Customer Review

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Always the same but not so good as it used to be, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
I'm a Cure fan for decades, and i will always be. Unfortunately this record is not a good surprise for old time fans.
Years a go Cure live albuns had a special energy on the songs that make then simply great. This energy is not in this double disc. Sometimes it seems that Robert is feeling completely bored by singing always the same songs for year and years. Listen to the way he sings «The Lovecats», and you will understand what i mean.
The only good moment on this poor live compilation, is «Primary», this is the only song that still captures the old and good Cure if you know what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 10 Dec 2011 10:59:42 GMT
Last edited by the author on 14 Dec 2011 10:40:55 GMT
Fatpie 1664 says:
Were you at Bestival? I guess not...

What surprises do you want? Obscure b-sides...? This was a festival show hence a festival set list and a Double CD that needs to appeal to the masses so it can raise money for the IOW Charity.

To say you're a Cure Fan & then give this 1 star is a joke, the majority of the set list was pretty old.

I would have given 4.5/5 but you can't & I do agree certain songs miss the extra guitar.

I suggest you stick to reviewing Amy Winehouse...

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Dec 2011 21:15:22 GMT
Last edited by the author on 10 Dec 2011 21:21:05 GMT
I think what's missing from Bestival is Porl Thompson. His guitar playing really brings the Cure alive on stage, especially for this setlist and choice of songs. Check out his performance in Paris 2008 with The Cure, it's on YouTube and it's breathtakingly good, whereas Bestival is simply "good". I've been a Cure fan for over 25 years and parts of Bestival do get me excited (the intro to Killing Another, the beautiful rendition of The Caterpillar). Elsewhere, I'm in a sort of comfort-zone reverie, which may be due to my having saturated my senses with The Cure since 1985... thus it's all too familiar.

Posted on 11 Dec 2011 00:46:14 GMT
Aaron J. Law says:
Were you at Bestival? The energy was there... Amazing.

Posted on 12 Dec 2011 05:11:03 GMT
Last edited by the author on 14 Dec 2011 06:18:42 GMT
TheGonz says:
I understand you Julio. The Cure was at their top in 1989-1992... great sound and energy.

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Jan 2012 16:51:27 GMT
DE01 says:
Couldn't agree less. These are excellent renditions - 'The lovecats' being a prime example, with its new emphasis on Robert's wah-wah pedal. I also like the fact that these are quartet versions, rather than just another five-piece Cure live album. As for Porl, 'Show' and 'Paris' already exist, and have done for nearly twenty years. Why would you want a pointless repeat of them?

Posted on 20 Jan 2012 06:47:12 GMT
Metanoia says:
Well, I'm a fan since 1982, and I've seen them a cpl times. Guess what? They're (almost) human beings, and as such to be perceived! Something that get me much more annoyed than Cure on any given bad day, are "experts" who can't play a NOTE themselves, never did and never will. Because you don't know a pear from a banana! Music is ART, it's not your veggie paddys from Subway, Instead of passing judgement on matters too complex for you to understand, just PUT ON ANOTHER CD :-) Get'n me point?

Posted on 24 Jan 2012 05:47:08 GMT
TheGonz says:
I think it's not necessary to be a music director to say that the sound of Bestival 2011 is not good, that the drums sound like paint tins, that a second guitar player is needed, that the drums at the intro of caterpillar sounds too 'robotic', that the intro of Why Can't I be you has been shortened, etc.

Anyway, the price is right and given that it's for a good cause is a must have.

Posted on 29 Jan 2012 20:17:15 GMT
Alex says:
I was at Bestival. I agree about his lackluster singing on The Lovecats, but I can't fault any other aspect of it. It was a great set, and all of them played very well. This CD captures it pretty well, though the drums did sound a little beefier on the night.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Jul 2014 16:32:54 BDT
MS says:
I have to agree this is by far the worst live Cure CD. I've seen them many times live but this is dull dull dull. Paris or Concert are far a better albums. I don't know if its the production or Rob just going through the motions but like the last couple of studio albums this is just not "Good Cure".
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (26 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Porto - Portugal

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,748,017