surprised if these issues used to be greater, which is why there was a bit of a delay in the phone's release while the improved things. Hopefully HTC are working on some updates to SenseUI/TouchFLO which will improve things further.

The phone is great, and I am glad I have it and think it's the best phone I have owned, but there is certainly room for improvement.

Posted on 31 Aug 2009 06:00:11 BDT
Last edited by the author on 4 Sep 2009 19:04:42 BDT
(EDIT): UPDATE... a fix is on its way to help sort out the lag, for all HTC HERO Owners, please copy and paste LINK to browser....
http://phandroid.com/2009/08/19/upcoming-htc-hero-update-removes-lag-video/

On the HERO, Lag is really a minor issue at present, only a problem if you like a lot of multi-tasking with many apps running in background. However, HTC have a fully ironed out fix available soon, to sort it out.! - So, please don't worry... Just check the above link out. (video)
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (83 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £98.00
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 15,377